Geeks logo

'Dragon Ball Z/Super': Vegeta v. Goku

How I prefer Vegeta over Goku

By Katherine M.Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

I must admit that I was never much of a Dragon Ball Z fan before. I remember having a boyfriend years ago who used to watch it all the time and have mentioned it to me plenty of times. But I was never interested in it and never thought that I was ever going to watch it. But then when I married my husband, he watched it all the time and as I sat with him, I started to watch it and it is a lot more interesting than I thought it was.

Now, I am behind on the whole series since I never really watched Dragon Ball and my husband just started rewatching Dragon Ball Z, and there is so much more to catch up on. But from what he has told me and from what I have seen so far. There is a lot that I have learned about the characters and the story line.

Like the story line of why Goku left his planet to get away since Frieza was there to destroy it and his father Bardock wanted to keep him safe. As opposed to the story of the beginning of Dragon Ball Z when he was sent to Earth as a baby to destroy and take it over, even though it backfired when Goku got hit in the head and lost that nasty attitude that he first had when he got to Earth.

Also when they created two different movies about Broly and although the story is the same with the fact that he is in fact one of the strongest saiyans in the universe. But the first one, Broly was more evil like similar to his father and always wanted nothing more than to kill Goku (who goes by Kakarot to all the saiyans) since it was considered that he was the strongest saiyan when he was born. But in the second Broly movie, Broly had a temper just like the first movie. But he didn’t know any better and didn’t have that evil intent like he did in the first movie and didn’t just want to kill Goku just by hearing his name.

But, before I go on and on about stuff happening on the series, there is one thing that I wanted to say and it is about Vegeta. From what my husband has told me, Vegeta became a much bigger character than anticipated and I can honestly say that it was definitely a good thing. Because although he was the bad guy in the beginning of the Dragon Ball Z series, he ends up turning good in his way. But I just want to say about how much I like him more than I like Goku if I had to choose which one is my favorite.

In my opinion, what makes Vegeta a better character than Goku is the fact that he is a family man. When he is saving the world, he is doing it in order to protect his family. Vegeta might have a temper and seem like he doesn’t really care about people much of the time. But when it comes to his family, he is willing to do what it takes to protect them.

Goku is a good person in term to wanting to protect the world that he lives in and wanting to help save his family and friends. But I can’t really consider him much of a family man because of the fact that he is always training and being away from his family. Like even towards the end when it seemed like all the fighting was over and they can all be normal. Goku can’t help but think about how he hasn’t nothing to fight and feels sad. Then, when there was a chance to help train someone, he decided to leave his family for a year and go help train this young fighter instead of being home.

That is what I like about Vegeta because yes, he is always training to be better. But usually for the most part, he trains at home and even helps his son Trunks train as well. Vegeta’s love for Bulma is strong and although they have their moments where they argue and yell at each other. At the end of the day, Vegeta is willing to do anything for her because that’s how much he loves her. When Beerus went ahead and smacked Bulma in the face and she became unconscious. Vegeta was so angry and said, “What did you do to my Bulma?” Before he transformed into his super saiyan form. Vegeta is willing to fight for her and keep her safe.

I mean, I’m sure that Goku is willing to do the same. But he is barely home and if he truly loves Chichi, he would be home more often instead of having to run off to train somewhere else. I mean, all Goku really knows what to do is fight. But he should be able to spend some real, real time with his family and make the sacrifice to be with them, instead of going off to train to fight.

Vegeta is a fighter as well and knows nothing else but fighting as well. But he is willing to fight to protect the world for his family, instead of just being a hero like Goku. There was a time when Vegeta didn’t even want to go off and fight because Bulma was pregnant with their second child and he wanted to be there for her when she gave birth. That says a lot about him for wanting to be there for Bulma. Meanwhile, Goku had died when Chichi was pregnant with Goten and Goku missed seven years of Goten’s life.

I mean, I know that there are many people out there who have their own opinion and some might agree with me, while others will disagree. But this is something that I believe are true and why I like Vegeta more than Goku. I mean, I like Goku and he is a hero and has a funny personality and seeing Vegeta and Goku together can be funny sometimes. But, I do like Vegeta better than Goku because of him being a family man and trying to do what he can for the good of his family. Someone that Goku should’ve tried to have done with his family.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Katherine M.

I love to write, I have many stories that are in progress, even though I haven't really finished anything of them yet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.