Geeks logo

Family Guy" Episode 18, Season 17"

A review of one of my favorite episodes at its real life implications.

By Randy McGrathPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

One of my all time favorite cartoon shows has been Family Guy since it hit the scene back in 1999. Now in its 19 season and seasons 9 to 18 being on Netflix there is never a shortage of this show. Especially with Covid-19 and never ending lockdowns this show has definitely helped me keep my sanity, or the little of it I have left, LOL!

Today I thought it be fun to make a review of the season 17's, 18th Episode Throw It Away. On top of being very funny this episode surprised me on how much of it they based on a true method that exist in real life. The throw it away method of decluttering. This method came to light and was a real theory and art of cleaning and decluttering ones life thanks to Maria Condo. (Sorry if I misspelled that name, I have read the theory and have heard of it but have never seen her name written in all that time.) The art of decluttering via the Throw It Away method is a very useful and functional method of cleaning. I use it this method at least once year at the same time most people clean their homes during what is known as Spring Cleaning. The method can take time to accomplish, especially if you have never or haven't done this method in a long time and have as we all tend to do accumulated lots of items and often useless or no longer interesting items. The Throw It Away method is simply the act of going through everything one owns and while holding it and looking it at you thing it through and decide if the items still bring you joy in your daily life. If the item brings you joy and you feel it is worth staying in your home and life, you keep the item. However, on the flip side in this method if the items you are holding and looking at do not kindle joy or any real emotions you throw it away. In this day at age of the cost of living rising, wages staying stagnate and struggling to live, when I go through my throw it away yearly clean the objects I throw away I first attempt to sell for profit or give to friends and family that can use it. When all else fails then its to Value Village or garbage with these no longer wanted items. This year is taking me much longer than normal because I am really taking my time and really thinking through each item. I am even trying to find methods of keeping items that bring me joy but changing there formats into methods that don't require the item to be present physically. For example, all my music CD that I really love and often prefer to listen to than having tv on as background noise can and have all been transferred onto my computer as ripped CD files. That way I still have all my CD's and music that I enjoy but in digital format and therefore does not take any physical space. Seeing as I am at the age of wanting to own and move into a home instead of living in an apartment anymore decluttering is of great value and help for when I finally do move means less boxes and less junk to pack move and then unpack.

Now this episode exaggerates the Throw It Away method and art of decluttering as most comedy show and especially Family Guy will do. It is one thing to get rid of some items that no longer bring joy into your life but never will everything you own lead to a lack of emotion. Also you still need some items in your home and life regardless if there is joy attached to them or not in order to live and have the place you live in to make it called home. As expected in this episode Lois Griffin goes way over board with the decluttering scheme of hers and lack of joy in her overall life leads to her getting rid of everything and everyone in the family and home. Now this is now way to live life and as expected in the end after being saved by a garbage boat realizes how crazy she really went. One part of the show that makes me laugh in this episodes is the Toy Story jokes in the episodes. When we first encounter Buzz and Woody it is with Peter trying to catch them as toys that come to life as the movie presents. Once interrupted by Lois just like the movie the two characters due come to life and make their escape from Peter making him realize that for him the movie told the truth that when we do not look at them toys do come to life. Also the part that makes me laugh with them is how they managed to escape Lois manic decluttering by hanging out on the ceiling. As Lois walks in her completely empty house talking about how all the clutter is gone and it is beautiful we can see Buzz and Woody using the ceilings sky light window ledge as their hide out. This makes me laugh cause its like: "Sorry Lois you missed two toys that still cause clutter."

The next scene that makes me laugh hard is the voodoo doll part and comments associated with it. Meg finds a voodoo doll of Lois she made but decides to throw it out claiming that it never worked or so she believes. This is proven wrong when she moves one of the needles from Lois' arm to her chin and in the background we can hear Lois yell in pain from the apparent voodoo magic suddenly working and making her feel the needle prick on her chin. Now anytime in my knowledge that I have seen voodoo used in a show this is the extent of the magic, needles or limb breaking and the poor recipient being tortured with prick and breaks. However, in the true Family Guy style the writers took this magic a step further. Going from a doll with no magic and never working the doll suddenly becomes overly powerful and dangerous. Seeing that the doll may actually hold some magic and is now working Meg decides to keep the doll and throws it over her shoulder into her keep pile. This is where the scene makes me bust a gut laughing as Lois is suddenly and magically thrown across the hall just like the doll was thrown. Now I know Voodoo can be powerful but man that is one hell of a powerfully cursed voodoo doll. LOL!!!

The last scene I would love to talk about is the scene where Lois decides that Chris and Meg's hats are clutter and its time to take them off and throw them away. Now this scene is hilarious for as she removes the hat Lois herself and the audience is shocked to discover that the heads of her two kids are actually leggo heads. Now this is hilarious but me being me and having fun disecting shows, even silly comedies makes me questions a few things. First of all we can see that Lois is clearly surprised at the leggo heads and had no clue. Chris also eludes to this fact with the phrase: "Sorry you had to find out this way mom". Now Lois gave birth to these two and they were clearly not adopted, or so we know. In this case how in the hell does Lois not know that her two eldest kids are leggo they came out of her and she raised them so this is news and information she should have known. We all know Peter is no father of the year, but this scene paints Lois as a blind mother if she did not know this about her kids. Lastly we have seen both Meg and Chris without their hats before and they were clearly not leggo heads. However it has been quite sometime since either has been seen without their hats at this point so did something happen that they had to hide till then? I guess only the writers know the truth but is still a great episode and makes me laugh lots regardless of how exaggerated and silly the story may have been!!!

tv
Like

About the Creator

Randy McGrath

I am an ambitious amateur writer hoping to be published someday. Join me as I write true and fictional stories of gay love and life as well as journal type stories and lastly some reviews of my favorite shows.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.