Geeks logo

Cosplayer Spotlight: Joseph Vallejo

Get to know this die-hard 'Power Rangers' fan.

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Joseph with David Yost, the OG Blue Ranger.

Weeks ago, I had the pleasure of interviewing a fellow admin of a Power Rangers Facebook group. Now, I'm going to introduce everyone to Joseph. He's a die-hard Power Rangers fan, cosplayer, and also an admin for this Facebook group as MMPR White. So I hope you enjoy this interview and by the time you're done reading this, you will leave with a lot of facts about him.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: How long have you been doing cosplay and how did it change your life?

Joseph Vallejo: I started to cosplay for the first time when I went to WonderCon in late March of this year. I was kind of nervous since I've never been to a con dressed up, but the power has protected me since lots of people loved my Red Ranger cosplay.

What made you become interested in cosplay?

Pop culture, comic books, and video games.

What cosplays have you done so far and how did you connect to them?

So far, I've done the Red Ranger and my next one is going to be the Green Ranger. By connecting to them, I do modifications by adding the boots and Morpher.

Do you have any cosplayers that inspire you? If so, who and why?

It's pretty much most of the cosplay community.

What conventions have you attended so far and do you have any favorite con moments?

I have only attended WonderCon. My favorite moment is that I had the chance to meet and greet with lots of cosplayers and especially got the chance to meet David Yost, the original Blue Ranger, especially since he was a special guest at WonderCon.

I know that we're both admins for an amazing Power Rangers Facebook group. What do you love the most about being in a group like this?

Wishing everyone a happy birthday on every members, admins, and moderators special days.

What is your favorite Power Rangers season and why?

Always Mighty Morphin Power Rangers. Gotta stick with the originals, especially since they have always been the best ones ever since my childhood.

Which conventions would you like to attend in the future?

It would all depend, but right now, my next con is going to be Power Morphicon.

Sticking to the subject of Power Rangers, in your own words, what does becoming one mean to you?

Heroic and true love.

Later on this month is the 25th anniversary of Power Rangers. How are you planning to celebrate this milestone?

I'm not quite sure right now.

As a die-hard Power Rangers fan myself and have been since day one, this fandom has stuck with me during childhood and it's still with me as an adult. For 25 years, this franchise has proved that their fans are loyal by attending conventions and meeting their favorite stars yearly. It shows no signs of slowing down anytime soon. Many would say that Power Rangers is lame, corny, and childish. I would ask the naysayers if they think that they are such, why is their fanbase growing every year? I'll tell you why: 25 seasons, 800+ episodes, three Power Rangers movies released, and action figures and video games becoming popular. Their fans are faithful and will always support everything that this franchise does. I've made videos on social media defending my fandom and addressing the haters. Sure, most of us are in our 30s and 40s, but we'll always be Power Rangers fans forever.

I would like to thank Joseph for taking time out of his day to agree to do this interview with me. One more note to pass along: the 25th anniversary of Power Rangers is on August 28 and I encourage everyone to celebrate that day by showing your love for this franchise. May the power protect you.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.