Geeks logo

Critics Choice Awards Predictions

As a member of the Critics Choice Association and an Awards Voter, I'm in a good position to guess who will win the Critics Choice Awards

By Sean PatrickPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1

The Critics Choice Awards will be live on The CW Network on Sunday, January 14th at 6 PM Central time. Chelsea Handler will be the host for the show that will feature the SeeHer Award for the incredible America Ferrara and a Lifetime Achievement Award for Harrison Ford. Barbie leads the Awards nominees with a record 18 Critics Choice nominations but does that mean that Barbie is the favorite to win the big prize?

I've been a member of the Critics Choice Association since 2012 and have voted in every Critics Choice Awards presentation since then. It's a dedicated and thoughtful group of professional film critics from across the globe whose passion and insight informs their voting decisions. That's why the Critics Choice Awards have become a strong barometer of what movies will have momentum headed toward the Academy Awards.

With that in mind, I've decided to try and predict which movies will win in each of the big movie categories and share which nominee that I personally voted for. I am not part of the TV branch of the Critics Choice Awards so I won't be guessing those but TV fans, your biggest stars will be at the Critics Choice Awards alongside our biggest movie stars, Sunday night, January 14th on The CWNetwork.

Best Director And the Nominees are...

Bradley Cooper – Maestro

Greta Gerwig – Barbie

Yorgos Lanthimos – Poor Things

Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer

Alexander Payne – The Holdovers

Martin Scorsese – Killers of the Flower Moon

My Guess Martin Scorsese Killers of the Flower Moon

My Vote Christopher Nolan Oppenheimer

Best Original and Adapted Screenplay And the Nominees are...

Greta Gerwig nominated for Barbie

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

Samy Burch – May December

Alex Convery – Air

Bradley Cooper & Josh Singer – Maestro

Greta Gerwig & Noah Baumbach – Barbie

David Hemingson – The Holdovers

Celine Song – Past Lives

My Guess Sandy Burch May December

My Vote Celine Song Past Lives

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

Kelly Fremon Craig – Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.

Andrew Haigh – All of Us Strangers

Cord Jefferson – American Fiction

Tony McNamara – Poor Things

Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer

Eric Roth & Martin Scorsese – Killers of the Flower Moon

My guess Eric Roth and Martin Scorsese Killers of the Flower Moon

My Vote Cord Jefferson American Fiction

Da'Vine Joy Randolph

Best Supporting Actress And the Nominees are...

Emily Blunt – Oppenheimer

Danielle Brooks – The Color Purple

America Ferrera – Barbie

Jodie Foster – Nyad

Julianne Moore – May December

Da’Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers

My Guess Da'Vine Joy Randolph The Holdovers

My Vote Da'Vine Joy Randolph The Holdovers

Robert Downey Jr Oppenheimer

Best Supporting Actor And the Nominees are...

Sterling K. Brown – American Fiction

Robert De Niro – Killers of the Flower Moon

Robert Downey Jr. – Oppenheimer

Ryan Gosling – Barbie

Charles Melton – May December

Mark Ruffalo – Poor Things

My Guess Charles Melton May December

My Vote Robert Downey Jr. Oppenheimer

Lily Gladstone Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Actress And the Nominees are...

Lily Gladstone – Killers of the Flower Moon

Sandra Hüller – Anatomy of a Fall

Greta Lee – Past Lives

Carey Mulligan – Maestro

Margot Robbie – Barbie

Emma Stone – Poor Things

My guess Lily Gladstone Killers of the Flower Moon

My Vote Greta Lee Past Lives

Cillian Murphy Oppenheimer

Best Actor And the Nominees are...

Bradley Cooper – Maestro

Leonardo DiCaprio – Killers of the Flower Moon

Colman Domingo – Rustin

Paul Giamatti – The Holdovers

Cillian Murphy – Oppenheimer

Jeffrey Wright – American Fiction

My guess Paul Giamatti The Holdovers

My Vote Cillian Murphy Oppenheimer

Best Picture And the Nominees are...

American Fiction

Barbie

The Color Purple

The Holdovers

Killers of the Flower Moon

Maestro

Oppenheimer

Past Lives

Poor Things

Saltburn

My Guess Killers of the Flower Moon

My Vote Past Lives

movie
1

About the Creator

Sean Patrick

Hello, my name is Sean Patrick He/Him, and I am a film critic and podcast host for the I Hate Critics Movie Review Podcast I am a voting member of the Critics Choice Association, the group behind the annual Critics Choice Awards.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Is this a prediction or it already past the awards

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.