Geeks logo

'Daredevil' Season 3 Review

A look at the third season of Marvel's 'Daredevil'...No Spoilers.

By Sam JonesPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I preface by saying I was very excited coming into this third season of Daredevil, having liked the majority of the things they had done up to this point with the character. The creator's awareness of the source material and why things are the way that they are. I had the utmost confidence they would deliver a standard of season equal to or higher than those that had come before it. This review will be broken down into three parts, plot, characters, and an overall summary. No spoilers.

Plot

I'll begin with the plot, something that in my opinion hurt the back end of season 2. This installment however falls at the other end of the spectrum. Gripping, compelling, sophisticated, and most importantly, believable.

Never at anytime did I turn my head in confusion or detestation at the shows narrative, neither was it jarring to watch. It plays out as a crime thriller in more ways than an action set piece, which made it infinitely more enjoyable to watch.

Characters

Matt Murdoch aka Daredevil

Beginning with the protagonist, we see a different, more darker side of the Devil of Hell's Kitchen. A character who has been through the ringer of life and spat back out on the other side, now with pessimistic, more resentful answers to the questions he had previously. He is angry, upset, vengeful, and ultimately more dangerous as the man he now chooses to be. Definitely the best depiction of the character to date.

Karen Page

While in previous seasons I felt the character of Karen Page was rather annoying, often times disrupting the flow of the story, in this she is on level footing with her high powered counterparts. Though again, she puts herself in the face of danger, it's for a reason other than Daredevil to save her. She even gets her own episode, which at first made me roll my eyes. But, as soon at it started, I was blown away by the versatility of the cast and production team to pull off such a transition, especially in a linear show such as Daredevil. Karen won me back this season, something I never thought I'd say.

Wilson Fisk

The big bad. Wilson Fisk is again the overpowering force to be reckoned with in New York City, someone to be feared and admired. Of all the cast in this show, Vincent D'Onofrio has captured the essence of his character more so than the others. Even while watching the show I forgot that it was D'Onofrio acting, all I see in Fisk. Even though he is slightly more confined and restricted this season, he still displays the rage and outburst nature, the classic Wilson Fisk temper tantrum. He is finally the criminal mastermind they've been teasing since the first season.

I picked the three characters we all know play huge roles in the Daredevil story. There are other characters this season who are integral to the shows plot, but a review on them and their roles would be considered spoilers. All I can say is, prepare for mind games.

Overall

I have to say, having a few days to process watch I've watched, taking the previous installments into account, this season is way and ahead the best season of any of the Marvel Netflix shows, including Daredevil.

It has suspense, drama, action, brutally. But most of all it has a lot of undertones that in any other medium may be forced as propaganda. Religion is a huge part of this season, predominantly Matt's battle with his faith and his broken trust with God. There are so many metaphors in the form of arcs and people that challenge these character's faith, and whether they are doing what is right, or what is wrong.

If I speak anymore I'll spoil the entire show for you. All I can say is that if you haven't watched anything from Daredevil before, watch it from the beginning, catch yourself up on the story. To those of you that were as disappointed as me with the second half of season 2 and the entirety of The Defender's, your hours put in are paid back in spades, absolutely, 100 percent worth watching.

Signed,

Sam Jones

tv
Like

About the Creator

Sam Jones

Stuff will be written. I have a consistent promise to be inconsistent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.