Geeks logo

Daniel Radcliffe Saved Harry Potter

His response to She-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named saved my love for the book series.

By Zada KentPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo created by Zada Kent

Like most fans of Harry Potter, I fell in love with the story of a boy who thrived against the odds. The seven-tome series is filled with unique characters who seem to speak up for those who can’t speak up for themselves. And then the author, She-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named, shared her transphobic views with us on Twitter in 2019, and my heart broke with disappointment.

Last summer the fantasy writer was at it again — spewing her viewpoint for all the world to read in tweet and essay formats. It saddens me that someone who is obviously intelligent is allowing her ignorance and fear to steer her actions in a way that is hurting her fans.

The heartbreak of Harry Potter fans was acknowledged, not by the author herself, but by actor Daniel Radcliffe. As a long-time supporter of The Trevor Project, he shared his thoughts with the world in an open letter on the charity’s website.

"Transgender women are women. Any statement to the contrary erases the identity and dignity of transgender people and goes against all advice given by professional health care associations who have far more expertise on this subject matter than either Jo or I. According to The Trevor Project, 78% of transgender and nonbinary youth reported being the subject of discrimination due to their gender identity. It’s clear that we need to do more to support transgender and nonbinary people, not invalidate their identities, and not cause further harm.”

Mr. Radcliffe isn’t the only — or even, first — Harry Potter actor to speak up for the trans community. In December 2019, someone on Twitter shared an Instagram photo of Emma Watson wearing a t-shirt in support of trans rights. Ms. Watson has reiterated her support of trans lives with multiple tweets of her own since.

“Trans people are who they say they are and deserve to live their lives without being constantly questioned or told they aren’t who they say they are.”

And...

“I want my trans followers to know that I and so many other people around the world see you, respect you and love you for who you are.”

Likewise, actor Rupert Grint, who played Ron Weasley in the Harry Potter films, agreed with his cast-mates’ opinions.

“I firmly stand with the trans community and echo the sentiments expressed by many of my peers. Trans women are women. Trans men are men. We should all be entitled to live with love and without judgment.”

After the first tweet-tastrophe from She-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named, I banned any more Potter paraphernalia from entering my home. And since then, I’ve struggled with whether or not I should toss out the hardbacks I have along with my Hogwarts fanfare.

Mr. Radcliffe’s kind words helped me realize I can still hold onto my love for the story of Harry Potter without compromising my belief in equality for all.

“If these books taught you that love is the strongest force in the universe, capable of overcoming anything; if they taught you that strength is found in diversity, and that dogmatic ideas of pureness lead to the oppression of vulnerable groups; if you believe that a particular character is trans, nonbinary, or gender fluid, or that they are gay or bisexual; if you found anything in these stories that resonated with you and helped you at any time in your life — then that is between you and the book that you read, and it is sacred. And in my opinion nobody can touch that.” — Daniel Radcliffe

I’m still adamant about only spending my money on items that support equality for my transgender son and others within the LGBTQ+ community. So there won’t be any new Hogwarts items for my family. And I still might discard the jewelry, posters, and clothing donning the Ravenclaw crest, Harry Potter and his friends, Hogwarts Castle, and Snape’s disgruntled mug. But I no longer feel like keeping the book series on my library shelves is an insult to my son and our LGBTQ+ friends. Although I do keep them in a less prominent spot now.

Thank you, Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, and Rupert Grint, for standing with my family and friends. Your advocacy and support for LGBTQ+ youth are noted. Using your celebrity to speak messages of love and acceptance is something many of us will always appreciate.

I will forever be a fan of you all. Whether or not I continue to be a fan of Harry Potter no longer matters.

Zada Kent is co-founder of LGBTQueer-ies where the focus is on education to foster understanding, acceptance, and equality of all human beings, and proud parent to her young adult transgender son.

For all parents of transgender kids here are 10 Questions Every Parent Should Ask Their Transgender Teen.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Zada Kent

LGBTQueer-ies.com

Education | Advocacy | Allyship

.

ZadaKent.com

Short Stories | All My Creative Endeavors

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.