Geeks logo

If Karate, Then Viki.Com

From karate movies to shows with several episodes.

By Greer CollinsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Screenshot of Viki.com home page on my computer

I have always loved watching karate movies at first I would fall in love with an actual actor like Jet Li, then I would watch every movie that came out with him acting in it or that he was involved in the making of. I still can not get over the fact that he was involved in forty-seven films, six documentaries, and one music video.

I absolutely enjoyed the following movies and would watch them over and over again. Fist of Legend (1994), Black Mask (1996), Lethal Weapon 4 (1998), The One (2001), Hero (2002), Cradle 2 the Grave (2003), Unleashed (2005), Fearless (2006), War (2007), The Forbidden Kingdom (2008), The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (2008), The Sorcerer and the White Snake (2011), The Expandables (2010), The Expandables 2 (2012), The Expandables 3 (2014), The Expandables 3 (2014), Badges of Fury (2013), and League of Gods (2016).

Screenshot of movies Jet Li performed in.
Screenshot of movies Jet Li performed in.

When I was not watching Jet Li, then I started watching Jackie Chan movies. I fell in love with his acting skills, he is so comical and extremely entertaining to watch. He made me laugh so hard when I saw him first in Rush Hour, then again in Kung Fu Panda. I was shocked when I found out that Jackie Chan performed in more than 150 films. His action choreography is the best I have ever seen, it is what keeps me watching every movie that he is involved in.

I love watching the old karate movies that Jackie Chan performed in such as Snake Fist Fighter (1973), Fist of Fury (1972), Brutal Boxer (1972), Hapkido (1972), Chinese Hercules (1973), Rumble in Hong Kong (1973), Village on Fire (1973), Small Tiger (1973), Fist to Fist (1973), Supermen Against the Orient (1973), The Golden Lotus (1974), by 1978 he was making some really great films that I would go see at the dollar theatre across the street from my Aunt Helen's Monogram shop. The theatre was old and run down, it had only one movie screen that played karate movies all day. I paid one dollar and stayed there for hours watching one karate movie after the other, never did the same movie appear on the screen. My favorites then were Magnificent Bodyguards (1978), Drunken Master (1978), Spiritual Kung Fu (1978), The Fearless Hyena (1979), Dragon Fist (1979), The Young Master (1980), and Battle Creek Brawl (1980). Sometimes when I am at BigLots I can get lucky and find these old karate movies on sale for five or six dollars. Then it is popcorn and movie night with hubby, who loves karate movies as much as I do.

Movies Jackie Chan performed in, screenshot from google.

My husband finds his kung fu movies at the gas station for around the same price as Biglots sells them. His favorites are The Legend of Drunken Master (1994), Rumble in the Bronx (1995), First Strike (1996), and The Forbidden Kingdom (2008).

Jackie Chan movies

My husband's love for karate movies started at 11:00 am on Saturday mornings when he discovered kung fu theater. The was not a Saturday morning that went by without my hubby watching classic kung fu movies. His all-time favorite is, "The Kid With A Golden Arm by the Shaw Brothers." Hubby says that the Shaw Brothers made the best kung fu movies but of course, that is just his opinion.

Shaw Brothers film screenshot from google

For years I have only enjoyed watching karate movies, and it got to the point where I thought I had seen them all, and it would take too long for new ones to come out. Then one day I stumbled across a website on the internet called viki.com it opened up a whole new world to me. I found Asian TV shows that had the most awesome sword fighting and karate skills in them. The only drawback was that I had to read English subtitles. The shows were so addictive that before long reading subtitles became normal and did not bother me to read hours a day of my favorite shows. So my original formula for finding movies was to pick an actor that I enjoyed watching then follow everything that actor performed in. Surprisingly when I reached the point where my favorite actors were not making very many films. I ended up finding Viki.com which I still use my same formula only I am not just limited to movies. My favorite Viki actors play in series that are similar to our TV shows like NCI or daytime soaps. There are several episodes to watch the most recent shows you have to wait at least three days to see a new episode, but that beats waiting a week like on regular television. Which by the way is so worth it. So those of us karate fans who cannot get enough can now watch Viki.com through an app on our cell phones or a website on the computer. My all-time favorite actors on Viki and the shows are, actress Ha Ji Won she plays in several action shows and has some awesome fight scenes. From Damo which is a historical romance with skillful martial arts to Empress Ki, and The King 2 Hearts her acting skills never disappoint me. Then there is Viki actor Lee Joon Gi who performed in Lljimae, Two Weeks, Lawless Lawyer, and my absolute favorite Gunman in Joseon.

Screenshot of my favorite actress Ha Ji Won from viki.com

Screenshot of my favorite actor Lee Joon Gi from viki.com

So if you love karate movies like my husband and I do, then you may enjoy Viki.com and shows with several episodes.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Greer Collins

Newbie to writing, yet enjoying every minute of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.