Geeks logo

Don't Sleep on QuirkCon!

QuirkCon is a small first year convention out in Durham, NC and is unapologetically black, nerdy and gay

By Yarn Goddess CosplayPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

QuirkCon was probably the best and smallest con I've gone to in a while, and I honestly can't wait to head back next year. Held in Durham, North Carolina from May 31-June 2, QuirkCon is a celebration of black, nerdy and gay cosplayers and creatives. For three days, attendees experienced anime trap music parties, emo karaoke, panels about black music in k-pop and so much more.

Being their first year, QuirkCon was small. On Friday evening, many people were checking in or getting their badges and setting up, but the convention wasn't in full swing. There was a party Friday night and I quickly popped in to see if anyone was there yet, and the room was mostly empty. The music was great and the DJ was jamming away, but it seemed like most people were still getting ready for Saturday and Sunday. Check-in was quick and easy. The hotel itself had a lobby and a sign outside of the double glass doors showing where the convention center is and where to check-in. QuirkCon staff were very nice and well informed, and I was able to quickly find my table, set up and be ready for the next day.

Saturday morning people started to show up in cosplays and the crowds starting to quickly roll in. Most vendors and artists had set up the night before, and the one thing that stuck out the most to me was most were black women artists. I’ve traveled to roughly 40 different conventions and I've gotten used to seeing myself—a black woman nerd and creator—being the minority at any convention. Sure, there are meetups, photoshoots and other planned events to get us together and seen, but rarely do I look out and see us be the predominant con-goers in the room. It was GREAT. It was empowering. It was relaxing.

There were writers, bakers, phone case and nail designers—there was an abundance of black creativity and nerdiness that I wasn’t used to seeing in abundance before. The attendees seemed to be excited as well, as we had a lot of return customers bring their families and friends to shop through QuirkCon’s artist alley again and again.

When attendees weren’t shopping, they were running around from panel to panel, playing games in their arcade, taking photos, and meeting their favorite cosplayers. Some of their cosplay guests included IzzeySaeko, AllieCat Cosplay and Cin_Von_Quinzel Cosplay. Outside of their panels and guests, QuirkCon had a "Unicorn Lounge" where attendees could rest, take selfies and relax from the con. I legit walked in there on Sunday and took a power nap on one of their unicorn chairs.

QuirkCon did a triple A+ job in delivering a safe space for black nerdy con-goers, and I found myself spending less time at my booth and more time walking around, networking, and talking with other creators/attendees. We need so much more of this. There was a pool party Saturday night that was GREAT, and to top it off, an anime trap music party to finish off the night.

The only major issue with QuirkCon was their advertising. I know personally I didn’t break even on my expenses, but I took more value in networking and exchanging business cards than making a profit at a first year con. People were definitely excited to hear about QuirkCon, but most of their Facebook sponsored posts were filled with comments of “I wish I saw this sooner!” and “Maybe next year?” People were tagging their friends in the hopes they could swing a last minute trip, but a lot of people expressed disappointment over not having seen the ad sooner.

QuirkCon has announced their dates for 2020 (June 12-14) and is definitely something you shouldn't sleep on. Those who made it out this year had a great time, and its uniqueness makes them standout from other conventions. If you are struggling to find a safe space to unapologetically be black, nerdy and a WOMAN, I highly recommend checking out their pre-registration link and signing up for their con next year.

conventions
Like

About the Creator

Yarn Goddess Cosplay

2018 is the year I decided to throw my voice in the mix and talk about cosplay community issues such as race, cosplay politics and overall share my experience and observations as a African-Caribbean Cosplayer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.