Geeks logo

Every book I Want To Complete This Year.

2021 booklist: Plus a freebie!

By SejalPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Every book I Want To Complete This Year.
Photo by Elisa Calvet B. on Unsplash

If I wrote about every book I wanted to read this year, this post would be very long.

But I'll have mercy on you and my fingers. So here are the main books that I want to finish by 2022.

Most of them are series, and instead of listing every book, I'll just mention the series.

Every book/series I mention will include a picture and an Amazon link to the book!

Circe by Madeline miller

I've had this one saved on my Kindle since last week and I've been meaning to get to it. It's a retelling of a goddess's story and has great reviews.

I've had my eye on it for about a year, and I finally bought it.

The Works Of Ursula K. Le Guin

I realized that I've liked many quotes by Le Guin, so I looked her up. And she's written many books, so this year I want to try reading all of them.

This article has been really helpful on where to start.

Oh, I should also mention who Ursula K. Le Guin is. She's an "American writer best known for tales of science fiction and fantasy imbued with concern for character development and language."

Here are a few of her quotes that I liked:

“You cannot buy the revolution. You cannot make the revolution. You can only be the revolution. It is in your spirit, or it is nowhere.”

― Ursula K. Le Guin, The Dispossessed

“My imagination makes me human and makes me a fool; it gives me all the world and exiles me from it.”

― Ursula K. Le Guin

“No darkness lasts forever. And even there, there are stars.”

― Ursula K. Le Guin

Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I got really interested in Sherlock, last month when I binge-watched the BBC show 'Sherlock Holmes'.(It's amazing, you gotta watch it.)

Then, I realized I actually own "Study in Scarlett"(I got it for my birthday once).

I'll probably read it after I finish Circe. If you're planning on reading Sherlock this year as well, let me know!

And here's an article on where to start:

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

I've wanted to read this for years, but my local library never had it for some reason. I'll probably buy the kindle version, later on, this year.

I really want to watch the movie, starring Emma Watson and Logan Lerman. Two people who played 2 of my favorite characters in movies.

(Although, the "Percy Jackson" movies were horrible.)

They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera

My friend first introduced me to the author Adam Silvera, and I've been a big fan of his work since then.

Like most of these books, I've wanted to read this one for a long time. Hopefully this year, I'll actually read it. And there more books by Silvera that I want to finish.

2021, maybe it'll be my golden year of reading.

Little Women Series by Louisa May Alcott

Now we're getting more into the classics. Another friend of mine recommended the Little Women series to me, and I've wanted to read it ever since the movie with Emma Watson was released.

The Little Women series is more of a duology, and it's actually been republished so both of the books are combined. There are also 2 official sequels.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

I've been wanting to read this one...

for a long time.

Originally publishing in 1847, it's a classic Victorian novel. However, I've read before that it's more difficult to read since it was published nearly two centuries ago. It's also a pretty big book, and the average reading time is 7 hours and 54 minutes. I'm going to see this as a challenge, and record how fast I can read it.

More people seemed to say that it was boring at first, and very confusing. Although, some say if you re-read it, it gets more interesting and understandable. I don't know about you, but I'm not a fan of re-reading books. The only book/series I would re-read is anything by Rick Riordan.

I'm also not that big of a fan of classic novels. I loved 'To Kill A Mockingbird', but 'Crime and Punishment' was confusing and quite boring for me.

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

A friend of mine recommended this book a few years ago, he said it was his favorite book at the time. Published in 1988, it follows the journey of a shepherd boy named Santiago.

It's a simple story and has a lot of inspiring quotes. Even some I've saved before but didn't even know were from that book.

Here are a few:

“And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

― Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

“One is loved because one is loved. No reason is needed for loving.”

― Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

“Everyone seems to have a clear idea of how other people should lead their lives, but none about his or her own.”

― Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

A Tale Of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

I think I started reading this a year ago, but I didn't like it that much. It was the Amazon Prime Version one, and a lot of reviews said it wasn't a good copy.

I'll find an authentic one, and try reading it again. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare introduced this book to me. And I got immediately interested. I'll update all of you when I finish it!

Perfect On Paper by Sophie Gonzales

We're leaving the classic section, and moving more towards the end. Surprisingly, I haven't been wanting to read this for a long time like the rest of them.

I was scrolling through Goodreads Discover when I found this book. I instantly fell in love with the synopsis and I'm eagerly waiting for it to be released in March of this year.

More Poetry Books

I started reading more poetry books in 2020. I first began reading Nikita Gill's poetry books, and they were wondrous. I own almost all of them. If you're looking for great poetry books you have to read hers.

Another poet I love is Parker Lee(formerly known as Cyrus Parker). They're an amazing poet and I love Shot Glass Confessional by them. Check them out here:

or on Twitter:

Amanda Lovelace, Rupi Kaur, Edgar Holmes, are more poets whose books I enjoy reading.

conclude

Well, those are the main books I want to read this year. If I find any exceptional ones along the way, I'll be sure to let you know.

I hope you enjoyed this round-up of books, I'm hyped to finish this year.

Do you have any books that you want to read this year? Let me know on Twitter!

If you want to start a FREE 30-day self-care calendar click on this link.

Take care (っ^▿^)

list
1

About the Creator

Sejal

Writer & Blogger | Student | Gen Z | Avid Book Reader | INFJ | (she/her)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.