Geeks logo

Elder Witch

My Harry Potter Persona

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 3 years ago 17 min read
6
Elder Witch
Photo by David Dibert on Unsplash

Eldership, radical time in one’s life. One, at this period in their lives, find many ways to be genuinely themselves. The individual finds unique things that make them happy. I am so thankful that I am at this stage of life for I am finding many new things that brings me happiness. My children have grown and I have been blessed with a grandbaby and boy does he make me happy. Outside of my family, it is now time for me to shine and be happy the way I want to. Radical, loony perhaps, mayhem is possible, fun is likely and I make no apology for the decision I have made. As I adventure into my elder years I do so in freedom. I have been through much, became a warrior for my self-wellbeing, I have transformed in ways that I have no desire to share with you all. I have hidden my truths long enough and I am coming out at an Elder Witch.

ELDER WITCH

You have heard me right. I am an Elder Witch. My definition of an Elder Witch is where I have chosen to combine my Native American practices, Legends and Native beliefs and blend them into the Harry Potter world. Yes, there are many parallel practices between the two. Yes, I know that the Magical world of Harry Potter is not real. Yes, I know the Native community will not grasp this concept with open arms, but I really do not care. This is for me. I do not apologize for the happiness I will experience while I enjoy cosplay events, visits to Universal Studios, and traveling to other Harry Potter events. I will not abandon being a Native American Harry Potter fan for I have chosen to blend the two worlds. I am a proud Elder Witch.

Assimilation in the Native culture has been a dominate belief that was forced upon us. What was the saying, “The only Indian that will be left in these Savage children will be their blood?” Not this Anishinaabe Kwe (Native woman). Not this Elder. My parents almost succeeded in delivering that mindset but assimilation did not work in this case. The blood in my veins carry the sacred truths and I am blessed to learn the truth of my being. I’m willing listen to practices through all cultures with an open mind and look for higher truth presented in various practices. I have grown to be free of the dominant culture which suppressed me all these years. No longer must I hide the fact that I can practice whatever beliefs I want to. With me being able to say, “I am an Elder Witch” is the proof that I have defeated assimilation and I will shine in my own way in this world. I am here to say, “I have become.” I have become a hybrid of the two worlds. I, Sheila L. Chingwa which is my Christian name. Also, I am Jiibi Kwe, Spirit Woman is my Native name. I emerge into a new chapter in my life as Jiibi Kwe Elder Witch.

By Megan Thomas on Unsplash

Assimilation was Deadly

“Kill the Indian”. Let that sink in a moment. Strip them of their culture. Cut their hair. Take the children from their families as the adults were forced to move on to undesired places. No drums, no language, nothing that resembled their clothes were kept. “Kill the Indian.” Children punished for speaking their language as they attempted to comfort each other in the Black Robes’ Schools. “Kill the Indian.” Assimilation was deadly.

My parents did the best they could to protect their family from that statement. I grew up not listening to the beat of the drum at a Pow wow. Even though dad was a fluent speaker of our language, I was never taught. We went to school just like every other kid. The older siblings went to Catholic Schools; I was in a public school and was targeted for Assimilation. There was very little sign that we were Native other than our skin tone. We knew nothing of our language except a few straggling words from passing strangers. I didn’t know anything about my culture other than what I saw movies. In my generation, exposure to our society could mean death and my parents worked hard for survival. The more assimilated we were, the safer we would be. My parents were witness to the fact that children do not come home from those institutions. So, if we didn’t practice our culture, we would be safe. My parents only wanted safety so we did not learn our Native ways.

I grew up in the idealistic world of: Education, higher education, career, family, children, and house with white picket fences burned into our minds. I had the American Dream. I had it all. Then, that world was ripped from me and I crashed. Everything was gone. All my efforts for naught. The assimilation that was so prized by my parents, failed me in many ways. Despondent, moments of darkness ascended and I broke. This was the moment that I surrendered to death but death did not come for me. I guess it was not time to meet him as an old friend. Assimilation, almost killed me, but the creator had other ideas. I just had to figure it out.

Lost in ruin, I remembered a gift I received for earning my degree in education. A special gift was given to me upon my graduation from college. Not being raised in the culture, I chose to ignore its presence for over eleven years. I muffled its voice. I denied it access it so wanted. Silent and oppressed, it rested in the debts of my hope chest. Then, a light came on, say, a knowing. A native friend of mine on Facebook said, “I took my feather out to have a long talk with the creator.” I knew this was a teaching and I was being instructed to pray with my feather. My assimilated booty didn’t even know that the Eagle Feather was a tool for prayer. I had no clue what I was doing but I did know one thing, I knew how to pray. I was a witness to prayer in the Native community so I “copied” the procedure I had witnessed and I prayed for the first time as a Native American Kwe. I am so thankful for that moment for I was no longer lost. I knew I was ready to move toward the new me.

The phrase, “Kill the Indian” has been a curse to the culture for many generations. For the first time, with a shell in my hand, tobacco to offer, and my feather in hand I stood in front of the creator as his Native child. For the first time, I accepted that I am a Native American through and through. I began to become a Native American Kwe. In defiance to assimilation, I am a curse breaker. Dear society, you can kill the body, but not the soul. My soul has been saved, from assimilation.

Human Imagination

Where do you take yourself when you are actively playing with your imagination? Me, I slip into magical world that I have read throughout my years. Fantasy and adventure are my favorite genre. My mother and I loved our books. She loved Lord of the Rings and I love Harry Potter. These worlds brought happiness to our world. My mother loved the books so much that she became a collector of the Lord of the Rings memorabilia. She had a whole room devoted to her collection. Her imagination came to life whenever she sat in that room or watched the movies. I smile now because I do the same thing with Harry Potter movies, collection and books. My imagination comes alive and I enjoy that place to the fullest. My imagination comes alive with magic and wonder. To imagine is to bring about manifestation. Which is forming in my world at this time.

I was mature when I discovered the Harry Potter books. I found and fell in love with the Harry Potter series in 2000. I was teaching at the time when I picked up the first book in the series. I read many young teen books because I had to keep up with the kids. After all, I had book reports to read and grade. Addiction set in and I read the already published books in a heated fever. Once I caught up, I was standing in lines at midnight waiting for the next book release. When the movies were released, I was willing to subject myself to a sleep deprived day so I could be there on opening nights. I shamelessly used my handicapped brother as an excuse to be one of the first to be let into the theater early to get the best seats. Yes, I admit, this was the start of my loyalty to a series. Yes, at 34, I became a closet Harry Potter Fan.

Over the pandemic season, I had the ability to binge watch the movies and reread the books. Please don’t laugh at this next statement, but I found YouTube. At 55 years young, I found YouTube. I found other nerds on YouTube showing off their level of Harry Potter addiction. Today, there are more and more people emerging into society who love the Harry Potter series. There are so many resources on the internet about the various houses and classes at Hogwarts that it has become obvious that I am not alone. There are games and “test” you can take to sort you into your house. Not only is the franchise so large I can now travel and be in places that resemble the make-believe land. I have traveled to these places and have found a home. I have found a group of people who will not judge me for whom I am. I walk proudly in that society as an “Elder Witch”.

By Bryan Hanson on Unsplash

An Eagle is the symbol for the Raven Claw house in the Harry Potter series. Even in the Harry Potter world, the eagle soars where others cannot climb. The eagle is a symbol of strength, immortality and closely linked to Gods Zeus and Odin. I never questioned what house I belonged to because I carry three Eagle feathers. These precious feathers are used for prayer and ceremony. No, I am not praying to Zeus or Odin but to the Creator. Possession of an Eagle Feather was a instant clue that seals me to the Ravenclaw house. I love learning and I meet the qualifications of a Ravenclaw. So I adorn my robe of blue and proudly stand in front of you today as a Ravenclaw holding an eagle feather rather than a wand.

Over the years I have learned that some of the other traits of a Ravenclaw include; they treasure Learning, Wisdom, Wit, and Intellect. Ravenclaws tend to be academically motivated and talented students. They also pride themselves on being original in their ideas, and methods. Ravenclaws is famous for welcoming eccentric people. They also are people known to think outside the box. There has been mention that those who are in Ravenclaw like to get into philosophical debates. Such students would be the one who will speak their mind even when the topic is not popular. When reading facts such as these, I fit the traits as well. I didn’t need to take generated computer quizzes to see that I am a Ravenclaw.

As I have journeyed through this adventure, I believe most Shaman would have been considered a witch in most societies. Every culture has Shaman, a healer, a light worker, a drum healer, an herbalist and so on. There are so many variants to the Native culture that can easily be transferred to the Wizarding world. One would only need to consider the similarities rather than the differences. Just open up your imagination a little and see where they all fit together. What an adventure this could be if we allowed ourselves to imagine our own little world is capable of producing its own magic.

By Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Magic

Magic, in definition, has four meanings. First, Magic is the power of apparently influencing the course of events by using mysterious or supernatural forces. Second, (adjective) used in magic or working by magic, having or apparently having supernatural powers. Third, Magic, wonderful, exciting. And lastly, (verb): move, change, or create by or as if by magic. Once one stops and considers the definition, one would have the ability to contemplate and assess their own world for evidence of magic.

I have many questions to ask you. Can you see that you too are magic? Have you ever prayed for something and received it? Have you ever thought of someone and they call you moments later? Have you been responsible for creating anything unusual? Have you ever had epiphanies and they turn out right? Just because thought is unseen, doesn’t mean it doesn’t have power to change. Just because I cannot bend a fork with my mind doesn’t mean another can’t do it. I have seen videos of some other’s talents that I do not have and I do not judge. Magic or not, ability or not, I will not debate this issue for there are many things I have seen that are unexplainable. Mostly, I love to listen to other’s as they speak on the abilities of others. I see their eyes light up with awe as their response is usually in accordance with the magnitude of the deed. We all have a little magic in us and Harry Potter gives us permission to just revel in the possibilities.

The second definition: (adjective) used in magic or working by magic, having or apparently having supernatural powers. Divination is a supernatural power. Dream interpretation is a supernatural power. Crystal work is supernatural. Chanting is supernatural. Clairvoyant abilities are supernatural. Speaking with Spirit is supernatural. Praying is supernatural. I can go on and on but supernatural powers in an individual is very real. Have you ever caught a shadow in the corner of your eye and turned to look and see that nothing is there? This moment is a supernatural moment in one’s life. This ability is a normal state of being for some individuals in this world. I have learned not to question other’s magic. Debunking their abilities, are not my responsibility. From personal experiences working with Shaman, I know that supernatural powers are very real.

Third definition: Magic, wonderful, exciting. I live in a world that is comprised of magic. Life its self is magic. Wonderful things happen around us every day. I find magic in the simplest ways. I watch birds and butterflies fly through the air. I watch plants grow and bloom. I see plants become medicine and people become well because of it. I see other’s talents and just marvel in the excitement their ability causes. I read for a living yet I still marvel at the ability’s others have to paint a picture with their words. Marvel at the magical world around one’s self and see the truth that is right in front of you. I find this practice of just observing the world around me as magical in its self.

And last but not least, (verb): move, change, or create by or as if by magic. A painter creates magic on an easel. Art moves people, evokes change, and with each stroke of a brush a personal masterpiece is created. A writer can paint with words which moves others to change their point of view. I am no painter but I have stood in front of a painting and felt the person’s intention to inspire other. Their imagination is magic. Their skill is their own magic. They can create a whole new world like Harry Potter and I love being a part of that world. I can create a beautiful garden and create a whole new world for the insects to live in. I ask, is this magic or science? Magic is the energy given to the seed to create life in the form of a new plant and science is knowing the process the seed will go through as it grows. Sure, I planted the seed, watered it, but I have no control over its growth. Witnessing events like that is magic to me.

The definition of one word has such great meaning. What’s more fun is there is no limit to magic. As people create, the more they release their imagination the more magic become available to others. Magic is made in the simplest way if one would just look for it. Magic, just look for it with the eyes of a child and you will see it.

By Matt Briney on Unsplash

Potions and Herbology

This morning, I walked to the back yard and trimmed some wild mint leaves off a plant. Next, I walked over and picked the last of the rhubarb for a pie. I then went to the spice garden and cut chives for today’s soup. Next, I went into the house, put on the water kettle, and prepared to make a cup of mint tea for an upset stomach. Was I or was I not practicing Potions and Herbology?

With Elderwitch status, I get to celebrate my eccentric side and form a world just for me. My collection of Harry Potter themed potion bottles collected from subscription boxes are tucked away nicely in a display cabinet. On a shelf in my room, stands jars of oils I have made for cultural usage. Cedar oil, lavender oils have been placed in unique bottles for display but at a grab when needed. I have herbs for mixing up creams and lotions for those in need. If I don’t have them on hand, I know where many grow. I have begun to love the real world of Potions and Herbology and I love being an Elderwitch.

I am no spring chicken and yet I do have my Hogwarts’ robe. I must look totally silly running around Universal Studio in my student robe at my age but I don’t care. Then, I got a brilliant Idea, I will have an outfit made that I can wear at a Harry Potter gathering that will show my specialties. To the seamstress I went. Actually, I went to her to get my robes shortened but the conversation turned serious to the cosplay outfit once she showed interest. The conversation became epic.

Seeing that I resemble Mrs. Sprout in the movies, I do present a challenge. Even though I am shaped like her, doesn’t mean I want to look like her. I want my own flair. The challenge: A Native American Elderwitch. As I explained the concept to her, I watched brilliance emerge from a doodle on a note pad. Excitement in the possibilities was on fire and the love of her work came out in a flood. With a shake of her head, she said, “I can do better than that. Let me get back to you when I get it right”. Magic? I think so. If she thinks she can do better than that sketch, I am going to be one hell of an Elderwitch.

By Edz Norton on Unsplash

There is no shame in studying herbology for Native Americans have been doing so for generations. There is no shame in learning how to use those herbs to make a potion that will help others feel better. I am not claiming to be a Shaman for I learn these things so I can live better. Nor am I poking fun at the Shaman for we are all individuals, learn in different ways and I respect each one of yours’s work. I am no healer but I can help with an upset stomach but no, I cannot stir up a potion to heal bones. All I bring to both worlds are good intention. So, this public announcement of my decision to be and Elderwitch is with lots of love and respect for myself and my culture.

So, family and friends, if you see me in the garden, smile for you see the herbologist out to play. If you see me out gathering plants that could be me showing my cultural side of herbology tolling away at harvest. Potions will be explored more as my abilities grow. Who knows what shenanigans I will get into with me being me? One thing I do know, is that I am not going to allow anyone to tell me that I can’t live this enchanted life I am building for myself. I am happily ever after and Elderwitch.

cosplay
6

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.