Geeks logo

Cosplayer Spotlight: Christina Barber

One-on-one interview with the Arkansas cosplayer

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Before I attend GlitchCon later on this week, I decided to do one more cosplayer feature. Not to worry, because I'll be doing more of them after the con, so stay tuned. In case you missed my last cosplayer interview, you can check it out by going to the link at the end of this article. In the meantime, I recently got a chance to interview Christina Barber. Before I go any further, if you like any of the articles I've written so far, please feel free free to send me a a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It helps me and other Vocal content creators create better stories, and you'll be supporting us in a positive way. On that note, I hope you enjoy this interview.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: What are some random things that people should know about you?

Christina Barber: I'm obsessed with spicy food. I love Hopper from Stranger Things and Alexie is the Slushy King.

How long have you been doing cosplay and how did it change your life?

So far, I've been a cosplayer since I was 13, so for six years now, and it's been a huge defining point in my life, along with Christianity. I want to show people that even people who believe in God, can show love to others, especially through the cosplay community. I like to defy people's expectations of Christians by being non-judgmental and listen to everyone's thoughts and opinions. It doesn't mean that I always agree, but I still want to be kind towards people who don't agree with me and I will do my best to continue in this.

How were you first introduced to cosplay?

My friend and I back when I was around 13, played with wigs, and I loved them. So then it took off from there and I pushed it to the next level and discovered cosplay outfits on Amazon. So that's when I started my cosplay journey, but my love of Anime definitely helped spark it.

Do you have a particular fandom you follow?

Sailor Moon, Stranger Things, and RWBY.

What are your favorite cosplays you have done?

It definitely has to be Ruby Rose and Chibiusa. My reasons being is that Ruby Rose was one of my biggest prop builds and my first handmade cosplay. I'm so thankful that I'm around close friends who aid me greatly in creating these works of art and Chibiusa, because I've made a wonderful group of friends by joining the Galaxy Guardians of AR. I'm their official Chibiusa.

What is that one future cosplay you would like to do?

There's two cosplays I dream about doing in the future and it's stuck between Alphonse Elric and Samus Aran. I dream of having an armor build cosplay.

Do you know any cosplayers that are your role models?

Honestly, I don't have anyone specifically, because I really look up to all cosplayers. Everyone has something special that they excel in and I really admire that.

What cons are your favorite and which ones would you like to attend in the future?

My favorite convention has to be A-Kon. It's a really fun convention in Texas. It's a special one for me, because surprisingly, it was my first Anime convention. I know what you're thinking. Isn't that a bit of a con to start out with? You're right. My 13-year-old self didn't give it much thought. I was just too excited.

As I've mentioned at the beginning of the article, if you would like to if you like any of the articles I've written so far, please feel free free to send me a a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It helps me and other Vocal content creators create better stories, and you'll be supporting us in a positive way. I've received so many tips in the last several months and I want to thank everyone for supporting my content. Please continue to do so, because it helps me become a better content creator.

cosplay
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.