Geeks logo

Excelsior!

The Day I Met A Comic Book Icon

By Teresa GonzalesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Everyone has a moment that will be forever etched in their minds. Events that even if there is no proof they happened, you know they did and that’s what matters. I have had several of these moments in my life: some life-changing, some traumatic, and some that are so memorable, in retrospect, you wonder if they really happened.

It was the first full day of San Antonio Comic Con, the first major show I was attending as an exhibitor. The night before was open only to VIP pass holders and the media. A journalist had come by my booth and purchased my Pikachu hat. Unbeknownst to me, this journalist was the official journalist for the show and was interviewing all of the guest stars….. including Stan Lee. The journalist came back by my booth wearing his new hat. He told me he had just finished interviewing Stan Lee. In the middle of the interview, Stan Lee stopped him, turned, and asked his bodyguard why he never got to wear super cool hats like his interviewer. I told the journalist thank you for telling me his story. Inside, I was screaming, “OH MY GOSH! STAN LEE THINKS MY HATS ARE COOL!”

My son-in-law, a marketing advisor, heard the story and left the booth to walk around. About thirty minutes later he asked if I had another Pikachu hat. I had just finished one five minutes prior. He grabbed the hat, grabbed my arm, and asked my daughter to man the booth. Suddenly, I find myself being hustled to the opposite side of the convention center as quickly as my 5’3” legs will carry me. When we reach the Stan Lee autograph area, I finally ask my son-in-law what we are doing. He tells me he spoke to Mr. Lee’s show handler telling him what the journalist said. The show handler spoke to Mr. Lee’s bodyguard, who spoke to Mr. Lee, who said he would love to meet me. However, Stan Lee had just left the autograph area when we arrived.

Mr. Lee’s handler recognizing my son-in-law waved us through private security. He instructed us that I had to enter the room alone and that no photographs could be taken or requested. I was not to touch Mr. Lee. I was only to speak to Mr. Lee if he initiated the conversation.

I confess, as I was directed to Stan Lee’s greenroom, it was all a bit surreal. As the door opened, the bodyguard blocked my entrance. I was introduced as “the lady who made the hat Mr. Lee inquired about.” The bodyguard smiled and ushered me into the room. Mr. Lee was changing his jacket from his standard khaki jacket to the plaid blazers he is also known for. His bodyguard told him that “the hat lady” had come to see him.

Mr. Lee turns around and walks toward me. Unsure if I was allowed to speak, I looked to the bodyguard who gave me the go ahead. I quickly introduced myself and told Mr. Lee I had heard he had inquired about my Pikachu hat. I handed him the recently finished hat and told him it would be my honor if he accepted the hat as a gift. To my shock, he rushed across the room, threw his arms around me in a bear hug, and said, “I can’t wait to show this to my wife.” The handler opened the door and told me my time was up. Mr. Lee thanked me again and put the hat in the inside pocket of his sport coat.

As I walked back to my booth as giddy as a school girl. I relayed everything to my son-in-law. I couldn’t believe this actually happened. With no photos allowed, how would anyone believe me? Then I realized, no one had to believe me. I knew, my son-in-law knew, Stan Lee’s bodyguard knew and Stan Lee himself knew.

Excelsior!

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Teresa Gonzales

I've always been a writer. I write for pleasure, clarity, and fun. It has only been later in life I realized others would enjoy my ramblings. I've written a fantasy novel as well as articles on books, travel, crafting, and my chaotic life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.