Geeks logo

FLICK that!

The Strange Catalog Ep.1

By Tripp Any WherePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
FLICK that!
Photo by Corina Rainer on Unsplash

How funny is this CHALLENGE to me? Go ahead, ask me?

Movie referrals?? Really? My entire life is a MOVIE REFERRAL.

This was IRRESISTIBLE. I don’t believe in COINCIDENCES....

This is another pivotal point in my life that actually made me do a “double-take”, pun intended. A Flashback of roaming the Blockbuster aisles replay in my mind.

If you don't remember Blockbuster Video, before DVD’s, I’m Sorry!.

It was the best of times my friend. Something about pulling up to that giant, glowing, blue block-top with bright yellow letters did something to me. It lit a fire deep inside of me! I lost myself drifting from genre to genre, shelf by shelf, scavenging through old and new releases.

Blockbuster was as popular as saying “da bomb”!

I still hear middle-aged women say “that’s da bomb”!

My mom is one of them and it’s painfully cute on a cringe-worthy level.

Through the years of movie changes I ended up storing a couple movies in the “wtf??........ that was odd” section. So traveling on some of my many endeavors people would say….

“Have you ever seen….blah,blah,blah”?

I normally respond…. “Yes” or “No” quickly followed with "I have! Have you seen...yadda, yadda”..? Or "I don't think so, but have you seen...yadda, yadda, blah”?

My mind immediately relating the main actor to my rolla-flick memory and the strangest movie starring them, I hit them with my “unusual catalog” question. This happens more than you could imagine.

I have 1 movie in particular that pops up like a soldier at least every other year. I’ll set the scene:

I was sitting on my sofa with a visiting neighbor when she looked at me and said…”You’ve seen Fight Club haven’t you”?......”with Edward Nortan?”, she continued.

“Oh Yeah”... I said matter-of-factually.

“Everyone has”..I thought to myself.

Now’s my chance...

Have you EVER seen DEATH to SMOOCHY?”, I belted excitedly!

It was always so rare for anyone to say they have watched it too, because it’s a strange film, to say the least. It has a deeper, darker humor to it.

However, it did come up a lot because as we know, Edward Norton is kind of relevant in the movie scene.

Let’s see we have :

“American History X”, “FightClub”, “The Italian Job”, “Red Dragon”,” The Bourne Legacy” and the list carries on.

The next time you hear Edward Norton’s name, a light will “bing” in your mind and “Death to Smoochy” will pop up!

You're Welcome.

You might hate this movie or you might love it, but one thing is for sure, you WILL say….........”that was weird!”

Wait, there’s more:

The movie stars Robin Williams, Edward Norton, Catherine Keener and Danny Devito(who also directed the film). It was released on the last day of February in 2002 and made a whopping $8.3 million dollars! Not too shabby right? WRONG!! $50 MILLION DOLLARS was invested in creating the film.

Sad break, my friend. The cast line-up was quite impressive, but the reviews were far from impressive.

Critics called it….“Odd”, and……“Inexplicable.”

Many said it was... “Very unpleasant.”

In a weird way, I found humor in it; However, I have always attracted the weirder things in life. I would tag it as a comedy/thriller(slash)huh?

Ranked at 42% on Rotten Tomatoes, it didn’t receive much applause, but hey, what do they know? This movie may very well be the best flick you’ve ever seen, because to take the shallow surface of things for granted is, indeed, fear of going deeper.

But I concur, I will conclude with a quote from my beloved earth angel:

.....“Somewhere in the world that is somebody's favorite movie”!

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Tripp Any Where

Thinking became too much, so I started writing. Bio still in progress ........

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.