Geeks logo

'Disenchantment': Is it Good?

I have some thoughts to share

By Cronan ParryPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Part 4 of 'Disenchantment' is here. What better time to have a quick chat about it?

Short answer is yes it's good.

Matt Groening

At this point if you don't consider 'Matt Groening' one of the most important and influential people in Western Adult Animation like where exactly have you been?

After creating the seemingly unstoppable (whether that's good or bad at this point) 'The Simpsons' and then going onto create the beloved 'Futurama' Groening returns with 'Disenchantment'.

A fantasy setting the new location for his stories after the reasonably terrestrial 'The Simpsons' and the entirely Sci-Fi 'Futurama'. It makes sense for Groening's next move to be taking on fantasy and I appreciate his effort.

Diversity

If you've read the word diversity and are mad about it, you can leave.

For a show with so many different races, from elves to mermaids to ogres, there is a significant lacking in POC voice actors. 'Eric Andre' does a wonderful job as the demon 'Luci' and 'Richard Ayoade' is also a joy in his role. But beyond these two (I haven't checked the cast list of every episode) I don't think there's much else in representation of POC. This doesn't greatly detract from the show for me personally but it is something worth noting and keeping an eye on.

Comedy

It's funny! There's so many jokes on so many levels and not in a 'Rick and Morty' aren't we all so smart way. There's a lot to enjoy here and you can easily throw it on and just have a nice thing going on in front of your face without paying too much attention if that's what you're looking for.

Plot and Character

'Part 1' of this show doesn't have a lot going on in terms of plot until the final few episodes, but in terms of character! They're so much fun to watch existing. and by 'Part 4', the most recent part, there are episodes dedicated to developing individual characters and they've come such a long way. 'Bean', 'Luci' and 'Elfo' are a wonderfully dysfunctional trio who grow and fail together in all the best ways. Even the side characters be they secondary, tertiary or beyond are a joy.

And the plot! Well as I say the first part is lacking in actual plot lines but the show really picks up it's plot from there on and it actually progresses! Unlike 'The Simpsons' sitcom ability to reset at the end of basically every episode things in 'Disenchantment' matter. There's lore and history to be discovered. The characters gain new traits, abilities, needs, wants and roles. There are even big reveals! Which I'm sure doesn't sound all that impressive but for a show I expected to be 'chill out and watch a Groening animation' being able to get more invested if you want to and events having big impacts on the world and lore. That's some good shit. I haven't watched 'Futurama' in quite sometime but I'm pretty sure that has a generally progressing plot line. But this show isn't considered anywhere near the same conversations as 'The Simpsons' and 'Futurama' and I think it should be!

Underrated

I really do honestly believe this show is an underrated gem and I hope we get much much more of it in the future. There are 10 episodes a part and 4 parts at current. So if you haven't yet watched it, or you stopped part way through 'Part 1' I implore you to watch it. It won't take you long and it will mean I'm more likely to get a bunch more episodes of a show I like!

Thank You For Reading

Thank you very much for reading this. I really do appreciate it! If you like you can check out some of my other articles. They aren't all like this but I just wanted to come on here and talk about 'Disenchantment' for a minute.

comedy
1

About the Creator

Cronan Parry

I like making lists and rating things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.