Geeks logo

Favorite Shows to Binge Watch on Netflix

Netflix and chill? Yes please!

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

During times of uncertainty and despair, we all want to do something to ease and relax our minds. Whether it’s getting some fresh air while practicing social distancing or keeping in touch with friends online, I pass up the time by watching Netflix. I rarely watch Netflix, but since I’m temporarily out of work at the moment, I needed to laugh and be entertained. A majority of cons everywhere have either been postponed for a few months or until next year, so watching some of my favorite is like therapy. I came up with a list of shows on Netflix that I’ve been binge watching lately. There’s one on this list that I started watching for the first time, so just a heads up. Now let’s get started.

Pokémon: Indigo League

I’ve always been a fan of Pokémon from day one. It’s still one of my favorite franchises to this day and enjoy watching old episodes. The first Pokémon game I’ve played was Pokémon Yellow for the Game Boy Color. The Johto and Kanto regions are my favorites, but I prefer the Kanto region. Kids these days probably wouldn’t name all 150 Pokémon. Well, 151 if you count Mew. My favorite Kanto gym leader is Lt. Surge of Vermillion City and Electric type Pokémon are my favorites. I forgot to mention that I had a lot of Pokémon cards as a kid, especially holographic ones.

Yu-Gi-Oh!

It’s time to duel! If you believe in the heart of the cards, then Yu-Gi-Oh! is probably on your list of shows to binge watch. I don’t have a favorite character I specifically like. The one character I despised the most is Seto Kaiba: the President and CEO of the Kaiba Corporation. He was always arrogant, a pain in the you know what, and had a disdain for Yugi and his friends for no reason. It seemed like people like Maximillion Pegasus and Yami Bakura wanted Yugi’s Millennium Puzzle. In Christmas of 2005, I received a deck of Yu-Gi-Oh! cards. There have been numerous episodes I enjoyed that it’s hard to choose one that stood out to me.

Family Guy

Family Guy is no stranger to controversy or pushing buttons. It’s better than American Dad. Change my mind. Yes I said it. Out of the many episodes I’ve seen so far, there are two that I enjoy watching numerous times. The first is called “PTV”, where Peter was fed up by the FCC censoring any content that people might find offensive. So he starts his own TV network called PTV, but Lois was less than pleased about it. Another episode was called “Patriot Games.” Peter attends his high school reunion, pretending to be a secret astronaut agent millionaire. He proceeds to get drunk and runs to the bathroom, knocking people over. Tom Brady is impressed by how Peter ran, so he invites him to join the New England Patriots football team as a starting center. There’s one specific Family Guy episode that I refuse to watch to this day and it makes a mockery to people with intellectual disabilities. Nevertheless, I still love Family Guy.

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers

It’s Morphin Time! Those three words never get old. Power Rangers is my overall fandom. It has been since day one. I was five years old when it first came out in September 1993. My youngest brother was born that November, so I was basically the nerdy one in the family. I would watch it every day after school and on Saturday mornings. I’ve never dressed up as a Power Ranger or met a single Power Rangers actor until 2017 and 2019 respectively. In February 2017, I dressed up as the Blue Ranger, which is my favorite. Almost a month later, I saw the Power Rangers reboot in costume with a few friends. Then in September of 2019, I attended Arkansas Comic Con and met the Green Ranger himself, Jason David Frank. For a couple of years, I had somewhat of a disdain for him, because of his arrogant attitude. Eventually, I came around to like him again. I still have love for him, even though his personality turns most people off. There will be more Power Rangers adventures, especially at cons, in my future.

The Toys That Made Us

Last but not least is a documentary that I just started watching. Let me start off by saying this: I don’t really watch documentaries. However, I’m willing to be open minded about them. When it comes to one that’s nerd related and peaks my interest, I’ll give it a try. The Toys That Made Us made its debut in 2017 and it profiled the history of important toy lines, such as Barbie, Star Trek, and Power Rangers. The first episode I watched was the history of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. The animated series, which ran from 1987 to 1996, is one that I’ll always love. I need to watch more episodes of this documentary and get into it more.

What are some of your favorite shows on Netflix that you love binge watching the most, especially during a health crisis?

Be sure to follow me on social media. The info to all of my social media pages can be found in my bio. If you enjoyed any of my articles, including this one, please feel free to send me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It'll help me and other Vocal content creators to write better stories. Also, I encourage everyone to join Vocal+, a premium membership for Vocal content creators like me to write better stories, connect with creators, and a lot more. So be sure to sign up for that membership and support your favorite Vocal content creators.

list
2

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.