Geeks logo

Cosplayer Spotlight: Salina Curry

Salina shares her love and passion of cosplay.

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Interviewing almost two dozen cosplayers has been amazing. I got to know each and every one of them. To me, the cosplay community is one of many communities I'm proud to be part of. Whenever I go to a con, meeting people and enjoying the atmosphere are the two things I love the most about being a cosplayer. Being a cosplayer since 2014 has been a blessing. I've had my highs and lows, but managed to overcome so many obstacles, especially outside of cosplay. Not only that, but making lots of friends and having amazing con adventures in the process. I'll be attending cons outside of Arkansas, where I currently reside, in the future. That has always been one of my goals, so you'll be seeing more of me down the road.

In this article, I'm featuring cosplayer Salina Curry. I recently got to interview her, via Facebook, thanks to one of my friends. Enjoy this wonderful interview and I hope you learn something from it.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: How were you introduced to cosplay?

SC: I was introduced to cosplay in 2015 by my fiance, Stephen, who also does cosplay.

How did cosplay change your life?

It changed my life by showing how much passion I have for my cosplays, even my Gamora cosplay, Mikasa Ackermen, Katara, and Asuna. That's how it changed my life by showing my love for my cosplays.

How many years have you been doing cosplay and why you love it so much?

I've been doing cosplay for four years and I love it, because it's fun and when you meet other cosplayers, it makes it funnier.

So out of all the cosplays you have done over the years, which one is your favorite?

Gamora.

So what cons do you like to attend the most and which ones would you like to attend in the future?

Otakon, Neko, Katsu. Future cons: Anime Expo, Anime Weekend Atlanta, and DragonCon.

Outside of cosplay, what are your hobbies?

I deliver newspapers and I work for the schools in Henrico.

What future cosplays would you like to do?

Tanjirou from Demon Slayer.

Do you have any cosplay role models that inspire you?

My fiance, Stephen Lewis and Casual Assassin.

Thanks to Salina for taking the time to be interviewed. There are more cosplayer interviews coming, so be on the lookout for those. To check out my previous cosplayer interviews, you can go to my profile and read them yourself. Also, you can follow me on social media. That info is in my profile, so be part of the conversation. I'll also have links to my social media pages at the end of this article. In the meantime, if you like the articles I've written so far, please feel free to send me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small, and with your tip, it'll encourage me and other Vocal content creators write better stories and you'll be supporting us in a positive way. I've received five tips in the last seven months and I'm grateful of the outpouring support. Finally, be sure to join Vocal+, which is a premium membership to help you create better stories, connect with creators, and maximize your earnings. There will be more features coming soon, such as following your favorite creators, weekly creator challenges, and so much more. Thanks again for the support and I'm proud to be a Vocal Founding Member.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.