Geeks logo

Fox Catcher

Digital Drawing

By Gabreil ChilsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Fox Dream Catcher

Hi! Gabby here. I use the free software krita on my computer to draw. I used to draw on paper but got a kamvas 13 pro tablet last Christmas and have used that ever since. I really enjoy it and my drawings have improved so much! I used to struggle a lot with colors. I could draw but the colors just ruined it. Now I can shade and color without worrying about ruining the picture. I have learned so much from my tablet. A while ago my computer broke so i was unable to draw on my tablet. Similar to writers itch, I needed to draw so I went back to paper and pencil for a while. I found that even my drawings on paper greatly improved because of the experience I have with digital drawing. I am still learning with the software but with what I do know has improved my skills.

This piece is the start of a series I would like to do called the Catcher series. I am currently working on a Jelly Catcher. I really love foxes and thought it would look cool to have the neon colors on a dream catcher. I love it so much I have decided to do other animals on dream catchers. That's why it will be called the Catcher series.

The fox is made up of darker, more dull colors with brighter colors on top. the brighter colors are brushed in a way to make the fur. And even farther on top of that are a few defining features made with neon colors. The eyes are a ice blue without a pupil because you cant have a neon rainbow fox without normal eyes! Also it was like the only color I hadn't used on the entire thing yet. There is no shading on the fox as I usually do because i felt as tho it took away from the neon colors. I tried it many ways but it just didn't look right. Maybe it is only something i must work on but i think it looks good without.

The dream catchers colors were a happy accident and one that I intend on using in all of the Catcher series. Tho the colors may change, the style will not. The colors are clusters on the lines of the catcher in a random way. Though there is no pattern I still make sure to include all colors appropriate throughout. Out of everything, I found that the feathers were the hardest thing. And those also were a happy accident. I tried a new brush, without it the feathers wouldn't have looked right. The second time doing this wasn't so hard, but the first was trial and error. Again with the feathers, the colors may change but the style will not. There will always be seven feathers with color correspondence to the catcher.

This piece wasn't to terribly hard, but I did put a lot of time and effort into it. It is a rather simple concept with a cool twist put into it. I hope to do many more. As I said before I am working on the Jelly Catcher right now, but I have a special one in mind after that.

I mostly do animals or characters, not many people as I am not good at drawing people. Practice makes perfect however! I like to draw horses or mlp characters especially. I recently tried to draw one of my leopard geckos which was a completely new concept for me. I also need to work on landscapes, mostly just need but more time and detail into those. Anyway hope you all like it, and look for more in the future! If anyone has any suggestions let me know!

art
1

About the Creator

Gabreil Chilson

Merry met! I love being in nature, writing, reading, drawing and running. I love animals especially Horses, Lizards, Foxes and Cats. I am a proud Kemetic Wiccan. Tho I am only a baby Lunar Sea Witch. Excited to show my work! Blessed be!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.