Geeks logo

Health, Culture, Love

Why I love Zac Efron and why you should, too

By Joshua McMullinPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

As a young man, people seem to judge me when I tell them of my adoration for the beloved Highschool Musical lead, Zac Efron. While I do not talk about him frequently, I suppose I have become something of a fanboy and, on the off times that I do mention him, it shows.

My admiration for Efron developed last year when I discovered that he is more than a funny, good-looking superstar—he’s eco-friendly, too! Aspiring to make a difference in the world, Efron paired up with his pal, health guru Darin Olien, and traveled the world in search of sustainable alternatives and healthy living strategies. The two documented their findings in what can only be described as a Netflix gem called Down To Earth With Zac Efron. Just the act of making such a show was enough to change my view of Efron, but it wasn’t until I started watching that I really began to appreciate him.

In Down To Earth, the two men experience the adventure of a lifetime as they travel to France, Iceland, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, and many more incredible destinations. There, they discover not only what amazing things other cultures have to offer, but also how culture plays a role in sustainability. They participate in many communities’ finest attractions, which is quite entertaining.

But Down To Earth is much more than a virtual travel session. It’s about shining light on some of our many climate issues, and it's about offering innovative solutions to these problems. Zac and Darin showcase in every episode countless eco-friendly trends, including, but not limited to, modern beekeeping, rain-catching, potato cryopreservation, and geothermal and solar energy production.

The two also learn copious amounts of information about healthy living on their journey: How plants such as ayahuasca can provide forms of healing, how every part of an animal can be used, how members of one community consistently live past one hundred years old. And who knew “purified” water is actually bad for you?

By watching Down To Earth, one may acquire an introductory education in sustainability, bodily health, and culture, hosted by fan-favourite superstar, Zac Efron (whom I, for one, would have never expected to create a show like this). What is there not to like?

However, there is one more defining element of the show yet to be discussed.

While watching, I often found myself pleasantly surprised by Zac and Darin’s dispositions. There is not a moment of judgement in Down To Earth—the two men show nothing but respect for differing cultural norms. In fact, they are frequently impressed by them. What’s more, they participate fully in all of the activities going on around them, from sitting in an ice bath to climbing towering trees to eating freakishly large worms. And, in return for being able to have such amazing experiences, Zac and Darin offer so much gratitude to others. Often, they respond with acts of great kindness and compassion. It is truly heartwarming.

Down To Earth is a show about the world, health, culture, and love, and I will never stop preaching about it. It’s something truly special. Further, there’s something addicting about watching Zac and Darin learn, travel, and contribute. And rightfully so! What is more inspiring than two great people teaming up to learn from and help others? What is more humorous and yet more moving than the star of Baywatch wanting to make a difference in the world?

I do remember that upon my first viewing of it, Down To Earth, like any show, left me with a feeling of longing when I finished watching it. Just eight episodes was enough for me to make a connection and to become inspired. In an attempt to refresh my memory for this piece, I re-watched parts of it. While I did obtain the information I was looking for, I also found myself engaged again as if seeing it for the first time. I felt that spark of joy renew itself within me. At certain parts I even felt tears in my eyes.

Down To Earth teaches us about the problems we face, and it encourages positive change. It is an example for how we ought to be: kind, helpful, lighthearted, and sustainable. It is about Zac Efron’s remarkable dream to make a difference, and if you ask me, he has.

I may refer to this show as my ‘guilty pleasure,’ but I am not ashamed of it in the slightest. While I occasionally receive some judgment about the matter, I have every right to appreciate the series, as well as Efron himself. Besides, it doesn’t matter what others think, and that goes for any “embarrassing” show.

Most importantly, I know that our earth is in need of saving. The climate is changing, and the process will soon be irreversible. Some might even argue that we are in need of saving; the amount of pain and suffering that pervades our world is enormous. There is much work to be done, but we can do it. We just need change. We must be kind and compassionate. We must be sustainable. We need people who are willing to try new things. We need adventurers who think outside the box.

We need to come down to earth. We need Zac Efron.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Joshua McMullin

This is real?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.