Geeks logo

Film Review: 'UglyDolls'

Was a movie about underdogs, worth the ticket?

By Angel QuintanillaPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
STX Films Image

There I stood, "ticket for two," I said. While I gathered the popcorn and the amazing Twizzlers to mix later, I found myself having mixed feelings about UglyDolls.

My god-daughter said she wanted to see this movie, and I was maybe as excited as she was for the premier. Why wouldn't I be, with famous Comedians like Gabriel Iglesias, Wanda Sykes, and then famous amazing singers like Nick Johnas, Janelle Monåe, Pitbull, and Kelly Clarkson, there was no way this movie would have gone wrong. But it did.

The first thing to address is: what are UglyDolls? Well, it's a movie where dolls who do not meet the criteria of the factory are exposed for recycle, however there is a detour and the dolls are sent to UglyVille. Uglyville is a beautiful place where dolls do not judge each other by their flaws and are even accepted for them. Moxy (Kelly Clarkson) is the most positive doll of them all, and she has the belief that one day she will be a little girls doll and be able to give her all the love in the world. In her journey with her friends to be a child's doll, she encounters Perfectionville where all the dolls are perfect. In this "ville" all the dolls tend to look the same and are working towards being the best doll ever. They learn how to stay clean and dodge anything that can cause them to be thrown away.

Lou (Nick Jonas) greets them and allows them to participate in all the training needed to be the best doll for the children. However, Lou does not plan to allow them to win. That is all I will say about the movie. Where did it go wrong? None of the music was memorable for one, unlike movies like Frozen or Moana, I did not leave the theater singing a song. Or at least having it stuck in my head. The next issue was the comedy being dropped on us. I probably laughed two times during the whole movie. The humor it had was for children and not even the children in the theater laughed. I heard maybe one or two giggles through out. If this is a comedy, musical type of movie then it needs to smash on those two genres. However, it crashed. I would say, it was concentrated in many things but allowing us to care for the dolls. There is a big grey doll (not even sure the name) who I felt I wanted to know more about, but we did not get it. So when he was in harms way, I was not emotional or in the edge of my seat hopping for a great resolution. I do believe this movie had so much potential, but had a horrible execution.

The story line was great, the message was there and because of that, I would say it is worth the watch, but maybe when it goes in Redbox.

My god-daughter enjoyed the movie over all, so I would definitely say this movie would be enjoyed by children, but parents might not find it as amusing. The final score for UglyDolls is 2.5 stars out of five.

review
Like

About the Creator

Angel Quintanilla

Trying to find my voice one article at a time. Freelance in regards to topics. Write was keeps you up at night, and what makes you happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.