Geeks logo

Denise Hill

Creative Woman

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Denise Hill

Meet Denise Hill

My name is Denise Hill, and I was born and raised in Indianapolis, Indiana, where I currently live. I’m the owner of DH Publishing and Production Company, Nisi’s Online Boutique, the host of Let’s Talk radio show, the host and producer of Girl Talk, talk show. I’m a published author, filmmaker, screenwriter, director, and producer. I wrote, produced, directed, and filmed five short films. I’m the CEO of Midwest Creations an art program for youth and young adults. My goal is to write and direct television one day. I am currently working on a television pilot called Betrayal. I love bringing my characters to life on screen.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into the Entertainment and Media industry?

Denise Hill:

To be honest with you, I had no desire to do what I am doing now. I always wanted to be a singer since I was about 9 years old. Later in life, at 14, I won two writing essays. I did not think about writing until about 28 years later; I started writing my first novel in 2006 but because of my insecurities and rejection letters, I didn't publish my first novel until 2014 when I started my own self-publishing and production company.

I also started my BlogTalkRadio and internet talk show in 2014 and that's when I got the idea of turning my first novel into a feature film. I got 75% of it filmed and had to stop production because of funds. Later, I went out and bought all of my equipment and started filming my own short films.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Denise Hill:

I love writing novels and script, and the second would be my radio show.

Tammy Reese:

What are some challenges?

Denise Hill:

Finding dependable actors, talented actors, and raising funds for my productions.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life?

Denise Hill:

It really hasn't I continue to do what I normally do. I do my radio show over the internet. I write at home, and I work from home. I do everything from home unless I film. I filmed one during the pandemic.

Tammy Reese:

What are some of the most memorable moments in your career so far?

Denise Hill:

Getting feedback about my novels. For instance, a young man told me he didn't read, but after reading my book it inspired him to want to read more. Also, I was chosen amongst 40 other writers to take part in a meet the author event where I won an award for one of my novels, and last but not least, be able to have my films on YouTube for the world to see.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Denise Hill:

I am working on taking my radio show to the next level. I am working on several novels and a feature film script. I am working with three other writers to complete the television series Betrayal.

Tammy Reese:

What do you want your legacy to look like?

Denise Hill:

Television/film writer, and director at Owner of DH Publishing and Production Company, Owner of Nisi's Online Boutique, and producer of Let's Talk radio show, the host and producer of Girl Talk Podcast, and one of the Founders of Midwest Creatives.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone who wants to enter the entertainment and media industry?

Denise Hill:

Do your research, link up with like-minded people, and don't tell everyone your dreams, just do it! Pray about your dreams, goals, and your visions. Ask God to bring the right people in your life that will teach and mentor you and help you get where you need to be. Be prepared to work hard and never give up.

Follow Denise Hill and her career journey on Instagram.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.