Geeks logo

I Read 4 Books Recommended by Namjoon of BTS

I listen to these on audible as part of my RM reading routine. Now, here's what I have to say...

By Asterion AvocadoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=2rMfTg2Q&id=DDB2985A7CAB80C704330B136377DC7C5EA1328E&thid=OIP.2rMfTg2QA_uIvgq3LNe2cgHaE8&mediaurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwallpapercave.com%2Fwp%2Fwp8020765.jpg&exph=2667&expw=4000&q=bts+copyright+free+images&simid=608013974511637490&form=IRPRST&ck=D397151F086C9A0D2BA1C02617FD5A59&selectedindex=7&qpvt=bts+copyright+free+images&ajaxhist=0&ajaxserp=0&vt=0&sim=11

I understand that this is not YouTube. And perhaps this isn't the place for YouTube-style challenges, but I'm here nonetheless. To compose this narrative, I was inspired by a YouTube video by Jake Edwards. But mostly, I'm here to reintroduce myself to reading, or, better yet, to listening to audiobooks.

Kim Nam-joon, best known by his stage name RM, is a South Korean rapper, songwriter, and record producer (previously Rap Monster). He is a member of the BTS K-pop group.

He's also a wonderful reader. He's also known for his extensive book suggestions, which I wish I had the time to read in its entirety.

RM reading recommendations list:

Kim Jiyoung Born 1982

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

1Q84

Kafka on The Shore

By Fabiola Peñalba on Unsplash

"Kim Jiyoung was born 1982."

Cho Nam-Joo.

Kim Jiyoung, a normal woman in her mid-30s, tells the story of her life. She begins by recounting her childhood, followed by her school years, college, marriage, obtaining a white-collar career, and becoming a mother. In Korea's punishingly patriarchal culture, the story is full of demoralising digs targeted at Kim, an average woman. The book paints a realistic picture of what we may see if we looked through the lens of gender roles, patriarchy, and, in general, every woman's existence.

When I think back on the narrative, one of the first things that comes to mind is how terribly relevant the scenario is. First and foremost, for all women everywhere and in all cultures. But ultimately, as someone born in 1992 in a country with events and views quite similar to those related by the protagonist, it seemed personal to me.

These events and beliefs, which affect and are influenced by women, are totally demoralising. This got me thinking about how bizarre it is to find inspiration and joy in reading (or listening, as it was an audiobook for me) a book that elicits such terrible emotions. I believe it's the force of material that truly reflects reality; a reality that is all too prevalent.

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is a science fiction novel written by Douglas Adams.

Mindboggling. The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is a comedic science fiction series developed by Douglas Adams. It debuted as a radio comedy on BBC Radio 4 in 1978, and has subsequently been adapted into stage productions, novels, comic books, a 1981 television series, a 1984 computer game, and a 2005 feature film. Yes, it was a huge success, and for obvious reasons.

By Bruno Martins on Unsplash

The tale is intelligent without being arrogant. Of course, I may be skewed. My partner will attest to my obsession with British comedy, but that is besides the point. The book is brilliant.

The only thing you need to know about the book is 42 .

What? You're not sure what I'm talking about? That's because you have to first discover the correct question to answer! What's your response? 42, to be exact!

"Don't panic," though, no matter what happens.

1Q84

Haruki Murakami.

Let me start by mentioning that I am a huge fan of Haruki Murakami's work. Kafka on the Shore (which will be discussed later because it was also a suggestion) has been one of my favourite books since I first read it a few years ago.

Let's take a look at 1Q84 first.

Many people think of 1Q84 as dystopian fiction, although I'm not sure I'd call it that. The work does have dystopian elements, although they are more in accordance with a larger definition of science fiction.

A fictional 1984 and a "real" 1984 alternate throughout the novel. It follows Aomame, a serial killer on a quest to assassinate persons who have committed atrocities against women. She starts to notice strange things in her surroundings and becomes absorbed in a story about Sakigake, a religious cult, and Tengo, her childhood love. Tengo is a writer/ghostwriter who also gets himself into problems by following his editor's instructions.

A complex, yet entertaining story.

By Diane Picchiottino on Unsplash

Haruki Murakami's Kafka on the Shore

How can I review my favourite novels while remaining as objective as possible? Of course, it'll be difficult, but I'll give it my best shot.

Kafka on the Shore is a book that combines philosophy with reality. It tells the story of two remarkable characters: Kafka Tamura, a teen who runs away from home either to avoid a gruesome prophecy or to avoid being captured by aliens, and Nakata, an elderly man who never recovered from a wartime illness or, better yet, from being captured by aliens, and is now drawn to Kafka for reasons unknown.

Humans are prone to making erroneous conclusions. Now, I didn't think musicians were illiterate; on the contrary, I thought they were well-educated. However, for some inexplicable reason, I did not expect such glowing endorsements from a pop singer. Why? Heuristics, preconceptions, and plain ignorance. But think about this as you've a lesson learnt! Such good reads.

list
1

About the Creator

Asterion Avocado

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.