Geeks logo

Every Thought I Had Watching the 2002 'Spider-Man' Movie

Is it still a good Spider-Man movie? Yes.

By Sabrina PetrafesaPublished 5 years ago 12 min read
Like
  1. The opening credits for this movies are iconic.
  2. I just remembered J. Jonah Jameson is not in the movie and I am sad.
  3. OK these credits are really long for the beginning of a movie.
  4. “Who am I? Are you sure you want to know?” Yeah, man, that’s why I’m watching this movie. God I hate voice overs. I forgot there are voice overs in this movie.
  5. EVEN THE BUS DRIVER WONT STOP THE BUS FOR PETER! WHY IS THE BUS DRIVER ALSO A BULLY?
  6. Why do people hate Peter so much? I seriously don’t get it.
  7. The teacher is the same age as the rest of the students.
  8. Tobey’s a great Spiderman but—OHMYGOD HE DID THE AWKWARD WAVE AT SOMEONE WHO ISN’T WAVING AT YOU! POOR BOY.
  9. James Franco as Harry Osborne. I have no comment it just needs to be pointed out.
  10. Mary Jane clearly doesn’t like her boyfriend; why is she with him?
  11. Why won't any one let Peter take a fucking photo on this field trip?
  12. So Harry is bullied too? HE'S RICH AF WHY WOULD YOU WANT TO MESS WITH THE RICHEST KID IN CLASS?
  13. I love this intro, they’re basically telling us what powers Peter’s about to have. SHE EVEN JUST SAID SPIDER SENSE.
  14. Damn that’s cold Harry stealing Peter’s facts to impress MJ. That’s messed up.
  15. Peter taking MJ’s picture is so CUTE. I LOVE IT. I still ship it.
  16. Ohhhh the spider just bit him!! Get ready Peter! You’re about to get some crazy superpowers!
  17. The military are not happy that Osborne’s super soldier serum isn’t working.
  18. I have literally never understood why Aunt May and Uncle Ben are so old. I’m 23 both my parents are the youngest in their family’s and non of my 18 aunts and uncles are this old.
  19. Seriously, they are grandparents.
  20. Ooop Osborne’s testing on himself HELLO GREEN GOBLIN!!
  21. Breaking the vial of serum after downing it is aggressive. What scientist actively breaks lab equipment?
  22. I get that Osborne is desperate but it’s wild that he risked his life for this.
  23. William Defoe is a crazy person in everything I have ever seen him in. This role is meant for him.
  24. PETER'S LIKE WHERE’D THESE MUSCLES COME FROM I’M SWOL NOW!!
  25. Side note: Can a random spider please bite me and give me some super strength and powers with virtually no consequences.
  26. Here we learn MJ has a bad home life.
  27. Peter you’re an idiot. you’re gonna miss the bus trying to practice asking MJ out.
  28. …and there goes the bus.
  29. Nothing was stolen it was all you Osborne! So convenient that he can’t remember being the Green Goblin.
  30. DAMN PETER SAVE THE DAY! SAVE MJ FROM THAT SPILL!
  31. Flash has really bad fighting stance. No wonder he fights nerds. DAMN PETER BEAT HIM UP!
  32. Evidently winning a fight and knowing self defense makes him a freak now too according to the bullies.
  33. Peters unbridled joy after figuring out he has powers is incredible. He just goes for it. Trying all the different hand motions to get a web!!! So good!
  34. I wish current MCU used more practical effects like this.
  35. OooOOOoohhhhhh Peter's in trouble! He didn’t get home to paint the kitchen!
  36. Slick taking out the trash during a fight so he might see MJ after her fight with her dad.
  37. I know this actress has done more than be Spiderman’s girlfriend but I really have never seen or remembered her in anything else.
  38. Ooooh costume montage. This is pretty cool actually, going through all the different spider designs before settling on the classic one.
  39. Why is he practicing him aim in his tiny ass room?
  40. I wonder if Green Goblin could be avoided if Norman just went to a therapist.
  41. NOPE I DO NOT WANT TO WATCH UNCLE BEN DIE. STOP IT I KNOW IT’S COMING.
  42. OK how long has it been really since the bite that Uncle Ben and Aunt May are so worried. It’s been like a week.
  43. OOP GREAT POWER GREAT RESPONSIBILITY.
  44. OOOH PETER YOU’RE GONNA REGRET THAT. TAKE IT BACK “STOP PRETENDING TO BE.” NOPE. YOU’RE NOT GONNA SEE HIM AGAIN DUDE!!!
  45. …and he definitely doesn’t have a cell phone to call and be like don’t worry I’m taking the subway.
  46. WHAT IS OCTAVIA SPENCER DOING HERE???? SHE SIGNS PETER UP FOR THE CAGE MATCH. WHAT THE HELL. Was this before she got super famous??
  47. Love that this dude at the cage match came up with his name.
  48. OMG PETER'S MAKE SHIFT COSTUME IS GREAT. IT’S LITERALLY A TRACK SUIT THAT HE SPRAY PAINTED AND A RED BALACLAVA.
  49. How do people get that jacked?
  50. Slight homophobia in this scene is yike. “Nice costume did your husband give it to ya?” MAYBE PETER STOP BEING HOMOPHOBIC.
  51. There are a lot of American flags in this movie. even at the underground cage match.
  52. oh right this is 2002 New York City.
  53. Damn Peter is savage in this moment. “I missed the part where that’s my problem.”
  54. OH NO UNCLE BEN I DON’T WANT TO WATCH THIS. IT’S HAPPENING FUCK.
  55. I hate this.
  56. He’s trying to catch the carjacker now? Like how he took the car????
  57. I do love peter figuring out how to web sling. That’s fun.
  58. When peter realizes he killed his own uncle. DAMN.
  59. DID PETER JUST KILL SOMEONE. WAIT WHAT.
  60. Norman is such a bad dad. "You made it, not the first time I’ve been proven wrong” ABOUT HIS OWN SON GRADUATING. AND THEN CONGRATULATING PETER AND TREATING HIM 1000 TIMES BETER THAN HARRY.
  61. Aunt May even dresses like a grandma. Like WHY. My brother is older than me by 10 years but if he had to raise my non existent kids he would not be this OLD!
  62. How does he make this new suit?
  63. These people giving anecdotes about Spiderman are so New York™ and I love it.
  64. WAIT YES J. JONAH JAMESON IS IN THE MOVIE!!!! I AM SO HAPPY I WAS WRONG!!!
  65. ELIZABETH BANKS IS HIS ASSISTANT WHAT THE HELL?
  66. MJ is literally waiting tables and auditioning for plays how New York™.
  67. HARRY IS A TERRIBLE FRIEND. I can’t believe he started dating his best friend's biggest crush and totally broke the bro code.
  68. How does Peter afford this apartment, they’re not even in college yet.
  69. Love that Peter’s his own paparazzo.
  70. Ugh I feel you Peter. trying to get a job in journalism is hard. Freelance is all we get sometimes.
  71. ARE YOU TRYING TO HIT ON ELIZABETH BANKS. No, Peter. Just. No.
  72. How is it possible for someone to sell a company out from under the founder and owner? It took half the movie for Osborne to become full villain.
  73. I know this musical performance is someone famous but I have no clue who they are. Did they sing the As Told by Ginger theme?
  74. Oof MJ is wearing an “Asian” outfit. This was before twitter could complain about cultural appropriation.
  75. When everyone thinks the Green Goblin is part of the show.
  76. HEY STAN LEE. HE JUST SAVED A LITTLE GIRL IN THE CROWD!!!
  77. RIP Stan.
  78. That orb just disintegrated everyone. Holy shit.
  79. This kid is an idiot. He sees something falling towards him and he doesn’t run. I hate kids in movies. The only good kid in a superhero movie is the kid from First Avenger.
  80. God, I can never unsee that MJ’s hair blows in the wrong direction when he swings her away from the parade/attack.
  81. Harry is such a dick in this movie. HAHA MJ JUST HUNG UP ON HIM I LOVE IT.
  82. YEAH YOU SHOULDA SAID SOMETHING AND YOU’RE A DICK FOR MOVING IN ON THE GIRL YOUR BEST FRIEND IS IN LOVE WITH!!!!!!!!
  83. It takes Norman too long to figure out that he is the Green Goblin and again I wonder if Green Goblin could’ve been stopped if Norman just you know went to therapy once he realized he was hearing voices.
  84. It’s really a shame that most of the Green Goblin is under a mask, William Defoe is so good
  85. I love J. Jonah Jameson so much he is the best ever. “I resent that! Slander is spoken, libel is written.” I love him.
  86. Another reason to love J Jonah Jameson is that he does not give up Peter when Green Goblin wants Peter‘s name! It’s also great that Spiderman can I talk back to him without repercussions but Peter can’t.
  87. The scene on the roof is just so good because Green Goblin doesn’t want to kill him he just wants to mess with him and figure out who he is. This movie is so good.
  88. Spiderman reading the Daily Bugle is basically the same thing as him reading Twitter nowadays.
  89. Peter you’re just like slightly stalking her. Maybe you should just like chill a little bit? But also MJ seems into it… like you guys are so good together. Harry is the worst.
  90. Peter is an adorable bumbling mess.
  91. MJ fights off her rapists! I forgot that she puts up a fight!
  92. Oh my God. Peter you forgot to put on your mask how do you forget to put on your mask?
  93. This kiss is so awkward and I love it it’s so iconic and now MJ is the only person in New York who knows that Spiderman is white.
  94. Spiderman out here literally saving babies from burning buildings. Try and hate him now after this.
  95. Oh my god that’s a real baby I thought that was gonna be a fake baby.
  96. This cop is trying to arrest Spiderman after freaking saving a baby from a burning building and then letting him go back into the building to save another person.
  97. Ooop it’s Green Goblin not an old lady.
  98. Gobby?? Did you just call him Gobby that is a terrible name. This movie needs better quips Spiderman is supposed to be quippy that’s the only thing that’s missing from this
  99. It looks like it’s already Thanksgiving and like no one is in school none of them are in college! What’s happening? Peter didn’t get a scholarship to some really awesome school in New York????
  100. The height of suspense when his blood is going to like drip down. Oh my God the suspense is killing me. There’s no way Norman heard that blood drop, but I guess he does have the Green Goblin juice
  101. Oh no, Norman just put two into together! He knows! He knows that Peter is Spiderman!
  102. Do people actually wear suits to Thanksgiving like is that a real thing or is it just a rich thing?
  103. Yikes Norman just called MJ a golddigger.
  104. Why does Henry defend his dad so much? He should hate his dad.
  105. Green Goblin forcing Aunt May to finish the prayer is such a good scene. “FROM EVIL!”
  106. Peter’s panicked but his face is just so blank when he goes into the hospital room to see Aunt May.
  107. MJ how can you be in love with Spiderman? You’ve spoken to him for a total of like two minutes.
  108. This is like classic Clark Kent/Superman move, pretending your friends with yourself to impress a girl.
  109. Damn Aunt May just like eavesdropping on this conversation where Peter just unleashes his entire soul to MJ and then boom Harry comes in and sees them holding hands.
  110. This is why Harry is such a bad friend he knew that Peter has loved this girl since fourth grade and he still made a move. A true friend would wing man for you not steal your girl!
  111. What is Peter studying for? Looks like he’s studying bedside with Aunt Mary. WAIT WHAT? He’s in college in this movie? I have not seen them go to one single class. What school? Where does he go?
  112. Yes Aunt May it’s MJ’s decision who she is with not Peter’s! You tell him!
  113. Oh my God a pay phone. Right, yes this is 2002.
  114. I have never once seen one of these ski lift things in New York. What is it doing there? Why? I don’t think that’s a thing.
  115. Classic choice: Save one person one person you love or like 50 strangers and yet Spidey chooses both! That is so cool they had the reflection of MJ in one eye and the kids in the other.
  116. I love that some random boat is coming around to help Spiderman. I love it this is like peak awesome.
  117. Aaaaaand MJ is dead she can’t hold onto that wire! She doesn’t have the grip strength to stay on there! She’s being flung around on that thing, she should have let go and probably died.
  118. Like all the New Yorkers just said pelting stuff at green goblin to save like to help save the kids and Spiderman I love it it’s so good. The New Yorker solidarity is strong in the post-911 movie.
  119. A bomb just exploded in Peter’s face and all that happened was that part of his costume got ripped how? I get that he is Spiderman but how?
  120. I remember watching this ending for the first time when I was like six and it was the most revolutionary twist ever.
  121. You ever think that if Spiderman was anatomically correct that his web would be coming out of his ass. Like super convenient they come out of his wrist
  122. “I have a father. His name was Ben Parker” Kill me.
  123. Black flip! You just got killed by your own glider, Osborne!
  124. “Peter, don’t tell Harry.” No, Peter! Tell Harry let him find out! Leave his body you let people figure out that he’s the Green Goblin. This is so frustrating.
  125. And now Harry thinks that Spiderman killed his dad like come on.
  126. OK but like Uncle Ben was stolen from peter too but he understands that too so I know what it’s like to lose a father but I didn’t lose him he was stolen from me yeah me too if you don’t remember my uncle Ben got shot like it’s not all about you
  127. Oh more voiceover.
  128. Hello Peter gets the girl yes MJ and Peter Parker let’s do this
  129. Tobey’s face is just so flat like all the time. Show some emotion, please!
  130. They kiss it’s awesome and you don’t want to be with her. You just friend zoned Mary Jane Watson! You idiot, you idiot, I can’t this kid is so stupid.
  131. Oh, she just figured it out that Peter is Spiderman because they kiss the same.
  132. Peter SloMo walks away… with great power comes great responsibility... I love this movie.
  133. The last scene of him swinging off of a giant American flag. Again this film was so clearly made in the wake of 911.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Sabrina Petrafesa

A fangirl with a lot of opinions. Find me on Twitter: @TheSabrinaPet or check out my podcast Earth's Mightiest Fangirls

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.