Geeks logo

Cosplay Plans for Spring 2019 and Beyond

Things are looking up for me this year.

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
I will conquer and defy all odds, in any way possible.

I've been quite busy lately with work and everything else. Most of 2018 was a difficult time for me—mental health issues, homelessness, and took a three month hiatus from cosplay until things improved. Last but not least, I've now lost 45 pounds and feel much better and more active. I do want to lose at least 10-15 pounds by the summer, so that's what I'm working on right now. I feel that 2019 will be so much better for me and I'm eager to find out what's in store. Three weeks ago, I debuted my first cosplay of the year, WWE star Irwin R. Schyster, or I.R.S. for short. You can see a pic of that below. He was the wrestler from the 80s and 90s who told us to not forget to pay our taxes.

I.R.S. (Irwin R. Schyster)

And don't forget to pay your taxes!

As I've stated at the beginning of the article, I'm looking of what this year has in store for me. As far of what cosplays I'll be doing, I currently have a long list of them. Some of the cosplays on my list include a Green Ranger/Gyarados mashup, a Ghostbuster, and another WWE superstar from back in the day. Most people are used to seeing me as the Blue Ranger, which is great, but I also want to do other characters. Power Rangers is my ultimate fandom, but I can explore other characters and mashups I have longed to do for years. I could care less of what people say about my cosplays. Not focusing on the naysayers and negativity has made me a better cosplayer. People will always talk about me, good or bad, but I'm going to be positive and focus on my goals. Not only that, but always staying true to myself. I don't need to change myself in order to please anyone. I don't cosplay for the views or likes, which are nice, but it's about becoming an inspiration for others. I cosplay to be just that and not trying to be perfect.

Now for the fun part—conventions. Since I started to do cosplay about five years ago, I was only able to attend them in my town, because I didn't have access to transportation. I do get invites to different conventions, but had to decline every one of them because a majority of them are so far away, are in other state, and lack of transportation. In November 2017, I was able to go to a con in North Little Rock with one of my friends and it was also the week of my birthday. My goals are to go to more conventions and meet more people, especially cosplayers I follow on social media that I've never met before. I believe that every time I attend a convention, there's a story behind it. If there's a convention that you would like for me to attend, please feel free to contact me through my social media pages, which is found in my bio. It would be an honor to meet and hang out with you in your town soon. I'll keep everyone updated on my weight loss journey and cosplays. To conclude this article, I'll leave you with this quote from Judy Garland about being yourself and happy:

"Always be a first rate version of yourself and not a second rate version of someone else."

If you would like to follow me on social media, all of that info is in my bio. Also, if you like the articles I've written and like my content, feel free to send me a small one-off tip that's located towards the end of every article. Your support is greatly appreciated.

cosplay
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.