Geeks logo

Harry Potter Changed Me

I needed someone to relate to and that was Harry Potter.

By Jan JasPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

I've always been in love with reading and when my dad passed away when I was seven years old. I thought I lost my love for books until my school counselor helped me she suggested this series to me. She told me it's about a boy who lost his family as well but he has to push those feelings aside to stop the man that murdered his family. I know that is not one of the best summaries of the books but to a seven-year-old, that is a perfect summary for someone to read. I started to read the books and I was addicted to the books. I felt the biggest relation to Harry Potter and I understood the grief and hardships he felt. He lost both of his parents in one life and now is dealing with his aunt and uncle who are unpleasant and abusive.

As I read the books I felt a deep connection and a lot of people know that connection and how it feels too. I started to write stories of me being apart of the series. I also started to roleplay a lot of me being apart of Harry Potter. That is just how big of a fan I really am though I don't want to say what I specifically write about. I can tell you my main character is usually a friend of Harry or if he had an older sister that is who I will write about. I don't believe Harry should have lived with his Aunt and Uncle and Cousin without someone that loved him. The idea of an older sister or a close friend was really the thing that I feel he needed but his friends were there and it was helping him but it wasn't enough.

I not only loved the characters of the book I also loved the idea of the setting. I rather go to wizarding school than to go to regular school I rather have a wand than technology any day. The Hogwarts Houses are amazing; Gryffindor, Hufflepuff, Ravenclaw, and Slytherin. I have tried the Pottermore sorting tests and many other tests and I have been placed in Gryffindor. I still feel like I could be in Slytherin as well because I feel each house describes a person we don't just have one house in us we have all houses in us.

The biggest lesson the books taught me was friendship and love never fails. I had a hard time making friends but as I got older I found an amazing group of friends and that was almost nine years ago. I found my golden trio just like Harry did and I will never lose them and I know I will continue to make more of them. I felt a personal connection to many other characters in the books. Such as for Luna Lovegood, Neville Longbottom, Draco Malfoy, Blaise Zanbini, Fred and George Weasely.

Every one of them I feel had a part that was missing just like me and I can picture them growing stronger and getting better. But If I had to choose my top three it would be Draco, Blaise, and Fred. Draco was misunderstood as he was treated as evil but he was forced to act the way he his father wanted. Blaise has a harsh past he has to protect his sister and his mum. He acts cold but really is there for his friends when they need him. Fred Weasely I feel was the twin that was not as favorited but I feel like he was my main crush of the series more than Draco. He has humor and love just like his family and he's just as brilliant as his brother but he wasn't spoken about as much I feel.

In my ideal fan fiction, I hopefully will start writing there is a love triangle between Fred, my made up character, and Draco. It's a love triangle that can change a lot of people's opinions about Draco Malfoy. I feel J.K. Rowling has created the most amazing book series I have read. She created a world that will never be forgotten and if that world was ever real I would be lucky enough to be apart of it whether I was a witch or a muggle. In my own eyes, I believe I am a witch and even though it seems crazy without Harry Potter I wouldn't be as strong as I am today. So thank you J.K. Rowling you created the most amazing series that has influenced so many people.

review
1

About the Creator

Jan Jas

Hello! I am Jan Jas! I'm a currently a MSW student at UNLV. I have a year and a half left in my masters of social work program and writing allows me to decompress and calm my anxiety. It also allows me to be able to go back to writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.