Geeks logo

Girl Meets Class Reunion

What happens next

By Sara KrutkePublished 4 years ago 38 min read
1
Girl Meets Class Reunion
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

Girl Meets The Past

Topanga's January 20,2017

When Topanga decided not to take the job and uproot her family, it all had something to do with how she always wished she had a bay window, and the cafe was now her bay window, meaning all the goodbyes were just a way for everyone to say goodbye to each other. Riley, Maya, Farkle, Lucas, Smackle and Zay telling Cory what they have learned about friendship. Seeing as the Matthews are staying in New York, Farkle erases Belgium 1831 from the board. "Things will one day change drastically, just not yet." Farkle thought to himself.

15 years Later

"Maya, where's my tie, I am going to be late for work?" Josh said. Maya was pouring her cup of coffee when Josh started asking her questions. She put the cup down after taking her first sip, and she went straight into the bedroom and showed Josh where the tie was .

"Right where you left it Josh," Maya said. He looked at her lovingly, "I love you Maya you are the greatest" and kissed her softly. She smiled back at him and said "I know." Josh turned around,grabbed the coffee cup Maya just poured for herself from the kitchen counter and said "I love you" while heading out the door.

After Josh left for work, Maya started the laundry then sat down to read the newspaper. On the front cover there was a picture of Brian Hartley shaking hands with a guy while being given some kind of award. She looked closely and read:

LUCAS FRIAR NAMED VETERINARIAN OF THE YEAR.

Lucas Friar

I sat there looking at his picture for what felt like forever. I couldn't believe he was in town and surprised that he didn't even call me. The last time she had seen Lucas, was the day she had tried to tell him about their son Austin.

Maya shrugged the thought off, and turned the page. She stopped and stared at the words in front of her. Staring her right in the face was the answer to how she could see him. The question was, does she really want to see him after 15 years?

The Invitation

After looking at the picture of Lucas Friar for what seemed to be hours, Maya finally got up from the kitchen table, and left the house. She drove into town to pickup some groceries, and grab some lunch. While at the store, she grabbed some apples, and tossed them into the basket.As she looked up, Maya seen someone that was what she thought a figure of her imagination. Riley Matthews was standing not even 50 ft. from where she was looking and she was staring straight back at her.

Maya put back the pears she had just picked up and went running over to her. "Riles!" she said. Maya hugged her for what seemed to be forever, and when she let go, she looked right at her.

"Oh My Gosh Peaches! It's been forever since I've seen you!" They started talking about everything that has happened since the last time they seen each other. "Did you get your invitation to the class reunion Maya?" Riley asked.

"What invitation?" Maya asked.

"U mm the invitation for our class reunion you know it HAS been 15 years since we graduated High School." Riley said.

Hearing those words from Riley reminded her of the reason she left school 15 years ago. Maya's face turned pale and she knew that if she stayed and talked with Riley any longer, she would send her running away again. How can she tell Riley what happened 15 years ago could change their friendship and her marriage forever.

"O-oh y-yeah our fifteen year reunion, has it been that long already?" she stuttered. "Wow where had the time gone?" Maya said.

Just as she turned her head so Riley couldn't see the expression on her face, Maya threw up all over the floor. The thought of telling her secret made her physically ill.

How will Riley react when she finds out about the night in Texas with Lucas? Will she be able to forgive me if she found out about my secret?

Ranger Rick

(Flashback to Texas)

I stared at Lucas for what seemed like forever. Just knowing that he is here with me was enough, but I know I can't let things get out of hand. He leaned in and kissed me and from there all of my thoughts disappeared. His touch was the warmest feeling I have ever felt I mean I never even felt this warm when my mom kisses my forehead in the morning. I broke away and opened my eyes to see he was staring back at me. He cups my face with his hands and kisses me again. This time his hands start caressing the back of my neck causing me to grow hot. I leaned in more towards Lucas wanting him and touching him all over.

"Mmmm God you feel good Maya," Lucas moaned. He started to undress me, kissing me down my neck. I pulled off my shirt, exposing my bare skin to him and watching Lucas as he stared back at me. "What are you looking at Huckleberry?" Maya asked.

"N-nothing!" he stammered. "I just can't believe how gorgeous you are." Lucas said.

He began kissing me again and unhooking my bra letting my breasts go free. He cupped them and as I moaned, he gently put his mouth on my nipple. Just the feeling of how he is sucking on my breast makes me want more of him. I unzip his pants as I feel his hands caress my body.

"Maya, are you sure you want to do this?" Lucas said.

"Lucas, I have wanted this for so long, I mean I couldn't even tell you how long." Maya shuttered.

He began to kiss her again and finished undressing her. He got on top of her and entered her feeling how tight she was. Maya made a hissing noise when she breathed in. "Are you OK Maya?" Lucas asked.

"Yea just start out slow please,"he said. Lucas started slow and then began going faster as it became more pleasurable to her. He thrust deep within her knowing she could feel every inch of him. "oh my god, I'm gonna come!" Lucas says panting heavily. As he fills her full of his hot sweetness, Maya also went with her orgasm causing her to raise her hips and meet his connection.

When he finished, he dropped down on the bed next to Maya breathing heavy and instantly knew that there was something happening between them.

Lucas watched Maya as she fell asleep and he soon fell asleep after that.

Lucas and Maya

PRESENT DAY

"Maya, Maya, are you OK? Snap out of it!" Riley said. She took her hand and waved it in front of Maya's face.

"Huh, what?" Maya says. She looked at at Riley with a dazed look. Riley takes a hold of her hand and leads her to a bench in the near corner in the store. She sat down and tried to focus on what she was saying.

"Peaches you're white as a ghost, what just happened to you?" Riley asked.

Just as Maya was about to answer her, Zay came around the corner with a box of cereal in his hand looking for the milk. He had a child attached to his leg that was screaming at the top of her lungs. Zay stopped where he was, took the child off of his leg, stood her up on her own two feet and said: "STOP!" She stood there sobbing and looking at him as he turned and faced the girls.

"Riley! Maya! How ya doin!" Zay said smiling. They both look at him and then at the girl, and Riley asked "who would this be?" He looked down, at Madison and said "This would be my daughter, Madison. She wanted to make you aware she was here with her loud voice." he said.

Both girls look at Madison and gave her a big smile. "Hello little Miss, how are you?" Maya said.

"Very nice to meet you do you like my dress?" Madison said. Riley jumped up and took her by the hands and said "I LOVE IT!" as she twirled her around.

Both Zay and Maya shook their heads and laughed "Riley you haven't changed have you?" Zay said.

"So Maya, how is Austin doing? I heard he "huh-hurred" his teacher the other day?" Zay said.

"Oh he's getting better at...". then she realized Riley was standing behind her and her face goes pale. Maya turned around slowly and looked at Riley. She was standing there trying to understand what Zay was talking about.

" Uh Madison, I think it'st time to go check out." Zay says. "See you at the class reunion you two" as he hurried out of the aisle. Zay takes her hand and scampers around the corner as Maya watches him with her eyes widened.

"Maya, I didn't know you and Josh had a child?" Riley said. "How come I never knew I had a nephew?" Maya looked at Riley and looked at the floor quickly. She noticed her sudden head movement and asked "Maya, what's going on? Is there something you're not tell..?" Maya couldn't tell her not now not here.

She knew she had to leave before there was a scene. "I'm sorry Riles, I-I can't do this right now." and in that instant Maya bolted out of the store with tears streaming down her face.

Maya ran and ran away from the store leaving her car in the parking lot. She couldn't stop thinking about that night and how it would have destroyed the triangle of friends, how it would destroy years of friendships and what they had and have now. All that ran threw her head was the secret is out and things will never be the same.

Reunion part one

Maya walked half way home, then went back to get her car. She realized that it was Josh's car that she left at the store, and thought to herself he would be really upset if anything happened to it and also why would she leave it there on purpose. She got in and drove home only to find another strange car in her driveway.

"I wonder who he brought home with him," Maya said to herself. She got out of the car and walked to the door.

She was about to open it, when Austin came out to greet her. "Mom can I help with the groceries?" He ran down the steps, hugged his mom and went to the car as Maya went into the house.

"Mom can I help with the groceries?" He ran down the steps, hugged his mom and went to the car as Maya went into the house

Austin

(Maya's POV)

I threw the keys on the counter, and started putting some groceries away. Then I hung my dress on the back of the door so it was ready for me to put on later that evening. I really wasn't paying attention to anything around me because I jumped out of my skin when Holly came in behind me and grabbed onto my leg.

Holly

" Hi mommy, did you see my new toy I got today?" she said. I turned around to see the horse she was playing with.

"Wow baby that is awesome, did daddy give that to you?"

"No mommy it wasn't daddy, it was daddy's friend!" Holly said. My blood ran cold thinking that "friend" could be no more than Charlotte- his long term friend from college.

"Where is daddy's FRIEND now sweetheart?" Maya says trying to keep her cool

"Follow me mommy." Holly says as she leads her into the bedroom. Maya's blood was boiling as she reached the door to her bedroom. The only thought in her head was "That fucking asshole brought that skank into our room and and what fucked her???"

No I have to stay calm if not for me, for Holly and Austin. I opened the door, and walked in and I found the worst nightmare possible.

Maya opened the door, and she just stopped dead in her tracks. What she thought she would find was not staring her in the face, it was worse than that. She seen her past flash before her eyes.

"See mommy like I said, daddy and his friend are in the bedroom together." Holly said. She grabbed Maya's hand and dragged her in behind her pointing her finger at Josh and Lucas.

Maya lets out a huge sigh and laughs. Josh and Lucas both turn to see Maya standing in the door. "Hey there's my gorgeous wife," Josh says. He gets up from the bed and walks over to her and kisses her on the cheek.

Lucas stands up, puts down his beer, and walks towards Maya. He had the same look in his eyes when she last seen him. "It's been a long time Maya," Lucas says. "How long has it been now?" He continues.

Before she could answer, a familiar voice from behind her says "15 years and 6 months."

Austin

Reunion Part Two

Everyone turns and looks back through the doorway. There standing with his arms folded was Austin staring Lucas down like he was the worst thing on the planet.

(Austin's POV)

How dare he come into this house and try to seduce my mother. Doesn't he know she's happily married? Hasn't he done enough to my mother in the past?

These were the first words that popped into my head when I seen this guy standing so close to my mother. I stood there looking him up and down expecting him to make some kind of move. I clench my fist just waiting for the right moment to pounce, when I hear Holly come over by me.

" Austin, can we go outside and play catch in the backyard?" she said.

I look at my sister and think about how lucky that guy got off. "sure short-stack let's go." I turn to head out the door, and the strange guy looks at me. "Hey kid, where did you hear that phrase from?" he says. This makes me stop and clench my teeth together. " What's it to you Huckleberry?" I say.

With a pissed off face, the guy drops his smile, and stares me in the face and says "WHAT DID YOU JUST SAY TO ME?"

As I hear these words,I feel a tug on my shirt, knowing that Holly is watching this whole thing go down. Just as I was about to answer him, mom steps in and stops me.

"OK you two Austin please take Holly outside, and Lucas, please just let this go and head out to the living room.We can talk much more easier if we are all comfortable sitting in chairs instead of standing in a bedroom." Mom said.

"But mom how can you let him stay in this house knowing the history you two have together?" I say.

I looked at mom knowingly for minutes then when she didn't say anything, I replied "Fine I get that you love Josh, but I will be fucking dammed if I will sit here and let this guy take his place. I love Josh as if he were my own father."

Before mom could say anything, i seen her bolt to the bathroom for what felt like an eternity. When she felt better, mom came out and seen that everyone went to the living room. "Are you ok mom?" I asked. She nodded at me and headed into the next room.

(Maya's POV)

I couldn't believe he just put me out there like that. I tried to stay as calm as I could but the words he used hurt deeply. My face went pale when he called me out on the whole situation. How did he know Josh wasn't his father? Did he find his birth certificate? Most importantly, who else knew?

I looked around the room at everyone and as I feared, they were all looking back at me with their mouths wide open. I felt the anger in his words as I tried to keep the peace between everyone and it almost worked until those dreadful sounds:

" WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOUR NOT MY SON"Josh said.

"MAYA? WHAT THE FUCK IS HE TALKING ABOUT?"

I heard the words screaming in my mind as I looked at Josh with tears in my eyes. All I could do was stand there and hear him ask the one dreadful sentence everyone waited for the answer for and I was the only one that could answer it.

"I can explain Josh really," Maya said. I could see the anger in his eyes as I sat down and tried to find the words. He waited for me to say more and at the same time, watched Austin as he was trying to keep Holly from getting upset by all of the yelling.

(Narrator's POV)

(At this point of the story, everyone goes out to the living room, while Holly goes over to see Madison for her birthday party. We pick up back in the house where there is a discussion in the living room.)

(Maya's POV)

"Ok back in High School, do you remember when we went on the camping trip down to Texas by Lucas' grand pappy? "That was when Riley and I entered him into the Mutton Busting and later found out it was our favorite Bull instead?" she started.

"Remember Huckleberry, when you thought Riley wanted to be just your "sister" instead of more and that confused you?" Maya went on.

"yea but what does this have to do with.... " Josh started to say.

"Just a minute Josh, and I'll explain." Maya said.

"When I thought you were going to get seriously hurt Lucas, I didn't want to wait around to find out so I left. But Riley stayed and watched." she continued. I thought you were doing it just because you had something to prove to yourself and everyone else.But I later found out it was more of an eye opener for me." Maya said.

Lucas is now thinking back to the competition, and the campfire and everything that happened there. His face went white and Josh finally understood when he looked at him.

"NO!" is all you heard throughout the room.

Everyone turned around to see Riley standing in the doorway with the same look on her face as Lucas.

Riley

Revelation

"Riles, how long have you been standing there?" Maya said quietly.

Riley looked at Maya and then at Lucas for what seemed like an eternity. She couldn't believe what she heard and knowing that there was a possible past between them, didn't make things any better.

Riley broke out of her trance and said "Are you ready to go Peaches, the reunion is going to be starting at seven. I want to get there so we can make sure Missy doesn't spike the punch."

The look on her face sent chills down her spine. If she was standing there when I told Lucas about everything, god only knows what she might do or say.

"Riley, are you ok?" Maya said. Riley turns, walks towards the door, and looks back at both Lucas and Maya.

"Why wouldn't I be Peaches, I mean there is absolutely nothing in the world that could come between me and my best friends right?" Riley looked on with tears streaming down her face.

"Have you been honest with me all this time?" Riley said.

Lucas looked at Riley, and then at Austin. He was also looking at Riley as to say what is your thought on what you just heard.

"That is a very interesting question how long HAVE you been honest?" Josh asked.

Maya quickly looked back towards Josh and tried to figure out how to answer him.

Flashback

Maya sat in the bathroom for some time after vomiting. She couldn't bring herself to go out and face everyone yet knowing things were about to become real any minute now. She opened the cabinet door, and grabbed the pregnancy test that was in there and opened the box. She looked at it for a second and remembered the last time she took one of those.

"Josh was so happy then," she thought to herself. Now she sat there and prayed that the test was negative knowing that if it were anything else, many questions would come up as to her where about's the night of Missy's party.

"Three minutes- such a long time to wait until I know." Maya thought.

She sat there for the next three minutes remembering the night of Missy's party. She couldn't believe how angry she was and what stupid things she did at the expense of finding Josh with that blonde bitch in their bed, causing her to end up in bed with the last person she ever thought possible.

She shook her head out of those horrid thoughts to find that it was time to see the results. She turned the test over.... "Oh MY GOD!" is all that she could come up with as she put the positive test in the trash and walked out.

End of flashback

Just as she came up with an answer, Riley spoke up and said "Josh it doesn't matter anymore, we have a reunion to get ready for. Come on Maya, let's go get your dress on."

"Hey guys, we'll meet you at the dance since you also have to get ready." Riley said. Everyone left the room and went to get ready for what was said to be the most unforgettable night yet.

Maya sat back on the bed and realized that tonight everyone will know the truth. She picked up the phone and dialed the one person she knew that could help her.

" Matthews, I need your help." Maya said as she went out the door.

Everyone at the Reunion

New Found Knowledge

Riley tried to put what she heard out of her mind when she walked out of Maya's and Josh's house. She knew there was a big secret, but what she learned, Riley was not prepared for. She got into her car and left for the reunion.

When she got there, she got out of her car and looked around. She couldn't believe that John Abigail Adams High was still standing. She walked towards the door and was met by none other than Johnathan Turner.

As Riley walked towards Johnathan, he could see the two shadows that came in with her. He stood there looking at the two shadows with a big smile on his face.

"Hunter, Matthews! Nice to see you back at school after all this time." John said.

Shawn hugged Turner first and turned to Cory. "I wish I could say the same Mr. Turner," Cory said. Just as he was about to ask why, Maya walked through the door and looked at Riley, and then at Zay.

Me, Riley and Zay

Maya walked over to where everyone was standing, and as she did she became sick to her stomach. She knew that whatever was going to happen in the next few seconds of her life would impact everything she had worked on to keep quiet. She walked straight up to Austin and Riley and looked at both of them.

Knowing what lied ahead, Maya inched her way over to Austin and Riley thinking about how freaked out everyone was going to be. She knew that the secret of Austin was about to come out and everyone would know the truth.

"Hey Maya, you finally got here, "now you can tell everyone here how YOU DESTROYED MY LIFE!" Riley exclaimed as she finished her eighth glass of champagne.

Maya just stood there looking at her son, then to Riley and finally looked around the room at everyone else. She knew the time had come that everyone would know about Austin but she just couldn't bring herself to say anything.

"Matthews, do you know anything about this?" Turner said. Cory shook his head and turned back to look at Maya.

"Yes Maya, please tell everyone how you not only destroyed one life, but the lives of everyone around you." Riley continued.

With tears streaming down her face, Maya looked around at everyone there .

"Riles, I'm" she began just as Riley threw the last of her champagne in her face.

"YOU'RE WHAT? SORRY? NO YOU HAVEN'T BEEN SORRY ONCE IN YOUR LIFE." Riley said.

"IF YOU WERE REALLY SORRY YOU WOULD HAVE TOLD JOSH ABOUT AUSTIN WHEN YOU FOUND OUT HE WASN'T HIS AND NOT LET HIM BELIEVE THAT HE WAS HIS FATHER FOR THE LAST FIFTEEN YEARS! HOW CAN YOU GO ON LIVING THIS LIE? HOW CAN YOU BE MARRIED TO MY UNCLE KNOWING AUSTIN IS NOT HIS CHILD!" Riley screamed at her.

Josh stepped in at this point and looked at Riley. "Hold up what do you mean I'm not his father why does everyone keep saying that! HE IS MY SON, MAYA TELL THEM!" Josh yelled.

He turned to look at Maya and he stood there confused. "Maya - TELL THEM!" Josh said. Maya looked away to the floor and Josh stood there staring at her.

"Josh, I can explain, Maya started. He looked at her with confusion as to why she wasn't saying anything. He knew that Austin was his son, and that Maya had to set things straight.

"Back when we went to Texas, Lucas and I, "she stammered. "Well we were the last ones by the campfire and we kinda let things go too far," Maya said.

Lucas heard what she said, and fell back into the chair behind him. "OMG!" he began as he let the puzzle come together. Everyone stared at Lucas as he began to remember what happened in Texas 16 years ago.

Everyone stared at Lucas as he began to think back to the night in question.

How could he have forgotten about the heated discussion they had after everyone went back to the cabin leaving him and Maya to tend to the fire. He stared at Maya for what seemed to be hours, trying to find the words to explain what happened back on that heated Texas night.....

Texas flashback

Lucas and Maya sat around the campfire looking at the embers as they burned slowly in the night sky. He tried to find the words to tell her how he felt, but there were none that came to mind. Knowing that he had to choose between her and Riley didn't make it any better, but then he thought back to what Riley said as soon as she entered the cabin.

"You're my brother Lucas and I'm your sister."

He sat there for a long time just thinking about those words. How can she put their relationship on the back burner like that? Just hearing those words come out of her mouth made him angry and confused.

"Hey you ok?" Maya asked him bringing him out of his deep thought.

"Yea, I-I was just thinking about something, sorry," Lucas stammered.

"Anyways, you were saying?" he replied.

Maya looked at him with a blank stare on her face. Do I tell him how I feel or do I leave things alone? She started fidgeting with the stick in her hands, and as she twirled it around, it fell on the ground right in front of her. Lucas seen the stick drop and bent down to pick it up at the same time as Maya causing them to bump heads.

" Ow!" they both said at the same time. Maya grabbed her stick as they both sat back on the log quickly grabbing a glance at Lucas. Both of their eyes met and they sat there like what seemed to be forever, and then he kissed her. That was the last wonderful thought that crossed his mind about that night.

Two weeks later.....

Lucas walked to his locker and dropped off his bag. He looked down the hall to see if Maya had shown up yet, and as he did, Missy came up behind him and covered his eyes.

"Hey Missy, how are you? he asked.

" I'm great now that I'm with you Lucas," Missy exclaimed. As he turned to leave, she kissed him deeply making sure everyone seen it.. including Maya.

Maya sat watching as Missy took the one thing away from her and their child - their family.

End of Flashback

"Now I understand why you never said anything," Lucas said." Maya looked at Lucas sympathetically.

Austin went up to his mother and asked,"One question remains, why didn't you ever tell me after all these years mom, why did you let me believe Josh was my father?"

"That's one question I would like to know Maya," Josh stated as he walked up to her.

All Maya could do was stare at both of them.

Unexpected News

(Narrator's POV )

Maya stood there looking at the two of them for what seemed to be more than a few minutes. She didn't know exactly how to explain any of this not to mention to the both of them.

"Well mom, We're waiting." Austin said. Maya looked one more time as they grew more and more anxious.

"Josh, I... I'm sorry!" Maya replied.

Josh just stood there and looked at her like she was someone he never met before. How could she not say anything until now? he wondered. He stood up and walked towards the gym doors to leave.

"Wait Josh," Cory replied.

He stopped right at the entrance to the door and looked back.

"Why should I wait Cory, she destroyed what was meant to be a beautiful family, I mean what more can she possibly say to me that would change any of this now?"

Cory looked at Maya as to say you better tell him now.

"Josh," she began. "There are so many things we have to talk about and I know you are going to be very upset at some of these but you need to know." He started to turn around and walk out the door one more time.

"I'm pregnant," she yelled. He stopped dead in his tracks and turned around. There was a loud gasp from everyone in the gym as he looked at her with a shocked expression.

"Are you sure it's mine Maya, or is it Lucas'?" Josh yelled.

Riley shot Lucas a look as to say you better not have. He put his hands up and said " I didn't touch her I swear!"

Maya looked shockingly at Josh as Cory defended her. "Josh, as much as you are hearing right now to doubt that this child is not yours, what would the possibility be that this child is yours?" Cory asked.Josh thought for a moment about what Cory was telling him. He remembered the last time he and Maya slept together and started to understand what she was trying to say.

"You're right Cory," Josh said. He walked over to Maya and took her face in his hands. A big smile crossed his face as to say he was accepting the news about this child. Maya looked at him waiting for some kind of explanation as to why he became happy again.

" S-so are y-you happy with the news?" Maya asked cautiously.

Everyone became quiet and looked at Josh with some curiosity. He turned to Maya after looking at Austin and smiled. "Of course I'm happy Maya, why wouldn't I be? I mean this is a child that we created TOGETHER remember?" Josh said. Maya smiles sheepishly at Josh and then looks around. Everyone was waiting for her answer the question asked as Riley spoke up in Maya's defense.

"Of COURSE Makaya is pregnant by uncle Joshie I mean who else would be in her bed smelling her hair?" Riley asked while tipping her flute for more punch. Farkle came up beside Riley and helped her back to the table to sit down. She started playing with the ribbons on the table which gave Farkle the chance to take away the glass of champagne.

Maya turned her attention back to Josh. He looked at her expecting to hear the answer he knew was true in his heart. (Of course the baby is yours) is what was supposed to come out of her mouth. All she did was stand there and stare at him.

"Tell him mom," Austin said. He stood there waiting for her to speak but just before she could answer him, Maya passed out into his arms.

A surprise around every corner

All she could think about while laying on the floor of John Quincy Adams High School gym, was how much of a mess she had made of everyone's life. Maya listened to everyone around her frantically calling out her name as she tried to open her eyes....

"Maya. you have to wake up," Josh said. As the paramedics came into the gym, the people gathering around Maya began to break apart to let them near her.

"Is my mother going to be OK?" Austin asked. He looked down at her worried knowing that he helped put her where she was right that second.

"We won't know anything until we can get her to the hospital for further testing." the paramedic said.

Josh looked worried as the paramedics lifted Maya up onto the gurney and rolled her out the doors of the high school. What if this was the last time he talked to her? There were so many unanswered questions he needed answers to and he knew she was the only one that could provide them. Josh first looked at Corey, then at Shawn trying to figure out what to do next. He knew she was unfaithful and that he shouldn't be with her anymore. So what was it that he was feeling as they took her out of the room?

Riley walked over to her uncle and put a gentle hand on his shoulder.

"Uncle Josh, I know Maya has put you through a lot in the last few months, and I know you are unsure where to turn right now, but don't you think now is a good time to call a truce at least until we find out how she's doing?"

Josh looked at Riley then turned to Austin. He was trying to find the words to let Riley know everything was going to be OK, but he just couldn't seem to find them.

Riley stood there looking at the doors that Maya was wheeled through. She wanted to be so angry at her, but she couldn't. It was the best friend ring power connection that kept her in the worry state and not blowing up at empty air.

" Lucas, we have to get to the hospital we have to make sure she's OK!" Riley said.

He sat there looked at Riley, and then at the floor. He knew what had happened between him and Maya was going to produce a horrible ripple in the universe when it came to telling the events of what happened. All he knew at this point was Maya's life hung in the balance, and he couldn't stop thinking about her.

"Whats wrong with me?" he thought. "Why do I care so much if she is in this mess, I mean she didn't tell me about Austin, so why should I care if she passed out or not?"

Before he could process the thoughts going through his head, he heard Josh yelling from behind. Riley was trying to push Josh through the doors to go to the hospital by Maya.

"Uncle Josh, You have to go check on her, She is your WIFE!" Riley exclaimed loudly.

He tried to ignore her while he stopped and went to the table and took a drink of the spiked punch that was on the table by the wall. All he wanted to do was figure things out. What he was going to do, where he was going, where he even belonged. How everything was going to screw up what he had with Holly and Austin, and now this new baby. With every thought, he took a drink, and before everyone realized he was toasted.

Josh turned to Riley right before she walked away from him, put his cup down and said: "I KNOW she's my wife, but the question to you is was she ACTING like that when she was sleeping with YOUR husband!"

Lucas froze as he watched Riley's reaction. Her expression on her face became angry as he walked towards her. With that, she stumbled past Corey and out the gym doors, leaving everyone wonder what to do next.

Miracles Do Happen

Josh rushed through the hospital doors and headed straight to the registration desk. He was beginning to feel bad for what he had put Maya through and just thinking about the last words he even said to her made him feel worthless.

" Hellooo, is anyone here?" Josh yelled as he slammed on the bell.

The worst possible thoughts went through his mind. (What if she is laying in the back somewhere dying knowing that the last words he said to her were the single most destructive thing he has ever said to her? )

"Calm down young man," the nurse said as she emerged from the back.

"But you don't understand, I need to find out if my wife and baby are OK, I mean , they were just brought in here not even 2 minutes ago." Josh exclaimed.

"OK, OK sir let's start at the beginning, what's her name?" the nurse asked.

Josh couldn't remember anything about Maya at that moment in time. All he knew was she was somewhere in the back of this vicinity and he couldn't get to her

"Sir, I need to know her name," the nurse told Josh. She continued to try and talk to him as he tried to look past her hoping to see Maya in the doorway. All he could think about was this was his fault she shouldn't be laying on the gurney she should be at the High School in the gym dancing with everyone.

Josh kept on looking behind the nurse hoping she would come past. " I- I don't kn..now ," he stammered.

"Then I am going to ask that you have a seat over there while you remember her name." The nurse continued. Just as he was about to walk over to the waiting area, the gurney with Maya went through the door.

"THAT'S HER!" Josh exclaimed. He took off running through the doors after Maya.

Forever Yours

"I am worried about Maya, but I can't go see her," Lucas thought to himself.

"What if everyone finds out Maya is carrying my baby again? WHAT IF RILEY FINDS OUT?"

The words just swam through my head as I stood watching the whole night turn into one big mess. The scene keeps replaying in his head as if it is still happening......

(flashback)

Everyone still standing in the middle of the gym just forgot the whole reason they came to this dance. Maya walks in and turns everyone's world upside down, and for what? I mean so what if she has made mistakes, or that we made them together? What about the fact that Riley and Josh have been doing the exact same thing as Maya and I yet all I know is ...

(end of flashback)

"MAYA AND I SLEPT TOGETHER!" "THERE I FINALLY SAID IT"

I open my eyes to see everyone standing there looking at me. Riley's face and Farkles jaw drops, and then Josh with his fiery eyes looking right through me. Josh retaliates and goes after Lucas, putting his hands around his neck. He wants to shake the life that he thinks he has with Maya out of him, making her only his and not Lucas'. Lucas manages to squeak out the final words that put the nail into Josh's coffin:

" I LOVE HER, I ALWAYS HAVE SHE IS MY SOULMATE AND THAT IS NEVER GONNA CHANGE NO MATTER IF I'M IN TEXAS OR SHE RUNS TO NEW YORK EVEN IF WE MAKE THE SAME MISTAKES AND MARRY SOMEONE ELSE WE ARE MEANT TO BE AND I'M ALWAYS GOING TO LOVE ALL MY CHILDREN AUSTIN WAS MY FIRST BORN, THEN HOLLY AND FINALLY OUR SON MASON WHOM I STILL HAVE TO MEET!"

Josh stops and hears the words as he spits them out one after another. His face turns white, and he sits on the floor in shock. How could he say such a thing about his kids? The were HIS kids- he raised them, he loved them like his own but finds out - Josh still in disbelief, looks at Riley and then at Corey.

Josh stands up and walks out of the room.

The End?

He knew Lucas meant it- every single word spoken but Josh just didn't WANT to believe it. As he walked down the street, he suddenly started remembering how he and Maya had gotten together in the first place. He sat on the park bench and remembered how it all began...

(flashback: Josh's POV )

I heard Riley and Maya coming down the hall talking about their classes from the morning rush. All I could think about was how cute Maya looked in her outfit, and how her hair flows in the wind when she walks. It wasn't that long ago when I thought she was too young for me and now- now she is just- perfect. I was about to get up and say hello when I stopped in mid-step and watched as Lucas Friar walked up to Riley and kissed her in front Maya. I could still see the pain on her face each time he does it and I knew something had to be done.

I thought that he was such an asshole - I mean how can anyone be so callous as to sit there and kiss another girl in front of someone that has a crush on them let alone the other girl is the best friend. I had enough of the scene being played out so I did something about it. I got up, and walked over to Maya and put my arm around her.

" Hey guys," Josh started. He stared for a second at the two lovebirds in front of him then at Maya. She was about to walk away when he grabbed her pulled her into him and kissed her. He didn't care who was watching or what they thought. This broke the connection between Lucas and Riley as they stared at him in shock. Lucas looked at Josh with discontent and then suddenly hid it knowing Riley was standing right there.

Josh and Maya broke apart and looked at Lucas and Riley. "Hey, sorry about that guys, I just seen her standing here and I had to say good morning- especially after last night, " Josh fibbed. He knew that would cause problems but he had to show Riley what Lucas has been hiding.

"Wait, h-how d-did," she stuttered.Maya's face turned pure white and she looked at Riley.

Lucas and Riley looked at each other then back to Maya. "What DID happen last night Maya?" Lucas asked.

Maya quickly looked away and then to Josh who was standing there dumbfounded.

"I- uh thought you would have told Riley." he said looking to the ground embarrassed. Riley looked back and forth between Maya and Josh who were trading weird-ass looks. She picked up on what they were doing, and suddenly without thinking said: " OH MY GOD YOU TWO HAD SEX!"

Josh shot Maya a look then started to explain. " Well, what I meant was,-" he began. Lucas just stood there impatiently waiting for an answer. Maya seen how jealous he was getting, but she still held her composure and smiled at all of them.

"No Riley, Josh and I did not sleep together last night, he just came over to help me sleep since I was up worried about the Math test we had this morning." Maya said.

Lucas exhaled silently and looked at Riley and smiled.

" We - (Maya took Josh's hand) Are still playing the long game." she continued. Josh looked over at Maya and smiled. He knew she was worth the wait and he was willing to wait forever if he had to.

"Only one year to go," he thought to himself as he hugged Maya goodbye and left for class.

THE END

SO? Is this the end?Will Maya be with Lucas or will Maya and Josh FINALLY be together? You decide!!!!

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Sara Krutke

love writing have time on my hands right now and need a vacation from my life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.