Geeks logo

I've had a VISIONS

and not the Marvel kind

By Jonathan CostaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
If you don't know... Just go... and know and and come back and know.

Insert mandatory introduction of how I've loved Star Wars longer than I knew what language was here. Being a Star Wars enthusiast is not a hot take. What has felt like just one more thing I shouted into the sky without response is the obvious yet rare combination of Star Wars and drawn animation, particularly Anime.

There's not enough time or energy in the world to get into what has inspired Star Wars, but among the popular catalysts were the Jedaigeki films of Akira Kurosawa, namely The Hidden Fortress's influence on A New Hope. However, it wasn't long until 1978. The George from House Lucas saw fit to bless the world with this... art?

People try to pretend like it's fine and it's not fine... it's destiny.

I have many feelings surrounding animation and the starving art that is drawn animation. It's alive and kicking, but Star Wars took time to get this galaxy on the animation page. I'm not talking about the Holiday Special. Enough words have been said about that.

Japanese culture evolves with time. So does American culture. Really any, but the merging of these to make hits like Avatar The Last Airbender (yes, Star Wars was an inspiration for many things etc.) resonates on another level. Combining ideas to create something new doesn't always make sense, and it makes for happy accidents on occasion, but anyone with two brain cells to rub together could know that Anime and Star Wars were meant to be. I know I'm not alone when mightier artists than I (CHECK THEM OUT) have rendered such combinations as well.

Genndy Tartakovsky has blessed the masses with legendary legends of legend STAR WARS: CLONE WARS mini-series. Which absolutely speaks for itself.

hits different. you already know.

But as beautiful as it is, I wouldn't dare change a thing. It wasn't really Anime in the Japanese style. Which is good. More drawn animation for star wars, please in any and every style, pretty PLEASE. However, the animation work in the canon since Star Wars The Clone Wars is not something I would say is beautiful. It's definitely improved since (Bad Batch has the sauce) I can get over my drawn hangups to admit that it is gorgeous in its rendering. Computer animation has its place and is doing great work, I still don't like the animation style, but the story keeps me coming back. That goes for Clone Wars, Rebels and even Resistance, which I really don't like for the betrayal of trying to pretend like it's drawn but being even more obviously computer animated, the dreaded by only me apparently "cell-shaded".

Cell shaded can look amazing. Paperman by Pixar and, of course, Spiderman Into the Spiderverse slaps me on both of my cheeks with very unique beauty. The Dragon Prince even came around for me. But Wanting a Star Wars series in the style of Samurai Champloo seemed like a distant dream. Until December 2020, to cap off the year that kept on giving (another article), it was announced that drawn anime anthology STAR WARS: VISIONS would be released. When I finally watched it, I was overwhelmed. The very first one out of the gate, which I was least excited about because of the cell-shaded animation, shook me to my bones with its craftsmanship. I was and still am eager for more. Right down to the last anthology, Vision, I was sated but not satisfied.

Yes, there is another Legends book for the first episode, which I'm excited to get my eyes on, but this proved that I was right. Star Wars stories depicted in drawn animation not only works but also excels.

While each VISION had its charm, stories I'd like to see continued goeth thusly in order of Quite-anticipated to Pleading-while-shaking-two-fists-to-the-sky.

Akakiri

The final in the bunch and gorgeous animation I can sink my sight-balls into the drama surrounding the tragic hero and loved ones sacrifice is one I'd love to see a whole series for. I'm all on board for this animation.

The Elder

If The Duel had this animation, that would be my favourite, but alas, this Vision was possibly the most disappointing. Why is it my second favourite? The dripping in sauce vibes and a very intriguing Villain that I want to see more of. Life story in any format would do.

The Ninth Jedi

I thought the animation was serviceable, but the characters and plot turns and twists had me hooked. I've got a soft spot for craftsman characters, so I'm all in on anything more surrounding this cast. I also loved the animation, even though it didn't grip me as much as others. Any format works for me, anime or manga.

Lop and Ocho

Potentially the second or third best animation, in my opinion. I also love following non-human main characters, and this story definitely earned a series. I'm waffling on this one because I want to say it's my favourite animation, but the next one has a very particular vibe.

Village Bride

This was the animation that I found the prettiest and had that Ghibli vibe I was hungering for. It had my favourite in everything, the spirituality, the action, the drama. I'd follow this hero pair in this Vision for six seasons and a movie.

Of course, while these are not canon, and I'd definitely prefer a canon story animated by any of these studios, I'm very okay with them staying Legends. Good stories don't care whether your trivia notes match up or not. In fact, if they took a page from Mouse Guard, (a very underrated graphic novel series) I'd love a cantina series where multiple patrons tell stories in a variety of styles that were framed as a legend but was told in a canon framing device. Wild Thoughts, Lucasfilm. I'm available and cheap.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Costa

Artist. Poet. Traveller. Witness. Brazilian-American. Story-teller.

@nomadicartsstudio on Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.