Geeks logo

I Want Pictures Of...J. Jonah Jameson? Here Are 10 Actors Who Could Play JJJ in Spider-Man!

Everyone always argues that you'll never find someone as good as J.K. Simmons for the role, but I disagree

By Jacob CraigPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

When it comes to casting Spider-Man's infamous boss, everyone always argues that you'll never find someone as good as J.K. Simmons for the role, but I disagree. While Simmons was absolutely terrific as the character, I do think there are actors who could be just as good in the role, and that he is not the only option. I'm here to prove that there are at least ten more actors who could bring this character to life, and I hope you enjoy!

1. John C. McGinley

You probably know John C. McGinley as J.D.'s big, scary boss from Scrubs, and I think that role perfectly exemplifies his potential as this character. The way he's sarcastic and purely terrible to everyone under him is classic JJJ, and he doesn't know how to get what he wants without yelling or being sarcastic. He's the classic terrible boss, and with the same hair and makeup job they did for J.K. Simmons he would be amazing.

2. Gary Cole

Another infamously bad boss who you may know from Office Space, Gary Cole is used to playing hated bosses. While his character wasn't necessarily mean, Cole has also played the villain in Pineapple Express, in which he actually is a mean and well hated boss. If he were given a fake mustache and a chance in the role, then I have no doubt he could nail it based on his past acting experiences.

3. Jon Hamm

I admit that Jon Hamm would be a much different JJJ to say the least, but I think that he would still be amazing in the role. It would make sense to cast a younger Jameson since Spider-Man is 15 years old, and with a little makeup and a different hairstyle, Hamm would be perfect for the job. He's sarcastic and straight up mean as Don Draper in Mad Men, and I think that he could bring the best parts of that role with him.

4. Hugh Laurie

You can't tell me that the man who played Dr. House wouldn't make the perfect J. Jonah Jameson, the match is just too good. He's already shown that he can nail this role with ease, and that he would make J.K. Simmons proud. Watch any episode of House and you'll see that this is a match made in heaven. What more can I say?

5. Alec Baldwin

Starting to notice a trend yet? Alec Baldwin played the drunk and sarcastic boss on 30 Rock, and I think that role with a lot more anger would be the ideal JJJ. If Baldwin grew a mustache and styled his hair like Spidey's iconic boss, then he could certainly match the likes of J.K. Simmons.

6. Matthew Perry

This is where I start to get a little more creative. While I absolutely love Chandler from Friends, the character is extremely sarcastic and always borderline mean. With Matthew Perry being older now, that's where I see the JJJ aspect. Perry could easily turn into the mean spirited animal of a boss that Jameson is, and I would love to see him do it.

7. Nick Offerman

Nick Offerman is a lot different from the other actors I put on this list, but he's so ranged and skilled that I'm positive he would be the best JJJ we've ever seen. He's naturally sarcastic, and if he could get the iconic mean bark down then he would have everything. We've seen on Fargo this season how much of a fast talker he can be, and he has the mustache already. He would just need a fake hair piece, and then he could be on his way to torture young Peter Parker.

8. Bryan Cranston

It's probably hard to imagine Bryan Cranston as anyone besides Walter White now, but once upon a time he was just a small time comedic actor, and I think he's proved now that he has the range to play any character. This, of course, would include JJJ. With a fake hair piece and a conjured up menacing bark of a voice, Cranston could indeed pull this character off with flying colors.

9. Stephen Lang

You probably know Stephen Lang as the muscular hardass army dude from Avatar, and I think that he could bring certain dynamics of that role with him to play JJJ. If he could tone down the intimidation of that character and crank up the sheer bitterness, then he would have this role in the bag.

10. Jon Stewart

I decided to round out this list with my most controversial choice, but while most people see Jon Stewart as the light hearted funny man that doesn't have a mean bone in his body, I think that he could indeed pull off the role of J. Jonah Jameson. While he's not primarily an actor, Stewart does have backgrounds with bit roles and improv, and could certainly take the role of a character that's as straightforward as JJJ. Sarcastic, mean, a developed bark and snarl of a voice, and you've got it. With a little bit of help from the stylists and makeup artists working on the film, Stewart could totally transform himself into this character.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Jacob Craig

Stand-up comic. MMA historian. I can guarantee I'm the geekiest person you know. Men in Black 2 is the greatest movie of all time, change my mind.

Twitter: @jacobccraig

Insta: @jacomalfoy1

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.