Geeks logo

Hobby fulfills me

A feature by Kevin Mitchell

By Kevin MitchellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

So it turns out that geek is cool now. Not Big Bang Theory cool, it’s surpassed that high. We are into a new stratosphere, one where Marvel and DC hang out. One where streamers and gamers are the new media. One where D&D is mainstream again. It’s great to be part of such a resurgence. My inner drive to write and to create mix well with my interests in games and fantasy and sci fi stories and worlds. How do I express these interests, bridging fun and work?

Hobby. Creating worlds apart from the one I breathe in. It’s always been inside me, this imagining of fully articulate worlds apart from our own, and driving my creativity. I write in many forms. The writing I love is fiction. So I write fiction, lots of it in many worlds. My current main work in progress is a fantasy novel. The writing I’m drawn to is poetry. So I write poetry because I feel I have to, to help keep it alive so others can find the same magic within it as I do. The writing I aspire to is screenplays. So I work to develop the skills I need to write one well. All of these have found expression here on vocal.

I remember an early story I wrote, a comic book like the ones I had available to read. I could only have been four or five yet I loved it. Wrote it, copied it into a pile and set up a shop in the concrete stairwell of the block of flats where I lived to sell to my neighbours.

Hobby. Crafting worlds apart. I paint. It brings me a sense of achievement, a calm moment in the turmoil of the day. I paint models, plastic or resin today but metal when I first started thirty five years ago. I have gotten better at painting. Each day I try to paint a little, to keep getting better. You know what I can testify, just like all other skills, you do get better. Keep going, practise and experiment, and you will improve. It’s important to remember you learn the most through failure. I can tell you painting is very much built on failure, improvement comes through trial and learning. Experiential learning is key, try the things you read about or watch, and sometimes just let your painting be free to take its own course.

Hobby. Exploring worlds apart. Gaming brings me a connection to others. Whether digital games, table top games, board games, card deck games, or role player games. All of these forms have their place in my hobby experience and a community I connect to through them. My writing, my painting and my modelling come together in all these spaces to turn creation into connection and connection into fresh creation.

People follow me because they enjoy the worlds I create for them to explore, to adventure in. I bring stories to be thrilled by, characters to laugh at and with, adventures to travel on. I tell stories through all these hobby forms and share what I create through the wonders of the internet. Published blogs, websites and social content.

I am monetising my hobby, slowly but surely. I write and sell the stories I tell, sometimes through conventional publishing, sometimes through creator platforms. I create guides and companion kits for games and hobby. Be that modelling, painting, tactics or new adventure guides.

I have begun to create a community here on vocal, a journey I am already immensely proud of. Next I am going to invest time into a community building platform like memberful which will allow me to offer subscriptions for followers to support my creative work. They can join me on the creative journey too, learn about the characters as I learn about them, tell me where they would like them to go and explore. Join in the adventure from the inception. I’ll offer access to hear from me about updates, exclusive opportunities to talk to me and early access to my content. I’ll ask the community to assist in the creative process, to help build the best content I can produce.

I am so excited for this next stage in my journey, and to see characters and worlds who have dwelt in my mind’s eye brought to life to be enjoyed by the world at large. We live in extraordinary times.

feature
1

About the Creator

Kevin Mitchell

Fiction writer, explore the rivers of magik with me. Published author, poet and thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.