Geeks logo

I Am Legend is Both My Favorite Book and My Least Favorite Movie

I Am Legend movie

By ZerefPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
I Am Legend is Both My Favorite Book and My Least Favorite Movie
Photo by Cristofer Maximilian on Unsplash

some days in the past, i was having a communique with a chum of mine about our favorite films. He advised me he could speak approximately his favorite movie for hours, and he asked me if there has been a movie that I felt that manner approximately. It did not take me long to think of an answer: i am Legend.

i'm Legend is not my favourite film. it's my least favorite, and it became the first film where I do not forget leaving the theater indignant. I complained approximately the movie on the entire ride domestic and persisted ranting about it for months.

in spite of my hatred for the film, the book is amongst my favorites. I first discovered i am Legend all through a ride to the bookstall. I observed the book close to the the front of the shop, on a desk marked 'Vampires'. The e-book caught my eye because Richard Matheson wrote it, and i would currently completed analyzing Stir of Echoes which he'd also written. Will Smith became on the cover of the best version of the e book the store had. I thought the e book becoming a movie was a great element. i assumed that if I loved the ebook, i'd also love the movie. I could not had been extra incorrect.

The ebook changed into remarkable. I devoured it in about 3 days, and it quickly have become my favourite ebook. The e-book turned into about Robert Neville, the only survivor of a plague that induced every person else to turn out to be vampires. At night, the vampires surround his home, taunting him. He spends his days getting to know vampires by way of reading anything he can discover about them, earlier than going into their hideouts and killing them at the same time as they're in a weakened state.

within the e-book, we see flashbacks of him losing his own family, friends, and neighbors to the pandemic. We additionally see him making hard choices concerning his spouse and daughter, both of whom die because of the pandemic. He quickly turns into the best closing human in a global full of vampires who require his blood to stay.

The e-book is dark and gritty, however after I noticed they had cast Will Smith, I knew it'd be greater toned down. I nonetheless changed into optimistic that it might be a wonderful movie, because it failed to want to be as darkish to be a a hit adaptation.

My hopes were dashed as I watched the movie that become stripped of the whole lot that made the ebook wonderful. Robert Neville would not hunt the vampires at night time. They are not vampires in this version, however zombies instead. I could have handled this transformation, as the unique e-book stimulated many portions of zombie fiction as properly, consisting of night time of The residing lifeless.

The vampires within the e-book may want to still talk and typically spent their nights taunting Neville. The girls attempted to trap him out by using the usage of his loneliness in opposition to him, however what him maximum became his neighbor, who speedy have become his rival. This man or woman is slightly within the movie, and while we see him, he's a shell of the person he become in the novel.

The 'zombies' cannot talk within the movie, as an alternative, they make a chain of noises. We do not even realize that they've any humanity left till the film Neville kidnaps one among them to discover a therapy, and it's far the rival's mate. i am no longer sure why the film goes this direction, but I assume it is to both display the humanity of the zombies and show that despite trying to do the proper thing, Neville is the 'awful guy'.

What bothers me most is the ending. leading as much as the ending of the book, Neville meets what he believes to be a normal female. The pair broaden a friendship till he discovers that she is sporting make-up to hide the truth that she is a vampire. She captures him and sets up his execution due to his crimes towards vampires. As he's going through dying, he cannot help however assume that he is turn out to be what the vampires as soon as have been-a legend. he's the most effective living human and he'll quickly grow to be a fable himself.

This finishing is absent from the movie. alternatively, we get a forgettable spherical of explosions and Neville sacrificing himself to store a normal human girl. She's later seen with the treatment, going to an area in which humans have taken safe haven. i'm sure there is plenty to say approximately whether the treatment must be used, but that wasn't addressed.

regardless of my hatred for the movie, I nevertheless ended up buying the DVD, because I had to see the exchange ending. I hoped it would have the identical meaning as its e book counterpart, but it was just another try at doing some thing 'new'.

alas, it looks as if i'm Legend is getting a sequel starring Will Smith and Michael B. Jordan. with a bit of luck, it's better than the authentic adaptation, but I do no longer plan to peer it. I still agree with the book is well worth reading, even for those who don't read loads.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Zeref

Ends Well All is Well

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.