Geeks logo

Happy Star Wars Day!

A short blog on how I celebrated Star Wars day this year

By Terri AllenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
7

So this year I decided that I wanted to celebrate! So I have this friend who is absolutely obsessed with Star Wars and we were both off work on the 3rd of May (I know that’s the day before May the Fourth be with you but we are adults) so I invited him over to watch the movies. He agreed and little did he know that my “too much gene” was already going haywire.

I wanted this to be the best Star Wars day he will have ever celebrated so I started planning immediately.

I went to loads of different little discount shops to buy stuff like balloons, coloured felt and snacks. This whole two person party took me about a week to organise everything. I had games and everything.

So I found a website that had about sixty quotes from the movies, who said it and in which movie it was said. I thought this would make a perfect game to play in between movies so on one side I wrote the quote and on the back I wrote the character and the movie and the objective of the game was for the other person to guess who said it and when.

We ended up using every single one of the little pieces of cards to quiz each other and to my surprise I actually did better than I thought I would. We both agreed that it was a really fun game and I was glad that he had enjoyed it. I didn’t spend three days with the tips of my fingers black from the gel pen I was using for it to be boring.

I also bought a few packs of blue and red balloons which I half stuck to my ceiling and left the other half just strewn carelessly around the floor of my living room.

My favourite thing that I did was what I did with the felt. I cut out little circles of felt and coloured them in (with great difficulty) to try and make them look like little planets from Star Wars so that I could put them on my wall and make my own little galaxy! I borrowed those little glow in the dark stars from my friend (P.S they no longer glow in the dark so my childhood is a lie) and I dotted the little stars and planets around the wall to make it look more interesting. Then for the final bit of the wall I made little index cards with a bit of information about the planets that I made so that he could read them.

Also with felt I decided to decorate a little glass bowl with a set of eyes and Yoda ears. Then I filled the bowl with green juice. It was very cute. I fully enjoyed setting up the little snack table in my living room.

The whole point of this was just to make sure that my friend had a good day because he had been feeling really sick recently so I wanted to cheer him up and in turn I had a really great day.

I made dinner for us and what can I say he ate everything and went back for seconds. Made the chef in me very happy to see.

Planning a party for two people was very fun and I really enjoyed the whole DIY portion of it and even on the day I was saying to my friend that I would be a great mother when it comes to planning parties.

I think that when you really set your mind to making sure that someone else is going to have a good time it ensures that you have your own sense of enjoyment when you see them actually enjoying the effort you've put in to ensuring it.

A Lot of my enjoyment from Star Wars day didn’t come from watching the movies (don’t get mad at me I still fully enjoyed watching the movies and my friend taught me alot more about the movies then I had previously known) but it came from seeing him playing the little silly games I made and just having dinner in a really cool room.

Not everything in life has to have a huge budget and you can still make a really average day into something really fun and enjoyable.

entertainment
7

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This sounds like an amazing party. I love Star Wars!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This sounds like such a fun day!! The best part is the time spent with your friend and all the memories you'll have for years to come. This put a smile on my face, thank you for sharing :)

  • Wonderful post , though I'm not a Star Wars aficionado , loved this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.