Geeks logo

Cosplayer Spotlight: Key Jones

A cosplayer representing blackness everywhere

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Letif Belcher (@letif.b.photo)

Greetings, Vocal readers. I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. The month of December has finally arrived and we are weeks away from saying goodbye to 2019 and hello to 2020. To end the year on a positive note, I've had several cosplayers who have recently contacted me to be interviewed and a few of them are coming in the coming days. Recently, I had a chance to interview cosplayer Key Jones. Before I get started, I want to remind everyone that if you like any of my articles, including the previous cosplayer interviews I've done earlier this year, please feel free to send me a one-off tip, which can be located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. Your tip helps me and other Vocal creators write better stories. Other than that, I hope you enjoy my interview with Key.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: What are some things should people know about you as a cosplayer and/or in general?

KJ: In general, my work as a Ph. D student in Afro American studies drives pretty much every aspect of my life, as my politics, and what I choose to engage in is influenced by my studies. Overall, I actively participate in the dismantling of Eurocentric beauty ideas within my school, work, and my cosplay. As a black woman, it's important to me to see positive representations of blackness wherever I look.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: How long have you been doing cosplay and what it means to you?

KJ: I got more "serious" about cosplay back in August when my partner expressed that they would like me to participate in cosplay with them. Cosplaying, for me, has become an avenue to showcase my creativity with my crafts to produce how I want to portray characters. I really enjoy interacting with folks at cons who are interested in cosplaying.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: Speaking of cosplay, what are some of your favorite cosplays you have done so far?

KJ: Storm, Beetlejuice, and Miles Morales.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: If you had one piece of advice to someone who wants to do cosplay, what would it be?

KJ: To just try it out! Cosplaying is an activity that's meant to be fun and express your love for a character. No one should ever feel discouraged from being any character they want to be as long as you're being respectful.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: Which cons have been your favorite to attend and which ones would you like to attend in 2020?

KJ: BlerDCon; all 2020! In all seriousness, BlerDCon has been my favorite con so far. There are a few cons in the Northeast that I have attended, but nothing has compared.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: Do you know any cosplayers who inspire you and look up as role models?

KJ: For inspiration, I look towards SailorXtasy and Mamamiya Cosplay. They are two loc'ed black women cosplayers who are doing the damn thang.

Texxx-Man Cosplay : Are you doing any cosplays to close out 2019 and which ones are you planning on doing in 2020?

KJ: For the end of 2019, I am hoping to get my Princess Tiana cosplay together. I have a lot of crafting to do for that one. As for 2020, Nezuko from Demon Slayer, Toga from My Hero Academia, Penny Proud from The Proud Family, and a few more. There's always so many cosplays that I want to do, but supplies aren't cheap.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: Do you have a specific fandom you follow and passionate about?

KJ: Right now, I would have to say My Hero Academia, Demon Slayer, and Harry Potter.

Special thanks to Key for agreeing to be interviewed by me. You can follow her by liking her page on Facebook. The link to that will be down below. In the meantime, I'm on social media and all of that info will be found in my bio.

OnKey Cosplay: https://www.facebook.com/Onkeycosplay/?tn-str=k*F

interview
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.