Geeks logo

'Game of Thrones' Review

How season 8 could've been better

By Katherine M.Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Game of Thrones was a show that I didn’t expect to like at all. I know a bunch of people in my life who fell in love with the show, and I just didn’t think that it was for me. But my husband loved the show and he wanted to rewatch the whole series before the final season came out, which we had to wait over a year for it to premiere. So, he got me to watch it with him and to be honest, I ended up liking it a lot more than I expected to.

Now, one thing that I didn’t really like much was the ending and I know that I am not the only one. The ending didn’t have the wow factor that everyone thought of it to have and there are petitions and everything for it to be remade. But they were only given six episodes and there was only so much that they could do with six episodes. If they had 10 episodes, like most of the seasons had, then I believe that there would’ve had a much better ending to it and more people would’ve been satisfied.

One thing that really made me sad was the fact that Jon ended up killing Daenerys because of being afraid of what else that she was going to do. Daenerys really starte to become very brutal in the way she was taking over cities. Before when she had men and other people killed, she was praised for it because they believed that what she did was for the people and they were willing to except her as their queen. But Daenerys did go to far when it came to King’s Landing and destroying it so much, killing so many people. I mean, she had gone through so much since two of her dragons were killed and her best friend Missandei was literally executed right in front of her if she didn’t surrender. But to go ahead and practically slaughter a whole city full of incident people was too much. Many people believed that she was doing good when she helped the North defeat the white walkers which resulted in Daenerys losing Jorah who she trusted more than everyone. But she did whatever it took to become queen and she ended up being killed for it. Even though I do understand that there was no other way to end her reign since she worked so hard and she wasn’t going to give it up no matter what.

Another thing that I didn’t like was how Cersei was killed. I’m sure that many people expected her to die actually at the hands of Daenerys, being executed just like the way Missandei was. But Cersei ended up being killed after being crushed to death as the castle was beginning to fall apart, with Jaime holding her. I believed along with so many others that she deserved a much crueler ending since the fact of how cruel she was and the cruel things she have done to get rid of people. Just how Joffrey was brutally murdered with poison which is what I thought was amazing since he definitely deserved it. Even more so of Ramsay when he was eaten by his own dogs. Something like that would’ve been suffice for Cersei to die.

Then there was the fact that Bran became king of Westeros. It was crazy since so many people believed that Jon was going to be the king since he actually was the heir to the iron throne. But instead, Bran ended up becoming king and not only did he become king. But he allowed the North to be a separate kingdom from all the rest due to Sansa’s request and she ended up becoming the queen of the North. She always wanted to become queen and she finally fulfilled that dream, which is something that I liked. But I was hoping that Jon would be king of all the kingdoms. Instead, he ended up being back at Castle Black to a part of the Night’s Watch and ended up taking the Wildlings back home. Which everyone assumed that he would end up being the king beyond the wall.

I mean, the ending was good in a sense that there was some sort of happiness for some of the people in Westeros. But I feel like there should’ve been more to the ending of the series and I know that there are a lot of people who also think that way as well.

There should’ve been more to season eight, but sadly what we saw is what we received and there is nothing that we can do about it. The only thing that I believe that we can do is to wait for the prequel which is going to be about the Targaryen family and hope that it has what it takes to be like the original Game of Thrones.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Katherine M.

I love to write, I have many stories that are in progress, even though I haven't really finished anything of them yet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.