Geeks logo

Comfort Found In Nothing

Some shows have been playing on a television for most my life, it's funny to see how drastically age really can change one's taste.

By LouisePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

I have been hearing that classic Seinfeld music for most my life. Throughout my life that 90's jazz meant a lot of different things to me. Since I was five to around the age of sixteen, if I heard that music I was out of the room. How BORING. I couldn't stand the show, I literally called it "the boring show", the only parts I could watch was the physical comedy spurts of Kramer's character, I mean of course, being a young kid his hair reminded me of a rooster's comb, which never failed to make me laugh, but once those other three people started talking, well, I was out of there.

I don't know why the change happened, but there came a time.. when that staple slap bass came down the hallway, I found myself walking to it, sitting on the couch and really enjoying myself. It became something my father and I could relate with, which is nice because we had very different personalities. Now, I can safely say I've seen every episode 5 or more times, and have watched all the extras, Seinfeld became really hilarious to me, and it became a whole new show when I learned who Larry David was.

Jerry Seinfeld is truly comedic, the simple observations he makes, the borderline antagonistic character, the creativity to tie in a stand up show before most of the beginning episodes, the way they foreshadowed the show.. When the stand up alone was to die for, but when you add the clamatic dysfuntion the episode unfolds, the loose connection, just the type of silly creative writing I really enjoy.

Larry David, on the other hand, he kills me. He absolutely kills me. I didn't know anything about this man for a long time, I had enjoyed Seinfeld thoroughly, front to back, and I never really got too curious about the name that flashes before the funnies start. I decided to start to watch the behind the scenes, which I would never regret. Everything I learned about what went on to create Seinfeld, just radiated the humor in all of it for me.

First of all, I would never in my right mind think there was a person functioning and going through life successfully that would be anything like George Costanza.

Little did I know to my delight, yes, George was written after Larry David, a lot of the things George does Larry actually did in his life. Now, playing those behind the scenes, and seeing this very destressed partially bald, frantic man who can't even sit in his chair reciting his emotions about the episode, well I was stunned. This is George, George is real!

One of the first things to renew Seinfeld for me, making it completely binge worthy over and over again... Season 2 episode 7, The Revenge, George Costanza decides to quit his job because bathroom disputes. He tells off his boss in front of everyone and quits. Later, talking with the instigating Jerry, George realized he needs his job, and the two try to scheme up a way to get his job back. Jerry comes up with the wonderful idea to just pretend that George didn't quit. Show up in the office, take your seat and act like everythings normal, "You're an emotional guy, it's understandable" Jerry eggs him on... "I'm an emotional guy! It's understandable!"

Through quirky mistakes and neurotic decisions, it didn't work much in George's favor. The boss sees him at the meeting table... "Do I see Costanza?

The influence behind that episdoe is an actual experience of Larry David's, when he was writing for SNL. Just like in The Revenge, he grew very upset at his job (over some pretty petty reasons), quit with a very insulting speech to his boss. Being a struggling comedian, he knew he needed the job, and comes up with the solution to just show up the next to and try to brush off the whole incident.

Of course, the Larry David/ George Costanza complex isn't the only reason I can't get enough of Seinfeld. Amoung all the characters that create the harmonious comedy that is Seinfeld, two that bring such an enjoyable angle for me, Mr. and Mrs. Costanza.

Just trying to type about this lovely couple, George's caring parent, I really can't refrain from laughing out loud. Frank and Estelle are some of my all time favorite characters in television all around. Frank's character specifically has implanted a tangent of lines that will randomly pop in my head;

"You want a pice of me? YOU GOT IT" (Little kicks, Season 8 Episode 4)

"He can have the bananas on the side!" (Puffy Shirt, Season 5 Episode 2)

"I'm back, baby!" (The Fatigues Season 8 Episode 6)

"Serenity now!" (The Serenity Now Season 9, Episode 3)

The elder Costanza's have such a static dynamic. I've never enjoyed screaming and yelling so much.

The show about nothing, is the perfect show, in my opinion. Life is already full of so much crap, drama, stress, and mystery. I just choose to avoid that when it comes to televisioin. I like to watch television. Simply to relax and disconnect from all the stressers in my life. Seinfeld really is the perfect escape for me. I was just a toddler when the show was first coming out. I didn't know how much of a deal it was when it was being released. My signifcant other's parent's restraunt still remembers the Seinfeld finale as their bussiest day. It is a product of true originality and was the first of it's kind. It took so much convincing to be aired. The whole show basically tells it's own story with such a comedic matrix. I love learning how much the writers used the making of the show to make the show.

If anyone is interested in Seinfeld, the more information you seek you will not be disappointed. It's just an abyss of cringes followed with spit takes and hair splitting laughter.

Every character is a gold star in my eyes (not talking about their morality status). I could write a book about each one individually. Ellain has been such an inspiration, being a women character talking openly about "unlady like" things, really helped me not let my gender bind me so much. Her character was completely revolutionary at the time, including so many things about the show. None the less, Julia Louis- Dreyfus is an amazing actress, and a courageous person to take on such a role that helped develop women's roles in the film industry. Elaine Benes remains as one of my top fashion inspos to this day.

Seinfeld, the show about nothing, really was a ground breaking and socially outstanding creation. Long after it's ending, this show is still getting new fans to this day. It's a legend, down to it's writing and every single character. I can say I wish Seinfeld did have more racial equality and diverse actors. It is mainly Caucasians on this show. That is my only complaint about Seinfeld. Whether that's a product of the writers or the station.

Some people may think that the Seinfeld finale was the last form of Seinfeld filmed. I would like to state that there is a Seinfeld reunion hidden within Larry David's show, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Season 7 Episode 10. Larry David uses many Seinfeld actors in his show. It's a beautiful way to feel the social enviroment these wonderful comedians create together yet again. It's a great oppurtunity to get some good laughs at the exaggerated relationship displayed between Larry and Jason Alexander (the actor of George). Larry and Jerry's friendship is truly something unique in it's own. I'm always blown away to get an inside look on how those two worked together. I probably don't have to say it, but yes, Curb Your Enthusiasm is definitely worth binging as well.

I hope for the rest of my life I can count on Seinfeld to make me laugh and help me relax. Even if that means going years without watching it, it just really is one of the shows that can't really get old. It's too realistic, and too relatable. I'll have days that remind me of a Seinfeld episode, other times I have days I feel should've been a Seinfeld episode.

I'll leave it at this, the finale was aboslutely amazing, I know it's still a controversial topic.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Louise

Stuf

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.