Geeks logo

Everlasting Roses

March 21, 1810 - Part 5

By Ashley SlaterPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
1

You've heard the story of the Tucks. But they weren't the first people to discover the Spring; on the contrary, far from it. Zakinerose Witherman was born into a life of privilege. Her father gave her anything she ever wanted. Sadly at the age of 16, she was left to her whiles and wondered the shores of England when pirates took her captive, leaving behind her basket and wrap.

After many years, she escaped and wandered, lost and confused in a foreign land to her. Loss and tragedy followed her, and she was finally at her end. Zakinerose decided to lean against a tree and wait for death to take her. Death didn't come, for she heard a trickle of water, and upon looking down, she discovered a small spring, and her thirst overcame her, and she instantly cupped her hands and began drinking some of the glorious liquid. As soon as the water touched her lips, she knew something had changed.

**********************************************************************

Today is the first day of the warmer weather; though there was still some snow around, it was finally melting and getting warmer. Considering the pleasant weather, I had opted to take the horse out of the stable, allowing him to stretch his legs. He had been a constant companion over the last couple of months. During the days where I couldn't make it into town for work, I would spend the time with the horse. I talked to him and told him all about my babies and my immortality. He seemed to understand, and it briefly made me wonder, but I knew he would keep my secrets.

It was nice having someone around to keep me company. I hadn't realized how nice it was to be honest with someone about my past. Finally, someone outside of my parents, who were long since passed, knew the truth. It had honestly taken a considerable weight off my shoulders, and I felt an immense sense of relief after telling him. As we walked along, the horse nudged my shoulder, and I turned to look up at him. "What is it? Do you need anything" The horse nodded his head dramatically before nudging me again? I watched him confused until he turned his head toward his back and urged me once more.

"You wish for me to ride you?" My companion nodded and snorted at my question. "Alright. It has been some time since I have ridden, so be kind to me as I readjust." He knelt slightly, allowing me to mount quickly. As I got situated and comfortable, he rose slowly before stopping to allow me to settle in. I didn't have a saddle, but he didn't seem to mind that I was gripping the hair from his mane. Nudging him gently, he began walking on, and I slowly remembered how it felt and what to do.

Shortly after starting, we picked up the pace, and before long, we were at a full out gallop though he had hesitated at first. I believe he wanted to make sure I was okay with speed, and as we went, I felt happiness bubbling up that I hadn't felt in decades. It was perfect, and I never wanted it to end. We rode through the nearby forest through a field before heading back toward town. If someone were listening, all they would hear were giggles and gallops, and I was enjoying myself so much that I never wanted to let the horse leave me. I didn't want to be alone again. Having him around made me realize how much I missed having a friend, and I just wanted some companion.

Suddenly my mood shifted to sadness, and with it, the horse slowed as if feeling my mood change. The horse lifted its head to let me know he was worried, and I smiled softly before running my hand across his neck. "Please do not worry about me. I have grown accustomed to being alone. I am not going to say I do not wish for a companion as it can be quite lonely being immortal, but it is the life I have dealt, and I shall continue to embrace it for as long as I am on this planet. I shall be fine." I frowned, knowing full well he couldn't see it. A deep part of myself knew that he could feel the emotions I was experiencing and holding in.

Clearing my throat, I nudged him into a trot, and we headed into town. The children were playing, the ladies were searching for new fabrics to make spring dresses, and men talked about the farming they were planning. It was nice seeing the town so lively. Winter felt like an eternity, but everyone was finally getting out of the house and preparing for the coming Spring. As we headed to the general store, I could see the crowd gathering near the entrance. "I believe it's time for me to prepare to go into work mentally. Everyone has cooped up in their homes, and now that it's warming up, they are taking fast action to enjoy the beauty that is coming."With that said, I dismounted near the shop and smiled up at my companion. "I shall be busy today, but if I can step away for a meal, then you know where I will be. Feel free to enjoy the beautiful weather we have been blessed with." I ran my hand down his nose, and he nudged my hand before wandering off in the direction of the small home.

When he was out of sight, I headed to the shop, and with a few polite words, the crowd let me through. Almost immediately, I was informed to be quick. I removed my outer coat and gloves and put them to the side. Before I even had my belongings put away, I requested help. With a nod, I quickly put my stuff away and moved on to help the customers. The rest of the day passed just as all other days did when Spring arrived. There wasn't much excitement besides an excited bride finding the perfect fabric for her dress or a grandmother wanting to find something for a child that had yet to be born. Also, a man was pleased that he was getting a good deal or survived another day. Lunch passed, and I paid it no mind due to the constant stream of people.

By supper, I was starving. Not that I could die, but I was hungry. It wasn't until my stomach grumbled loud enough for the shop owner to hear, followed by my face flaming red and his soft chuckle. "Kina, you have done well today. The shop has slowed, and my wife and I can handle it from here. How bout you go home, and we'll see ya tomorrow." I knew it was pointless trying to argue with him; I had long since given up on that venture.

With a nod followed by a gentle smile, I gathered my things and headed to the bakers. I purchased a loaf of bread and a bag of apples before heading toward the Spring. I was sure that my companion wouldn't be there as it was evening, and he was probably still enjoying the weather. None the less I headed there anyway. Upon arriving, I was happy to see the flowers bursting through the ground. It was lovely. Smoothing out the blanket I had brought, I placed the bread and apples down and sat, enjoying the peace around me.

The peacefulness and the seemingly perfect weather around me heightened the warm sun that peeked through the trees. After several moments, I heard rustling bushes nearby, and it caused me to smile. "Always trying to sneak up on me though it never works; I am pleased you came." The rustling stopped, and I was surprised. Usually, my horse friend would come to me and nudge my shoulder or something. "Pardon me. But I have never met you, so I can't have ever sneaked up on you, miss." Hearing the voice, I snapped around, and I gaped at whom the voice belonged. I was quite surprised by the man standing there. "Mr. Tuck, I apologize. I believed you to be someone else. Please forgive me for my rudeness." I wasn't sure how to react. In all honesty, I had never been in the presence of the elder Tuck brother alone. The man was always in the company of his family or his brother. Seeing him was like a shot through the chest and caused me to stare at him.

Silence filled the air as I locked eyes with the younger male. "Am I disturbing your meal?" I opened my mouth to reply but then closed it as I laughed softly. Looking back down at the bread in my hand and the bag of apples, "I suppose that's true, but I do not mind the company. I just left work and wished to enjoy the first warm day of the season." I was nervous about how he would reply. The biggest reason for the nerves was due to our current location.

Although we weren't right next to The Spring, it was only a few steps away from where I sat. I couldn't help but feel concerned that he might comment on it. Every time I would randomly bump into his brother, Jesse, he would get nervous about my frequent trips near the Tree. Due to this, I had spent less time in the clearing to seem less suspicious. But at the same time, my babies were buried here, and I needed to spend time with them. "Yes, it is a nice day. I do hope the person you believed me to be; shows up soon. Though as the gentlemen my mother raised me to be, I must tell you that it is not safe to be here late alone—no telling what sort of people come through here. "

Looking up at the eldest Tuck son, I couldn't help the laugh that slipped out. "I understand where you are coming from, but as a reply, I must tell you that I am not just some damsel in distress. At least not anymore, and I have no plans to be one again. I thank you for your warning, but I will reply with, I can handle myself." He eyed me a moment curiously. A majority of the women nowadays were the stereotypical damsel in distress who had the men do all the work. I used to be one of those women until I grew up too fast, and the only family I had ripped from my arms.

"If you feel that way, then it is only right for me to respond with, calm my nerves." I raised a brow to that as he didn't even know me, yet he was concerned for me. Or was it because of my closeness to the Spring? "I will go home as soon as I finish eating." He nodded and leaned against a nearby tree. Seeing that, I knew he wasn't going to leave me alone. I sighed as I snacked lightly on my bread. Although I did it slowly, I was trying to finish so the Tuck brother wouldn't question me.

I took a bite from one of the apples before turning to the Tuck brother. "Mr. Tuck, would you like an apple? I do not mind sharing." Miles seemed surprised yet nodded anyway. I took the opportunity to throw one of them at him, which he caught to my dismay. "Nice arm. Throw apples at many people?" Laughing, I shook my head as I finished eating my snacks. I then went and started packing up my things. "Only when they are distracting me from my peacefulness." I looked up at him with a smile, only to see the shock and a blushing face.

"I should head home anyway. As you said, it's not safe to be here late alone. Thank you for keeping a watch out for scoundrels. I am sure your mother will be proud of you. Saying that I am sure your wife and children are looking forward to having you home soon. Which is why I will allow you to go on." A smile slipped on my lips, and I nodded to him. "It was a pleasure to meet you in person as your mother has spoken highly of you when she and your family come to the store. Perhaps we shall see each other again. Have a lovely walk home, Mr. Tuck."

Without waiting for a response, I headed toward my home, and when I was finally out of earshot, I took a deep sigh, and a nervous shiver ran down my spine. As I was nearly home, my horse friend peeked around the corner and snorted at my bag. I giggled, pulling out an apple, and he quickly trotted to meet me. "We have so much to talk about, my dear friend. It has been an interesting day." We continued to the house, and I recanted the day I'd had and my meeting with the Eldest Tuck son.

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.