Geeks logo

Cosplayer Spotlight: Kyle Herron

Getting to Know Kyle and His Nerdy Interests

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Kyle as The Riddler.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: How long have you been doing cosplay and how did it change your life?

Kyle Herron: September will be my one year anniversary since I started to cosplay. Before this, I was in a deep depression and didn’t want to do anything. I had a small group of friends that I hang and spend time with, but even though I loved them, it was a struggle for me to go visit them. Now, I have a large group of friends and I’m not nearly as depressed as I used to be. I take better care of myself. I’m excited to go do things. All in all, cosplay has made me a better person.

How did you first become interested in cosplay?

Halloween has always been my favorite holiday, because I loved wearing the costumes and acting as the character. One day, I was sick at home and watching G4 with my dad, when they did some special on cosplay. I fell in love with it and knew it was something I wanted to do.

What is your fandom and how does it define who you are?

I guess my main fandom would be superheroes/comics. I remember watching the old cartoons (like Spider-Man and Batman: The Animated Series) and these powerful heroes would overcome any obstacle in their way. I wanted to be like them and I always give a 110% when I work on something.

What are your favorite cosplays that you've done so far?

So far, my favorite cosplay has been The Riddler. I bought it from my friends, Elli and Jacob Kelley (2 Nerds in Love Cosplay), and people just love seeing me in it. I’ve done a photoshoot in it, been asked to wear it to the Heroes and Angels Comic-Con, and people run up and wanna get pictures with me when I wear it. They always ask for a riddle, which is great, because I love riddles.

What would be your dream cosplay and why?

My dream one right now is Danny Sexbang from Game Grumps/Ninja Sex Party. I love his music and he is a great geeky guy. It would be fun to cosplay him and perform a NSP song at a con. Cicero from Skyrim is also one I’ve been hoping to do, but who doesn’t want to dress up as an assassin jester?

What's one thing that people don't know about you that makes you great?

I’m having trouble thinking of an answer for this one. I don’t think there is much that people don’t know about me. I study the occult/supernatural. I am hoping to finish a book I am working on and I have an obsession with Jason Momoa. All in all, I think I’m awesome and a good number of people seem to agree.

Which conventions would you like to attend in the future?

I think everyone's answer is SDCC, right? It’s kind of like the WrestleMania of comic cons. That would be a great one to go to in the future. I’m really excited to be going to Izumicon with 2 Nerds and I’m hoping to go to Spa Con this year.

I want to thank Kyle for taking the time to agree to be interviewed by me. He's a wonderful young man who is amazing and friendly. I believe that cosplay brings people together and also builds friendships. Meeting people is what I love the most about going to conventions and being a cosplayer. In the almost four years I've been a cosplayer, I have to say that I'm glad to be surrounded by the most positive, outgoing individuals. I love all of them unconditionally.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.