Geeks logo

'Carnival Row'

Season One Review

By Michael GrubePublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
09-2019

I have been searching for another fantasy series to replace the hole that was left agape by the conclusion of Game of Thrones. Although that series had, arguably, the worst series finale in history, it will hold hearts and minds captive for all time. I am considering a complete series review, but that is no easy undertaking and will be for another time.

I was referred to Carnival Row by my mother who had told me that is was worth watching, and she was, to my delight, correct. I finished the entire first season in two short days, and am writing this on the third. I was skeptical at first, as I always am when learning of a series or film that had been derived from a famous author (H.P. Lovecraft). In my opinion, I believe that the author is the sole individual that knows what the world he created is supposed to look like. When the book or story catches the eye of some producer or director, it must go through several sets of opinions that may twist and mold the original vision of the author. I cannot be certain of any inaccuracies or misrepresentations in this story specifically. I did not read the book, which carries with it another set of pros and cons. Having no prior knowledge or opinions was to my advantage while watching this series; it allowed me to enjoy every, fantastic, moment without bias. Now, let's move on to the story.

The title refers to a specific street in the capital city of the story, the Burgue. Carnival Row serves as the main thoroughfare for refugees from surrounding, war torn provinces. The Fae, Satyrs, Centaurs, and all sorts of fantastical creatures are derogatorily referred to as "Creat" (pronounced "Critch"). It seems the modern world has been torn apart by a conquering and brutal nation known as the Pact. Little light is shed upon the origins or goals of this nation, other than they kill or enslave other, weaker civilizations around them.

The Burgueshmen appear to be the only group that has enough strength to resist the Pact and offer aid to those weaker nations, and this is where the show begins. In the highlands of Turnanac, the homeland of the Fae, the Pact is tracking down and slaughtering a small group being led by Vignette Stonemoss (Cara Delevingne). She is attempting to lead the group to an offshore vessel awaiting to return to the Brugue. Once the ship 'arrives' at the intended location, Vignette discovers that a person from her past that she believed to be dead is, in fact, alive. Rycroft Philostrate 'Philo' (Orlando Bloom) is a former soldier turned criminal inspector for the Burgue. He is on a mission to catch a serial killer that is targeting innocent Fae every three weeks. The execution style and brutality of the murders have divided the city with tension and bigotry. Philo and Vignette do become reacquainted and more is revealed about their shared, colorful past, but I will not spoil any of that here.

As the character profiles are expounded, I found myself becoming bewitched by the depth at which the story descended. It is a rarity to find a film or series that can so delicately balance a multi-faceted, story telling effort that Carnival row seems to have mastered. At first, the show starts off a little slow, but as with most origin stories it does pick up the pace. A pace that grasped my curiosity and 'want to watch' for the entire series. Tasteful sexuality, heavy undertones of prejudice and acceptance, and multicultural love affairs delightfully plague the series throughout; and with every reveal and turn, I found myself falling deeper in love. Carnival Row has a certain and bright future ahead of it. Although, some online resources have noted that season two will not be released for some time, I anxiously await to see what will happen next.

Carnival Row does boast a large budget and a star-studded cast. Unlike Game of Thrones, however, it makes artistic use of these resources. The GOT final season had one of the largest budgets in television history, but fell leagues short of the quality that should have been. CR on the other hand, has made use of these, and slowly reveals its intentions just enough to make you want more and more as the story unfolds. I will caution those viewers seeking something that is light or even shallow to pass the time. CR has a richness that is understated in the previews, and a deepness that will linger with you after finishing the show; both qualities are amplified further with a second visitation.

I hope that you enjoyed this review of CR, and I duly hope that if you decide to watch it that my review enriches your experience. I will be adding my Instagram name at the bottom of this review to allow for comments on what I write, or if you have suggestions for a future review that would like to see done. Thank you for spending some time reading this, and have a blessed day.

xarcangelgt500x

review
Like

About the Creator

Michael Grube

I am 36 years old, an Army veteran, and officially divorced. I have been writing since i was young and have always been told that I have a knack for it. I've tried my writing a few novels, but my heart lies within poetry and journalism.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.