Geeks logo

Chainsaw Man

Episodes 1 & 2 Review

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

If you haven't heard of chainsaw man you must live under a rock. This manga took the world by storm in December 2020. Now with the final release of the anime, it is already rating top on popularity chats. With a unique story, incredible art, and fun characters it's no wonder chainsaw man is also a hit with critiques.

I have kept myself away from any of the stories and reviews because I love watching shows I know nothing about, they always surprise me. My theory stands correct, I was not disappointed with the first 2 episodes of chainsaw man.

Chainsaw man is still currently airing weekly until December. Unfortunately, my dyslexic brain struggles with subbed anime so I waited for the release of the dub. Which is also now airing every week.

Here is my review of the first 2 episodes of chainsaw man. I'd love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

Storyline: When his father died, Denji was stuck with a huge debt and no way to pay it back. Thanks to a Devil dog he saved named Pochita, he's able to survive through odd jobs and killing Devils for the Yakuza. Pochita's chainsaw powers come in handy against these powerful demons. When the Yakuza betrays him and he's killed by the Zombie Devil, Pochita sacrifices himself to save his former master. Now Denji has been reborn as some kind of weird Devil-Human hybrid. He is now a Chainsaw Man!

Episode 1 - Dog & Chainsaw

We are thrown into learning the struggles of our protagonist Denji. If you think you have hit rock bottom wait til you hear the struggling Denji selling his organs to get out of his inherited debt, People treating him like trash, and living in a shack with nothing but bread to eat. Through this pain, his only friend is a little chainsaw devil dog named Pochita. Unfortunately, a lot of us can relate to the world kicking us down over and over again, which is why a lot of people including myself seek comfort in a pet. An animal never judges you or your choices and is always excited to see you. They bring joy into our lives and in Denji's case, his devil dog was his only joy. They kill other devils to get some money to try and paid off an unpayable debt.

This is an adorable friendship that turns into an unexpected partnership. after Denji dies, Pochita becomes his heart and Denji is now able to use the chainsaw ability Pochita had. Now Denji is living out his dreams for Potchita.

I really wish Pochita would have been in the show more and maybe he will. He is absolutely adorable and I loved their cute friendship. I understand he has to get his power in some way and that his friend is still alive inside of him. But if there is any way to give Pochita more screen time I hope they do it.

Currently, I am in shock at how entertaining the first episode was. With such a strong start I hope they can keep up the high expectations I now have.

Episode 2 - Arrival in Tokyo

Denji has a simple dream--to live a happy and peaceful life, spending time with a girl he likes. After the events that happened in episode 1, Denji catches the eye of the official devil hunters who arrive at the scene, he is offered work at the Public Safety Bureau as one of them. Now with the means to face even the toughest of enemies, Denji will stop at nothing to achieve his simple teenage dreams.

Maybe because I had just finished watching Demon Slayer and Jujutsu Kaisen, but they are all very similar. There is an evil spirit, Demon slayer has demons, Jujutsu Kaisen has curses, and Chainsaw man has devils. Each protagonist is thrown into the role of defeating these evil spirits. However, with no noble reason, Denji's motives for becoming a devil hunter are because of a pretty girl and his dream to get a girlfriend. This caused some really funny dialog and thought processes.

I often feel like anime has lost its originality. There is so much anime coming out that it is a copy-and-paste system. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how unique the characters and creativity that I saw in chainsaw man. For such dark and graphic content, the lighthearted and crazy characters are very refreshing. I didn't know it was possible to love every character but I have yet to meet a character in chainsaw man that I don't love.

Info: Currently airing - It will have 12 episodes total

Genre: Action, Horror, Comedy

Rating so far:

IMDb: 8.9/10

Animeplanet: 4.5/5

My Review: Knowing nothing about the story, I am very excited to see the story play out. I will add a semi-obvious warning, it is very gory. Even though it is gory the art is absolutely incredible. I was taken aback by how epic the fights looked. This is an extremely original anime, and although it does follow a few basic tropes, I have seen nothing like it. I was extremely entertained and recommend you give the first 2 episodes a try.

What are your thoughts on Chainsaw Man?

After reading this will you watch it?

Make sure to follow Animetipz !!

Thanks for Reading

cosplayentertainmentreviewtv
1

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.