Geeks logo

Gwendoline Christie Seriously Thought She Wasn't Going to Be Captain Phasma in Star Wars 7?

There are still eleven days until Star Wars 7: The Force Awakens hits theaters and I already identify Gwendoline Christie with Captain Phasma as much as I do with Brienne of Tarth from Game of Thrones.

By Jay VergaraPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

There are still eleven days until Star Wars 7: The Force Awakens hits theaters and I already identify Gwendoline Christie with Captain Phasma as much as I do with Brienne of Tarth from Game of Thrones.

But at a Star Wars press event I was lucky enough to attend this past Sunday, the actress herself admitted that there was a brief period of time where she thought landing the role wasn't going to happen.

I remember I was at the season 3 premiere of Game of Thrones in New York and I got call saying, "You've got a meeting." The flight back to London seemed to take about two and a half weeks. I met for [the movie] and quite shortly afterwards I was told that I would be in it. But the filming period with Star Wars was the same filming period as Game of Thrones.

Luckily, both Game of Thrones and Star Wars were pretty accommodating when it came to the actress' schedule, but even with their help she still wasn't confident that she would end up being in the film.

Both Star Wars and Game of Thrones were incredibly generous in helping to facilitate this opportunity. But I did have a series of some weeks where I thought this may not possibly work out and I may have to come to the terms with that fact and be happy that I got the part [even though] I may not be able to do it. And then it did work out! But still, on my first day on set I was still saying, "Is this actually happening?"

It's a shame she didn't get the chance to feel just absolute excitement without any looming thoughts of not being able to be part of something amazing just because of possible scheduling conflicts when she got the initial call. But fortunately, it all worked out for the busy actress' schedule. Obviously, she was absolutely elated that it did work and, to be honest, so am I. It's already hard to fathom any other actress than Christie in the role. I'm more than excited to see what kind of person Captain Phasma is and just to see everyone else in action.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jay Vergara

I'm a SoCal based photographer and freelance writer with a love for everything nerdy.

Follow me on Instagram at Mediumblast and Twitter on @medivmblast

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.