Geeks logo

I Went to the Movie Theater Every Day for 25 Days

Let's talk about it.

By Crystal RodriguezPublished 6 years ago 15 min read
Like
Annihilation (2018) Dir. Alex Garland 

No, you didn't read the title wrong, I actually left my house EVERY DAY just to go to the movies. I wanted to speak on the industry that I once held so dearly, and actually live with 25 days of the "movie-going experience". I have a passionate love for movies but in recent months I never went to the theater. It wasn't the films that were keeping me from going, it was the prices, Netflix, and comfort. I didn't intentionally start this experience, although I'm not sure who would. I just found myself going to the movies three days in a row and thought for some very strange reason that I should try and do this every day for as long as I could. *If you're just here for reviews keep scrolling.*

How did I afford to go to the movies every day for 25 days? Well, I didn't. I recently signed up for this service called MoviePass, you pay $9.95 and you can go to the theater every day of the month. Although I'm sure they didn't think someone would actually do that (Sorry?). MoviePass is the perfect option for anyone who goes to the movie theater even twice a month, those two visits alone paid for the service. But I would do your research before signing up for any service, I have seen reviews about MoviePass that aren't so hot. I personally haven't had any issues with the service but do proceed with caution.

Let's be honest, the movie theater is an overpriced version of your living room, except you have to pay for your food and you've invited complete strangers. The advantage price per ticket I noticed was around $10, which isn't cheap. But there are some of us who love going to the movies regardless of price, so when is the cheapest to go? Tuesdays seem like the best option for those not wanting to sign up for any service. Cinemark and Studio Movie Grill offer $5 dollar movies all day on Tuesday.

There is something that really dawned on me when I was sitting alone in a giant dark theater, I am completely vulnerable. This has never been an issue for me, but in recent light of so many sexual assaults and shootings, there was this constant fear lingering around me. My eyes shifting from the screen to the exit, planning a getaway if need be. Of course, nothing happened but it's sad to think about. Back to movies!

Is the theater industry dying? Yes and no. The theater will never die, there will always be people going to the movies regardless of price. There will also be people who are buying overpriced food. Can we talk about that? Because I never really buy food when I go to the movies but the couple of times I did, it was about $15 dollars for some popcorn and a drink. Absolutely crazy, yet I paid for it. So the numbers, according to the LA Times; tickets sales have gone down by 16 percent last summer, it's only gotten worse since the ten percent drop the summer before. There isn't a sure reason behind it, yet prices and streaming are the main contenders.

Streaming has gained major popularity and for good reason. The quality of content that is coming from Netflix, Hulu, HBO, and Amazon is shocking. But is it really all that surprising? These streaming platforms are just moving in the direction I think we were always headed. Our society loves fast and easy, spending your whole day in a theater really isn't as appealing anymore. When we can stay at home, pause, replay, and save for later. The content these platforms are releasing is reason enough to curl on your couch and never leave. The production for these shows is that of movies, back when most movies had you on the edge of your seat. It's what anyone is talking about now, some people can't even remember that last time they went to the movies.

Back to prices, the movie theater is just far too expensive. $10+ dollars to see a movie that always looks better in the trailer. Netflix is about $8 to $14, Hulu being $8 to $12 and HBO coming in at $15 to be an add-on. It just doesn't make much sense anymore to pay that much to see one movie that you will most likely forget about by the time you go back to work on Monday. As I said, I don't think that the movie industry is going anywhere but will it always be on top? Definitely not. If anything it's going to be a luxury for those willing, if it hasn't already become that.

I will try and give the short and sweet (very biased, give me a break I went to the movies a lot) review of each one and if I had a memorable experience when I went. (Spoiler: people can be super annoying sometimes.) I also will be ranking them out a ten-star scale, I feel like that's the easiest giving everyone a "fair" shot.

Day 1: 'Call Me by Your Name'

Sony Pictures Classics / Via Google Images

"People who read are hiders. They hide who they are. People who hide don't always like who they are."

I felt like I was transported back to 1983 in Italy, experiencing the slow-burning love of Oliver and Elio. Luca Guadagnino's film has a way of making us feel the sunlight and warmth of love on our skin as we watch these two fall for each other. It is a perfect film that shows, despite time and society, we can't control who we love.

9 out of 10

Day 2: 'I, Tonya'

Neon / Via Google Images

"I was loved for a minute, then I was hated. Then I was just a punch line."

If I'm being completely honest, I didn't know much about this situation. Seeing this film really helped shed some light on the uncovered side of the story. Margot Robbie really made you feel for Tonya, which in turn made the entire film. All in all, I enjoyed this film more than I thought I would. Please go into this movie with an open mind, you might be surprised.

7 out of 10

Day 3: 'Coco'

Disney/Pixar / Via Google Images

"I have to sing. It's not just in me... It is me."

Let me start by saying I'm not a huge Disney fan, sorry! So going into Coco I didn't have high hopes, but when I left I don't think I could love this film any more than I do. It hits your heart in all the right places and actually makes you want to hang out with your family. Watch this movie and remember to bring the tissues.

  • I saw this movie with the theater all to myself, and I'm so glad because I don't think I could handle any six-year-olds judging me while I quietly sob.

10 out of 10

Day 4: 'Den of Thieves'

STX Entertainment / Via Google Images

"I ain't cuffin' up."

This film is two hours and twenty minutes... why? I have no idea. I felt it was underdeveloped and under delivered for me, even with such a long runtime. The cast wasn't terrible and the plot seemed to be in sight but never quite made it to the party. It's an alright film with the type of ending that is supposed to make up for the weak beginning but didn't. Try watching The Town and save twenty minutes.

  • Going to this movie was the turning point of the whole challenge, it's where I officially set out to do this.

6 out of 10

Day 5: 'Forever My Girl'

Roadside Attractions and LD Entertainment / Via Google Images

"You don't belong here anymore, Liam."

Another thing to know about me is that I really don't care for romantic movies unless I'm alone with tons of junk food. But even then I choose decent romantic movies and let me tell you this isn't one of them. This movie was so boring, starting with the terrible accents and ending with a woman snoring a couple of seats down from me. The story was all over the place and predictable to the point where I'm pretty sure I played the last scene in my head at the beginning of the movie. Save your time and watch any Nicholas Sparks movie, literally any.

  • Also, I went to the movies with my mom and we are pretty sure the couple behind us was having sex... I guess that can also tell you how boring this movie was.

4 out of 10

Day 6: 'Proud Mary'

Screen Gems / Via Google Images

"Newsflash, asshole! I am the mothering type!"

I really wanted to like this movie, I went with such high hopes but damn was I disappointed. This movie deserved better than the script that it was given. Proud Mary was bland and unmemorable, it had the potential of something awesome but left us with yawns. We didn't really get to see the skill set that Mary had which was a huge letdown, seeing as we went to see her as an assassin. Try Kill Bill?

5 out of 10

Day 7: 'The Post'

20th Century Fox / Via Google Images

"News is the first rough draft of history."

I'm not going to act like an intellectual and pretend to know about the history that was involved in this film because, quite frankly, I didn't even want to watch this. But I'm glad I did, it really showed the similarities from that time and now. Media not having the absolute authority to print what they want/need to without there being a consequence. It was quite interesting and kind of important.

7 out of 10

Day 8: 'Insidious: The Last Key'

Universal Pictures / Via Google Images

"What—I get the death chamber and he gets bible camp with the most beautiful girl on earth? That's not a democracy."

I'm going to start by saying that I watched this in the theater entirely by myself, which really added to the creepy effect of this movie. I did enjoy Insidious for what it was, it was full of jump scares and full of family drama. But is it the last one? I doubt it. This is exactly what you would expect in a fourth installment.

  • Being alone in this movie really freaked me out, I swear I was looking behind my shoulder the entire movie.

5 out of 10

Day 9: '12 Strong'

Warner Bros Pictures / Via Google Images

"The most important thing you take into battle... is the reason why."

I am a sucker for these movies and I have no idea why. I love watching these, especially the "Based on a True Story" ones. I really enjoyed this movie. It tells the true story of 12 brave soldiers on horseback fighting for their country. It's not too gory and it's not too soft. That perfect middle between Full Metal Jacket and Jarhead.

  • I saw this movie alone but it was a packed theater since it was Tuesday ($5 day, read above) which didn't bother me but when I got to my seat there was someone already sitting there. No problem, I moved a couple of seats over. We are right in the middle of the movie and the seat stealer's phone rings full volume and then he goes on to answer it! Having a full-length conversation. Then he puts it away, but of course lo and behold, it rings again! Full volume, answers full conversation, and truly not giving a shit about anyone around him. Fun!

7 out of 10

Day 10: 'The Commuter'

Lionsgate / Via Google Images

"What's in the bag?"

Did I really go see this movie? Yes. Does Liam Neeson have a particular set of sets? Yes. Is this a remake of basically every move with Neeson since 2008? Yes. THE END.

6 out of 10

Day 11: 'Darkest Hour'

Focus Features / Via Google Images

"You are strong because you are imperfect. You are wise because you have doubts."

I'm going to admit that I had to force myself to see this movie. Is that bad? Maybe but I was reaching my wall at this point. I just watched The Crown so seeing a movie about Winston Churchill wasn't really on my radar. After watching it I can say that it wasn't bad, it was interesting to see how Churchill dealt with Dunkirk and the number of things that were pinned against him.

7 out of 10

Day 12: 'Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle'

Columbia Pictures / Via Google Images

"A game for those who seek to find. A way to leave their world behind."

I love the original Jumanji, so when this was in the works I was not happy about it. I wanted to hate this movie but I actually really loved it. It has to be one of my favorites from all the movies. It was funny, heartfelt, and action-packed. My favorite part was this film isn't a remake, it's a reboot. They aren't trying to take over the original, they left it just the way it was.

  • Can I just say that Jack Black was absolutely amazing in this movie!

9 out of 10

Day 13: 'Maze Runner: The Death Cure'

20th Century Fox / Via Google Images

"The world is dying. If we find a cure that's the only way all of this was worth it."

I have never really been into Maze Runner, in fact, I ended up watching the entire series in one day. I really liked it, I thought it was a little more original than most of the other teen trilogies that have been circling around these past years. Yet it still had all those teen tropes that we all know and love. Would I watch them over and over? Maybe not. But that doesn't make them bad movies. If you're home on a rainy day and feel like watching something with a bit of cheese and thrill, this is it.

6 out of 10

Day 14: 'Hostiles'

Entertainment Studios Motion Pictures / Via Google Images

"Sometimes I envy the finality of death. The certainty. And I have to drive those thoughts away when I wake."

Honestly, I was dreading the thought of having to watch this movie, just because my dad plays westerns on our TV 24/7. But after watching it, I have to say that it became one of my favorites of the 25. It was raw, gritty, and full of emotion. The basis of the film is the classic Soldier vs Native American, but it didn't steer the blame in any direction, rather, it showed the evil of both sides. It's not a fast-paced film so go in with patience and an open mind.

9 out of 10

Day 15: 'Shape of Water'

Fox Searchlight Pictures / Via Google Images

"He's a wild creature. We can't ask him to be anything else."

Oh god, this movie. Okay, so I decided to not go alone to this movie for many reasons but the number one reason... it's a love story about a woman in love with a fish. I love Guillermo del Toro but this plot was pushing it a bit for me. Yet I watched it and it honestly wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. It wasn't just about the crazy plot, it was about loving someone (something?) who feels as different and outside as you do. It's moving past the normality of our lives an accepting things that we aren't used to.

8 out of 10

Day 16: 'Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri'

Fox Searchlight Pictures / Via Google Images

"Those billboards aren't gonna bring her back, Mildred."

I loved this movie. It had so much heart, hurt, loss, courage, and strength. Everything that a mother has when she loses her daughter in such a horrific way. It's the type of film we need, a women standing up for the injustice that she and her daughter have experienced. She shows that you don't have to take things as they are, if it needs changing.. change it.

10 out of 10

Day 17: 'The Greatest Showman'

20th Century Fox / Via Google Images

"The noblest art is that of making others happy."

I am not a big fan of musicals, I just can't take them seriously. So let me say I was kind of dragged to this movie (not really but kinda) and I laughed the entire time. It has everything musicals usually have the love, loss, and then you start all over. It really doesn't help that I went to see it with my best friend and we kept imagining Zac Efron reprising his famous role as Troy Bolton. If you love musicals, then this is totally up your alley.

6 out of 10

Day 18: 'Lady Bird'

A24 / Via Google Images

"I want you to be the very best version of yourself that you can be."

Ahh to 17 again.. I loved Lady Bird when I saw the trailer, I was so excited. Female-directed and written... yes, please. It was the perfect film to express what it's like to be a teenager again and hate yet love your mom. To experience your many loves, friends, and above all rejection. You end up growing with Lady Bird and trust me you'll want to call your mom when the credits roll.

9 out of 10

Day 19: 'Fifty Shades Freed'

Universal Pictures / Via Google Images

"You may call me Mrs. Grey."

No, no, no. Thank god it's over.

3 out of 10

Day 20: 'La Boda de Valentina'

Pantelion Films / Via Google Images

"Lord Crybaby!"

I had no idea what this movie was about but I actually enjoyed it. It's a Mexican rom-com but there was something so much more enjoyable seeing people of color in the role. It's fresh and new! If you don't mind reading subtitles and want a little twist on the classic rom-com, check this out!

6 out of 10

Day 21: 'Phantom Thread'

Focus Features / Via Google Images

"Reynolds has made my dreams come true. And I have given him what he desires most in return."

This film was exactly what I expected yet not at all. It was strange yet beautiful. It was the perfect way to say goodbye to Daniel Day-Lewis. I don't want to say anything more than that.

9 out of 10

Day 22: 'Black Panther'

Marvel Studios / Via Google Images

"What happens now determines what happens to the rest of the world."

What more can I say about Black Panther that hasn't already been said? I loved it.

8 out of 10

Day 23: '15:17 to Paris'

Warner Bros. / Via Google Images

"I just didn't want my family finding out that I died hiding under a table."

Okay, I love Clint Eastwood (sometimes) and his movies have been the foundation of my upbringing but this movie was so bad. It was incredibly boring, misguided, and repetitive. I won't even blame it on the "actors" who were actually the heroes of the 15:17 to Paris. I'm going to blame the writing, directing, and most of all, the pace. The film jumps from place to place, not quite knowing what it's doing in the process. Trust me, don't waste your time. Just read an article about what happened, I'm sure it was much better written than the movie.

3 out of 10

Day 24: 'Annihilation'

Paramount Pictures / Via Google Images

"You really have no idea what it was."

Oh man, this movie. Alex Garland really set the tone of his directing career when he released Ex Machina, he did not disappoint with Annihilation. It was female driven and with it came an additional level of empathy. It was strange and thrilling. Guaranteed to stay with you. Please please watch this film.

9 out of 10

Day 25: 'Game Night'

New Line Cinema / Via Google Images

"I hate game night!"

The perfect film to end this "challenge" too. I loved Rachel McAdams and Jason Bateman together. It was funny, original, and so easy to love. It's definitely not trying to be anything other than a comedy.

8 out of 10

So what did I learn from this? I love movies, good or bad. They have the perfect way of taking you out of the real world even if it's only two hours. Please take all my reviews with a grain of salt, I've been told I'm too judgemental. (Sorry?) Thanks for reading everyone or no one doesn't matter!

That's all folks!

movie
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Rodriguez

Hey everyone! I love movies, and that's pretty much it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.