Geeks logo

If I feel like this, then I have to watch this.

by Rafael Ortega

By Rafael OrtegaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

If I feel like this, then I have to watch this.

Ok, ok.. so, there are times in life that we feel a little bit of everything and sometimes a little bit of anything; that is when I realized I have to watch something new; because sometimes we are so full of our inner drama that we really need to immerse ourselves in a good story, but a good one -not a commercial one-, a story that really makes us believe that love exists, (everywhere basically), or can make us laugh so hard that our stomach feels funny, and what about sadness?, Ok, no sadness no. But, what about documentaries that connect us with the storyline and make us participate with the facts. An intriguing story? A thriller that makes us finish the entire pizza that we ordered on Saturday night. Or, to live your own drama with the overdramatic characters of a soap opera, we all need those stories because, in the end, we live with them, or they live with us.

So dear reader, if you feel a little bit of this or that, just listen to yourself, pick a movie, and please stop scrolling; you will never find something good, really good.

-If I feel like my life is the worst, and I will never find the one; definitely this movie will change my mood and, of course (my drama).

This beautiful fantastic

You can find it on Prime Video.

Bella Brown a girl full of fears, a unique writer, a dreamer, and a girl full of power that suddenly is frightened with an eviction notice, unless she gives her unattended garden; a makeover, so she ends up having a real-life makeover, finding true friends, herself, and of course, her true love.

And as I know that you love to read, but also to write, the original movie soundtrack is MARVELOUS, so you might feel inspired with it, you can find it on Apple Music, This Beautiful Fantastic, Original Movie Soundtrack by Anne Niktin.

-If I feel like I really need to believe again, or... if I am the only one that does not believe in anybody else, then Carrie Pilby is waiting for you.

Carrie Pilby

You can find it on Netflix .

Carrie, a smart girl (a genius)... she knows basically everything, unfortunately when it comes to love, family, friends, and even a pet... she does know nothing. This fantastic story falls on her journey to discover herself, with the company of outstanding characters, like her therapist and -spoiler alert- her neighbor. You definitely have to watch it.

-If I really need a romantic comedy, then Funny Face is -always- my absolute choice.

Funny Face

You can find it on Netflix .

Audrey Hepburn + Fred Astaire + Paris + The fashion world of the 1950's + The most simple and complex dialogues + Awesome music and performances = A girl driven by empathy suddenly falls unexpectedly in love with a man that she will never consider or even imagine. Perfect love story.

-If I feel like my dreams are too far away, or when I doubt myself, or even when life does not feel fair, the TV show Shrill always centers me bringing me back to earth.

Shrill

You can find it on Hulu .

Annie a young journalist dealing with everyday stereotypes of being a woman; until she finally realizes herself as really... herself. On her journey, she understands how to love and respect her inner self and appreciate her body; she finally understands the meaning of relationships, dreams, and friendships. Aidy Bryant, the actress that plays Annie performs such a human being with all of our complexities, insecurities, and everyday life struggles. I love this show, and I am pretty sure you will too.

-When I need a good laugh, Amy Schumer is always a good idea.

The Leather Special

Growing

You can watch them on Netflix.

Amy Schumer places everyday dilemmas and makes you realize that life is just the way it is, with the ups and downs, the good and the bad, the real and what other people make you think about yourself; all this combo; with a very good monologue, that will make you laugh and comprehend that your life is awesome. Thank you Amy.

-When I need a little bit of suspense and drama (but just a little bit). Big little lies, definitely.

Big little lies

You can find it on HBO .

A different story about friendship and life... and whatever that comes in between. Big little lies, frames the unbelievable paths of secrets and reality. An outstanding story, and of course a wonderful cast.

-When I feel like my dreams are too far away again, and that probably I will never reach them because I feel like I am not enough, Little Voice always inspires me and makes me believe that no matter what, I am enough, strong, and important at the same time.

Little Voice

You can find it on Apple TV .

Bess, a girl that wants to reach her dreams, but at the same time, she has to be human; pay rent, bills... she has to be a sister, a lover, a daughter, a friend, a confident, an artist, a singer. A show that really portraits life as it is. The music will give you power and inspiration to keep going; you will identify yourself with every single character.

-After work I only want to watch:

Ugly Betty. (The Colombian version, of course) . You can find it on Telemundo network or app.

-A good thriller movie (only for rainy Saturday nights):

The invisible man. You can find it on HBO .

-My favorite documentary:

The September Issue (of course it is about fashion, and it is quite a good one). You can find it for rent on iTunes .

-My to-go film when I need peace and trust in myself:

Brené Brown, The Call to Courage. You can find it on Netflix.

-My favorite musical -the best-

Mamma Mia! You can find it on Peacock.

-My favorite Harry Potter movie:

Ok, all of them, but really Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Askaban is incomparable. You can find all of them (yes! all of them) on Peacock.

-If I can watch Disney Plus all day:

Mary Poppins Returns + The Emperor's New Grove + Moana + folklore: the long pond studio sessions. All of them in Disney plus.

Thank you, Dear reader, for coming all the way to my recommendations.

I really hope you like them, remember always go with your flow, your emotions.

Write you soon,

Rafael Ortega

tv
2

About the Creator

Rafael Ortega

Living one day at a time.

Trying to understand life as what it is

My playlist goes from Lana del Rey, to Bad bunny to Tchaikovsky

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.