Geeks logo

F.R.I.E.N.D.S

The One With The Review

By Destiny WooldridgePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Everyone is always asking me why I am still watching the Friends sitcom television series. Honestly, I am just hooked on the television show. As a person who deals with depression, I have a couple of go-to shows. When I want drama and something sexy I watch True Blood or Vampire diaries. When I want to watch some kind of culture show I watch Jane the Virgin. Lastly, when I am depressed and want a mood booster I watch friends. Even after watching the TV series over and over again I still cannot help to smile and laugh.

When watching Friends I always zone out and focus on nothing more than the TV show. Time stops in its tracks and I forget the reason why I was ever depressed, to begin with. You could consider this a coping mechanism. I always love how close all the characters are on the show. They’re more like a family than they are friends. I do not have very many friends, but I do have two specific ones that I can always count on. Watching friends makes me think of the two and makes me realize I am not as alone as I tend to think I am. When I am upset and depressed they always call or message me without me even having to hint around that I need someone to talk to. They both will stay up all night to talk to me if I need them. They have done this a couple of times and I will always be there for them as well.

If I have to choose a favorite character off of friends, I would choose Chandler Bing. Chandler is the most humorous one of the five. The show makes this obvious, but I feel like Chandler is underrated so much because of Joey. My favorite quote by Chandler Bing is “I’m not great at advice. Can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?” This quote is practically the way I live my life, day to day. Joey is not all that smart, which makes for a lot of laughs. Joey is also made to be the most handsome and to get all the girls. I believe this is how Chandler is underrated. Chandler is so much more handsome than Joey and Chandler is not a player like Joey is made out to be at the beginning of the series. I do find it interesting how Chandler finds the love of his life in Monica, the girl who has been there for years to help him through heartbreak after heartbreak. Years after meeting and all the fights, making fun of each other, and being rude to each other they still managed to fall in love.

I also love Ross’s and Rachel's relationship. I fell like Ross could have been a little bit more mature when it came to Rachael working with Mark. I completely understand Jealousy, but Ross did take that too far. Mark did want to get with Rachel, however, Ross should have put his trust into Rachel and not get paranoid and act like he owned Rachel. By the end of the series, I wish they would have shown more of how Ross and Rachel worked out. We all know Rachel decided to not go to London that way she and Ross could be together, but I would have liked to see if Ross and Rachel would have had a second baby. If they would have gotten married or if Rachel wasted her chance to go work in Pars, the fashion capital of the world just to stay and be with Ross. I also would have liked to see if Emma, Jack, and Erica would have all been best friends growing up. We don’t even know if the group actually stayed together after Monica and Chandler moved away.

Phoebe Buffay had a great relationship with Mike, but I believe Phoebe would have been better off with Joey. They got along great, they agreed on almost everything, their biggest problem in life would have been Phoebe being a vegetarian and Joey eating meat. I don’t believe it was fair to end the series with Joey not finding love. Joey was worried that he would never be able to become a stand-up guy once he found the right girl, I honestly think the right girl was Phoebe. Joey was always there for Phoebe more than anyone else including his best friend, Chandler.

If you enjoyed this read please leave me a like and maybe even a tip, Thank you for reading my story and I appreciate everyone out there who even thinks to open up my story!

tv
1

About the Creator

Destiny Wooldridge

Currently a stay at home mom who is also going to start school in January 2021 to get my RN license. I am also learning how to love myself that way I can be a better fiance and mother.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.