Geeks logo

Comedic Duos

Day 19 of the 30 day anime challenge

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

I am excited to be writing the second half of this challenge! Not just because I am almost done, but because the next 15 questions are going to be way more fun to write about. This was a lot more of a challenge than I originally thought. Writing every day might be a habit for some but it has been a struggle for me. I am proud of myself for making it this far and I am so grateful for everyone's support. Whether you have read 1 of my blogs or all of them I appreciate it and hope I have been entertaining you.

I discovered the idea for the 30-day anime challenge because I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my tastes have changed much in the past 10 years.

Since I found it too hard to pick 1 answer, I have been picking 5 answers for each. I would love for you to hear your answer in the comments below

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 18 favorite comedic character

I thought this day was a little lame, I can name a funny character in every anime. But the interaction between two characters can be emotional, creative, and comedic. I figured it would be more fun to write about my favorite comedic duo. There are tons of character interactions in every anime, but there are a few duos that sound out as being especially funny.

These are the duos that I thought had the best banter, and physical comedy when interacting. I was entertained by all of the anime I am about to list and would recommend watching them all.

I am going to tell a little bit about the storyline and why I thought this duo was especially funny.

Let's get into my favorite comedic duos!!

Anya and Becky - Spy X Family

Storyline: Master spy Twilight is the best at what he does when it comes to going undercover on dangerous missions in the name of a better world. But when he receives the ultimate impossible assignment—get married and have a kid—he may finally be in over his head! Not one to depend on others, Twilight has his work cut out for him procuring both a wife and a child for his mission to infiltrate an elite private school. He doesn’t know that the wife he’s chosen is an assassin and the child he’s adopted is a telepath!

These two crack me up. They are the perfect embodiment of a childhood friendship. I love that they are not only not on the same page they don't even seem to be in the same book. When they talk they both assume the other knows what the other is talking about but they really have no idea. I loved the episode when they went shopping and Anya and Becky both got to experience friendship they have never had. I hope they grow up together and remind best friends.

Shizuo and Izaya - Durarara!!

Storyline: Looking for a change, Mikado moves from the countryside to bustling Ikebukuro to attend the same high school as his best friend, Masaomi. Though navigating a new school and friendships can prove tough by itself, Mikado also finds an overwhelming number of new delights and dangers in the district he now calls home. From a friendly Russian sushi bar to the violent color gangs to even an urban legend in the form of a black motorcycle rider, each resident of Ikebukuro is unique and frightening. But the town is smaller than it seems at first, and these strange events appear to be connected. Will the growing storm sweep up the transplanted country boy and his friends or will Mikado find himself at the center of a dramatic change for Tokyo?

Maybe these two aren't supposed to be comedic, but I thought their relationship was hilarious. Now I do not ship them and do not understand why people do. When we look at Izaya and his character is cocky and loves to mess with people, Shizou is a hot head and Izaya doesn't miss an opportunity to poke at the bear. They honestly stole the show for me and were one of the most entertaining parts.

Sei and Naru - Barakamon

Storyline: When calligrapher Sei "Seishuu" Handa becomes so enraged at a judge's critique of his work that he actually punches the old man, his father decides that Sei needs to reflect on his behavior and sends him to a remote island to live. Far from the modern conveniences of the city, the moody artist must adapt to his rural environment and his quirky but well-intentioned neighbors. How can he focus on his art when his appliances frequently don't work, his neighbors keep bothering him, and the neighborhood children have turned his house into a secret base?

This is one of the most wholesome anime ever written. I adore the relationship between Sei and Naru. Not only is it extremely funny, but Sei needed the reminder of what it means to be a kid again, how to appreciate the little things in life, and how to have childlike creativity which Naru taught him.

Dazai and Kunikida - Bungo Stray Dogs

Storyline: Kicked out of his orphanage and on the verge of starving to death, Nakajima Atsushi meets some strange men. One of them, Dazai Osamu, is a suicidal man attempting to drown himself in broad daylight. The other, bespectacled Kunikida Doppo, nervously stands by flipping through a notepad. Both are members of the "Armed Detective Agency" said to solve incidents that even the military and police won't touch. Atsushi ends up accompanying them on a mission to eliminate a man-eating tiger that's been terrorizing the population... In the virtual city of Yokohama are individuals bearing the name of Bungo, "literary masters," who possess unusual powers likened to that name. Now begins the battle between the mysterious Bungo powers!

I often forgot these two aren't the main characters. Their relationship cracks me up and always steal whatever scene they are in. They somewhat remind me of Shizuo and Izaya, in the fact one is carefree and loves both the uptight one for pure entertainment. Unfortunately, I relate a lot to Kunikida, and people who are overly carefree and don't plan out what they are doing bother me, but I am learning to be a little more carefree. I think we all can agree that best friends are often opposites and this is a perfect example of that.

Uramichi and Iketeru - Life Lessons with Uramichi Oniisan

Storyline: Uramichi is 31 lives a lonely life with no wife or kids, has to deal with production hassles from unknowing or uncaring staff, and still has to give a good smile to the children every day... Uramichi appears on children’s TV alongside two grown men dressed as forest creatures and a singing woman with a very short fuse. Uramichi leads little kids in exercises and answers their questions about life. But Uramichi’s life is pain. Uramichi just wants to be miserable in peace. But, in his words, “There are games that don’t end even after you forfeit. Like life, for example… ”

Click here for Full Review

When these two are on the screen together I laugh so hard that I feel as if my ribs are going to crack. I feel we all have a friend that laughs at EVERYTHING!! but especially dirty jokes can get them to crack up. So whenever you are together without much effort you can get them to laugh so hard they almost pee themselves. That is their relationship. Just watch this clip and you will know what I am talking about.

This was a fun list to make! I am glad I changed it up a little to make it a little more challenging. I am also going to change up tomorrow a little bit so stay tuned!

What is your favorite comedic duo? Do you have a friendship like the ones I listed?

I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thanks for reading!!

Click to check out day 18 My Favorite Anime Animal

I hope you laugh today!

tvlistentertainmentcomedy
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.