Geeks logo

'Heroes: Mortals and Monsters, Quests and Adventures' - Book Review

Stephen Fry's Latest Publication

By Hayley DodwellPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
2
We all love a hero...

The new book from comedian, actor, presenter, and all around legend, Stephen Fry, Heroes: Mortals and Monsters, Quests and Adventures, is the second book in Fry's Greek Myths series following his first book, Mythos.

I read and enjoyed Mythos, but this latest mythology book drew my attention much quicker, and I just couldn't put it down! I actually felt quite sad when I got to the end! I could have happily read much more. But fear not, I thought, as there is also a third and final installment on its way...

Yes, it is true, we all love a hero, right?! Thinking back through time, surely you would agree that the most marvelous, top notch, unbeatable, and in a league of their own heroes, were the ancient Greeks.

Of course, you agree! So, this book is for you. In his own unique style, Stephen Fry retells incredible stories of the ancient Greeks.

Fry takes a look at myths and legends with heroes and demi-Gods, while telling the stories in a funny, humourous manner—which was extremely entertaining. I found myself laughing out loud many, many times.

Fry tells us about many ancient figures, including Hercules, Jason, Theseus, and Orpheus, among others. With Fry's amazing knowledge and wit, he describes and tells of the motivations that led these figures to do what they each did.

We read about how Jason goes on his quest for the Golden Fleece, and how Oedipus sets about the Riddle of the Sphinx. These stories are real page-turners and very addictive reading!

Your imagination will run wild!

Stephen Fry

Stephen Fry brings to life the Gods, monsters, and mortals, in a fantastic and thrilling way. He thoroughly re-imagined their life and world.

Be prepared to go on this journey that will make your own imagination run wild! From revenge to jealousy, Fry has it all covered.

Heroes: Mortals and Monsters, Quests and Adventures is also available on Audio book, read by Fry himself, that is excellent. However, I recommend getting the book to let your own inner imagination take over.

I am a huge fan of Fry's books. I have enjoyed some more than others, and with this one, I genuinely can't fault it: A perfect 10 out of 10 from me.

It's perfect to give as a Christmas present, or even to just treat yourself. But whatever you do, buy it! It is a book not to be missed out on. Enjoy!

review
2

About the Creator

Hayley Dodwell

I am a freelance writer. As well as Vocal, I have also written articles for numerous websites, including, Eighties Kids, WhatCulture, Child Of The 1980's, Online Book Club, GoNOMAD Travel, Hubpages, and ScreenHub Entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.