Geeks logo

Cosplayer Spotlight: Batsu Cosplay

A Huge Nerd That Loves to Cosplay

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sometimes the most unlikely heroes turn out to be the most heroic. 

It's time for another cosplayer interview and recently, I got the chance to interview Batsu Cosplay and got to know more about him. Just a reminder that at the end of every one of my articles, if you want to support me and love reading them, feel free to send me a small one-off tip of any amount, if you'd like. With that said, I hope you enjoy this interview.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: How long have you been doing cosplay and how did it change your life?

Batsu Cosplay: I've cosplayed for about five years now and it changed my life by bringing me out of my social anxiety.

How did you become interested in cosplay?

I got interested in cosplay by a friend telling me about a convention that was in our town, so I bought my Green Ranger suit to wear. I only had the body suit and nothing else, and when I got to the con, I saw all the cosplays and they looked awesome, so I decided to do full cosplays.

What is your fandom and how do you connect to it?

I have two fandoms and that's anime and comic books; and I connect to the comic book with my martial arts and with anime, my adventurer, and free spirit.

What has been your favorite convention memory so far?

My favorite convention memory is meeting my awesome con family and fans.

Out of all the conventions you have attended, what has been your overall favorite?

My favorite con would probably have to be Akaicon. That was my second ever con and every year since, it's always a blast.

Do you have any cosplayers that you look up to?

I have a lot of cosplayers that I look up to: from ones that aren't known and to some that are famous, and the reason I look up to them is because they make everything they wear and look so amazing.

What has the most positive thing people have said about you as a cosplayer?

The most positive thing people have told me is that I look and act exactly like the character and that makes my day every time.

Which conventions would you like to attend in the future?

I have two cons and that would be Colossal Con and Dragon Con.

I've had the pleasure to not only interview Batsu Cosplay, but also got to meet and hang out with him at The Cosplay Con and Anime Experience in Little Rock, Arkansas back in November 2017. It was my birthday weekend and had such a great time getting to know such a great cosplayer. For the last month or so, I've interviewed many cosplayers and learned so much about them. A few days ago was my four-year cosplay anniversary and met some amazing people during that time. I've come a long way and feel like it's 2014 all over again. It's great that in the cosplay community we are able to make friends online and at conventions. Also, cosplayers are creative and have fantastic ideas. Letting our imaginations go wild is never wrong and we have to encourage everyone that it's okay to be yourself. Some people see things wrong with that, because they aren't on the same level as you. Always remind yourself that you are somebody in this world and matter to everyone. You may not think so, but it's true. Being a cosplayer is not about having lots of followers or likes online. It's about being good to others and carrying yourself well. Again, thanks to Batsu Cosplay for agreeing to do this interview with me. You can follow him on Instagram @batsucosplay for more of his cosplay adventures.

cosplay
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.