Geeks logo

GOT a Way Out

'Game of Thrones' a Place to Go #VocalGOT

By The Rajah MillaPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like
#VocalGOT

I seriously never saw my life becoming what it had. Anything and everything I ever dreamed or planned was long forgotten memories when Game of Thrones came into my world.

I was fathering my two little boys, one still in diapers and the other not long out. I was also caring for my mother who had been stricken with Multiple Sclerosis.

There was a day when I got a call from a hospital saying my mother was unable to return to her home. A doctor told me she had but six months to live. They intended to place her into an intensive care facility. Not agreeable to my mother living out her final days alone, I made arrangements for her to live with me and my family. I had help, but she was in need of full care. She only retained the use of one arm. I had no idea what I had signed on for.

Then there was a day when I discovered I wasn't just a Dad anymore, rather a single Dad. So eventually came the day I quit my job, being unable to afford or find care for both Mom and Boys. I had to stay home and do it myself.

For what it was, it worked out well. I had doctors and nurses visiting the house daily, as well as caregivers, bathers, and social workers. Yet my days and nights were endless. Mom had to be turned every two hours. Diapers big and small had to be changed. Everybody required three meals a day with snacks in between, and two of those mouths had to be hand fed. Routine, routine, routine, and almost never more than two hours of sleep at a time.

They gave my mother six months to live, every six months, for seven and a half years.

There seemed no reason to dream or imagine anything else. I was locked in. There would be no more adventures. No more excitement. No relationship. I can't say I "didn't have a life." I did. I had so much life. I had new lives growing and flourishing. I had an old life fighting and cherishing. I had life, but I had no way out. I am and have always been grateful for every second of those lives I loved and cared for so much, for so long. I wouldn't trade a minute spent with my mom and boys for anything. Yet there were times I wanted. I wanted a beer. I wanted a friend. I wanted a lover. I wanted.

Then came Game of Thrones. I'm not one for watching TV in most cases. Just too busy. A movie now and then sure, but I was never one for following a show season after season. When Game of Thrones crossed my path all that changed. I entered Westeros and found my way out of my reality and into another. I found adventure and excitement. I found mystery and magic. I had a life within my life.

Magic was reborn into that world and this one when the dragons hatched. Love and desire burned within me once again as Daenerys Targaryen conquered my heart long before she conquered Slaver's Bay.

Tyrion became such a trusted friend that I would find myself asking "What would Tyrion say?"

Cersei taught me so very much. There was no one I disliked in this world more than I disliked Cersei in that one. Yet watching her endure the walk of shame, I learned real compassion.

Jon Snow...

My love for Jon Snow grew and grew until I felt caught in a love triangle with him and Daenerys. I literally felt guilty like I was betraying one or the other. I mean he even died on me! I still don't know if it was Bromance or Romance, but it certainly was something.

I could list every character and find something I learned from them. I could list every scene and recall the emotions felt, but if you've read this far then you already know. You were there too. So I will spare you the complete Game of Thrones synopsis and get down to it. Bran Stark.

My Mother was well known and well liked. You have never met such an optimist as she. The slow gradual loss of her body proved her spirit was true. Even as she declined closer and closer to death, those that knew her still sought out her good-humored company and invaluable wisdom. She loved to laugh. She loved to learn.

Her last fear before that of death itself was losing her eyesight. Her last wish was that the M.S. did not take her eyes as it did her arms and legs. Inevitably the merciless disease attacked her corneas. Her eyesight was rapidly declining. Soon she was doomed to be in total darkness, unable to move.

I did the only thing I could do. I bought her a 60" flatscreen. Rigged it up with voice command remote control and gave her something to see. She did see. She watched the first season of Game of Thrones. Then watched it again, and again. It was all about Bran Stark. "He still has his mind," she would say. "He can still use his mind." She knew what Bran was feeling because she had felt it. She knew Bran's fears because she had already overcome them. She knew what could be for him because she was still fighting and believing in what could be for her.

My Mother was Bran's biggest fan, and she did not get to see past season 2. She lost her battle.

The little things in life can be the biggest. For her, in the end, it was the love that surrounded her. The sound of her grandsons laughing and playing. A loving and attentive son. Chocolate. And Bran Stark, a boy in another world where she GOT out of this one.

We all have lost someone. We all entertain the idea of what we would say if we could see them again. I would want her to know that no burden was lifted. No relief came. Life is much more difficult without her.

I would want her to know that her Grandsons are everything she hoped they would be. Healthy, happy. Good boys that will one day be great men.

I would want her to know that Bran Stark used his mind. Through his mind, he walked as a wolf, flew as a Raven, and walked as Hodor. That he made it beyond the wall and all the way north. He became the Three-Eyed Raven and walked once again through past, present, and future. He became all knowing. He became King.

Because... "He still has his mind."

Thank you, Game of Thrones.

#VocalGot

humanity
Like

About the Creator

The Rajah Milla

I Am a Scribbler.

I Am a Storyteller.

I Am Manifesting!

facebook.com/TheRajahMilla

instagram.com/therajahmilla

twitter.com/TheRajahMilla

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.