Geeks logo

Fortnite: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly.

My review.

By Steven MoonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Fortnite, one of the most played games in the whole entire world, aimed mostly at wee kids, or unless you're a streamer. Not like there's anything wrong for fully grown adults playing it. As after all, I'm 28 years old. Ok now what is good about the game? The main good thing about the game is the wide selection of firearms, ranging from carbine, snipers, shotguns, assault rifles, handguns, rocket launchers and ect. There's a wide range of costumes you can dress your characters. The costumes are very wide range of colours, although you will need a lot of V Bucks (game currency) and even then that isn't that cheap. The other thing to say is how simple it is to play whilst destroying other players and no I'm not a pro, just a semi professional if you will. I can quite honestly sink a lot of hours into the game, if I so chose to because it is a lot of fun still, after the constant updates ever since it first launched. I honestly didn't see the appeal back then.

Ok now the bad, it feels a bit too cartoonish for my likings, it doesn't mean I would stop playing the game, no. On the contrary, I would only play that once in a while. Yes, I know it's some what of a low hanging fruit on my end, I won't deny that one. The other main thing I find what is wrong with the actual game is how they constantly bring in crossover characters, just to appeal to everyone, let alone towards kids there's days. They could just as easily created a lot of new characters, just like a lot of other games that are popular. Although I hope they don't go and ruin the game by doing so, unlike a few other games. 

Now the ugly. No I'm not exactly doing The Good, The Bad And The Ugly here, I just wanted to use it as maybe a new format. I'd say one of the most ugliest thing I can think of is how ridiculously overhyped the game is and the over exaggerated appeal. Whilst sure, there is nothing wrong with popularity in general, it is how people associate certain dance moves, you know the ones ranging from Usain Bolt: Picture gallery: Can you strike the legendary Usain Bolt pose? | Hereford Times Dabbing is another one they associate with the game, when it's been invented two years prior. Here's a link for proof: The Dab | Know Your Meme This isn't the worst thing about it to be honest. The worst thing is more or less an online problem with how people do the Halo jump just to avoid getting shot gunned to death. Just aim for my head like a normal person man. There's a good reason why people don't have to try and jump well above 8ft and shotgun someone trying to emulate the strategy, it doesn't do you any favours as such, unless it's obviously Halo. 

My conclusion is that it is well like I said a fun game to play. It would keep your wee ones busy, well maybe for a while. Expect to sink a lot of cash to buy V bucks for skins and ect. Oh and knowing your luck sinking cash for streamers and other popular people associated with the game. I still expect the game to last for maybe a few more years unless the new called Rumbleverse. I'd write  a review on this game when I know more about it. So far it's basically Friday Night on Raw met DC Comics and some other crazy stuff. Now that is something that is at least somewhat of a fresh idea that I'd invest my time into playing.

gaming
Like

About the Creator

Steven Moon

I write game and film reviews mostly. My other main thing(s) I want to do is talk about history and motorsport, but mostly Formula One.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.