Geeks logo

I Recently Started Rewatching Twilight

A 25-Year-Old's Beef with Twilight

By JessicaPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like
Credits: Image taken off of Google Images*I do not own this image.

So, it's been about 11 years since the release of Twilight in theaters and now I'm really regretting that I didn't rewatch the movies last year and make this post then for the 10 year anniversary. Now, it looks like I'm just behind the trend of what everyone else has been saying the movie for the past 11 years, but also especially, last year when all sorts of people started sharing their beef with the series.

I want to start by saying that I still thoroughly love the books and the movies even if the romance is a bit cheesy. This kind of love story is to be expected from a book/movie geared to a young teenage/adult audience. I have no beef with the kind of love story being told or even the not perfect acting.

My beef comes from the growing realization that everyone in the movie makes me very upset at one point or another. I don't know if this has something to do with my aging or if it's just a sensitive point in my life that causes me to get aggravated by the actions of Edward, Bella, and Jacob at every turn. Perhaps it's a bit of both and maybe I'll be able to sit down and watch the last two movies without seething hatred coming into my mind nearly every minute.

To expand on this in a more rational way: Edward is mopey and the epitome of teenagedom; Bella is a little too needy; and Jacob is way too moody (I know it's because of the "changes," but he continues to be moody after he becomes a wolf). I should probably acknowledge the possibility for spoilers if you continue to read this post. However, I'm also convinced that Twilight is one of those movies that you either want to watch or you don't and at this point, you either have seen it or you never will. That point being expressed, I understand that there might be one person who has some slight interest in watching the movies, so turn back now and don't continue reading as I bash the characters for being young and angsty.

Starting with Bella: she's great and all. I appreciated her down-to-earth character and I love how the movie plays up her clumsiness and her general "normal" looks. The younger version of me that watched the movies when they came out loved and respect Bella for her teenage version of independence in that she didn't give a crap what her parents wanted or expected of her. However, even though I don't have kids of my own, I can see where the frustration comes from with Charlie and how Bella does whatever she wants for the sake of Edward. Also, this might be a spoiler, but Bella-after-Edward-leaves (yes, that's her full name) is the absolute worst. She runs off and does the most reckless things, which younger me admired and loved, and older me now detests and loathes. I guess if I had to rationalize this feeling, I could say that it might have something to do with young me wanting to be loved enough that the world revolved around him and understanding that Bella was more brave than I could ever be. And I will admit that she still is braver than I will ever be, but I have also grown to realize that her bravery is reckless and a bit insane, which ends up not looking very good once you actually begin to think about it.

Let's move on to Edward then. Oh, how I miss the bygone days of "Team Edward" and "Team Jacob" and I will forever be on "Team Edward;" however, that does not mean that I cannot find fault in his behavior maybe now that I'm older more than ever before. Again, for comparison's sake, younger me loved Edward's general disdain for all things that were not Bella. Even when he left her, past me admired his strength in leaving her and trying to give her a better life. Ironically enough, older me rewatched the break-up scene and Bella's depression again and instead of admiration for Edward and pity for Bella. I felt hatred for the one and apathy for the other. Older me now sees Edward's leaving as completely selfish and self-righteous. Not only does Edward break it off with Bella in a very cold and cruel manner, (again, I know that it's because he doesn't want harm to come to Bella and he needs her to believe he doesn't want her anymore) but he also decides to erase all contact and past memories between Bella and him. I find this to be particularly crueler than just breaking up with her because even after a break-up, we are typically still allowed to reminisce in our own fantasies and memories. This ability is taken away from Bella because young and selfish Edward feels that this is the best way to keep her safe. Ba humbug.

Finally, let's talk about Jacob. I'll admit that watching the movies again at this point in my life, Jacob is the youngest character and yet, generally, the most mature and rational. He's sweet and friendly to Bella in the beginning (Granted, this is when he thinks he has a chance) and continues to be a good friend to her before becoming emotional and then disappearing after his transformation. Transformation in more ways than one. Am I right ladies? Okay gross. He's like 15. What's wrong with me? Carrying on: he is a very good friend who loves Bella and isn't wrong to think that they might get together and be happy. I UNDERSTAND THAT even if I am "Team Edward." In fact, my opinion for Jacob has probably grown since rewatching it, which is completely different than my opinions regarding Edward and Bella. Still, older me is completely ashamed and upset with Jacob's behavior after Edward leaves and Jacob goes through his own metamorphosis. Sam, or no Sam, it only seems fair that he could have told Bella what his beef was before allowing her to wait in pure agony before she finally confronts him. Unfortunately for Jacob, he had the least wiggle room out of all the characters because he is already set up from the beginning as the loyal and protective friend. During this one weak moment, he completely falls out of favor, at least for me and probably a lot of other women who are on "Team Edward." Simply because he is expected to always be there while Edward has the freedom to be emotional and moody. Again, I love Jacob even if it's not as much as I love Edward. The issue stemming from this idea that Jacob has to stay perfect or else he is unfit. Perhaps that is an opinion of mine that will never change even as I continue to grow older and change.

I want to wrap up by clarifying that I still love these movies and I don't think that the beef most people have comes from their appreciation of the movies or their understanding that this is how teenagers behave. If you don't like emotional romance dramas filled with love triangles and ridiculous cheesy lines then this is not the kind of movie franchise for you. I thoroughly enjoy a good romance and I think these movies are great. Final words: Edward, Bella, and Jacob's actions are exactly what I would expect out of teenagers. My love and appreciation for Twilight has not changed. Rather, what has changed over the years is simply my age and my understanding that teenage me is not the same as adult me.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Jessica

Avid Sims fanatic, sometimes streamer over at twitch.tv/everybodysims, who loves a good love story and poetry that speaks to the romantic in her <3.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.