Geeks logo

'Captain Marvel' Review

Yes I know it's late, but I just found out about Vocal.

By Selena VazquezPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Captain Marvel was released on March 8, 2019; the movie stars Brie Larson as Captain Marvel and Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury. The movie is a superhero origin story of the MCU's strongest avenger, Carol Danvers. I have been a Marvel fan since 2012 and I know everything there is to know about the Marvel Cinematic Universe, I am its number one fan.

Simply put this movie was amazing. It is a solid 8/10 and 4/5, that might be low for some people but I am extremely picky and critical of films. Thus, this is a really high score in my book. The casting of this movie was incredible and completely on point. Brie Larson is an Oscar-winning actress and that is clearly evident in her portrayal of Captain Marvel. Samuel L. Jackson, Ben Mendelsohn, Lee Pace, Lashana Lynch, Gemma Chan, Jude Law, and all the others did an outstanding job in their roles. The movie had a clear and entertaining plot, evident character development, strong relationships, and good pacing.

One of my favorite things about this film is how balanced it was; there was an amazing balance between action, comedy, and emotions. The action was thrilling and it was so entertaining to see her photon blast those ships; there was just enough action to remind you that it's still a superhero film and the action they had was incredibly filmed. I was also extremely happy with the CGI, while there were parts where it clearly looked fake that did not change how awesome it was, the CGI will only get better with time. Another one of my favorite aspects of the film was the relationship between Nick and Carol, the buddy-cop theme they had going on was hilarious and well developed. I also thought it was so entertaining to see the beginning of Nick Fury's story and to see how Carol was an instrumental part in the creation of the Avengers Initiative.

The real love of this film was clearly Maria and Carol, they relationship was beautiful and the chemistry between them was clearly shown, once again because of Brie and Lashana's talent. Goose was so fun and he definitely stole the show the same way Groot does with the Guardians of the Galaxy. I do hope we find out what happened to this cool "cat." I also loved the emotion displayed by Carol in this film. I was scared that because she was a woman they did not want to show her crying or having emotions, but they did and it was perfect. She was emotional at just the right time and Brie Larson delivered and portrayed those emotions perfectly. There had never been a scene in the MCU that made me feel the way the scene where Carol stands up over and over again and fights the Supreme Intelligence. The "My name is Carol" will forever be one of the most powerful scenes in the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe.

One of my complaints is that the film felt too short and I wish it were longer. I also wished they had explored more with Carol's time at Hala, they city was one of the most visually stunning scenes from the movie. I also wish that we learned more about her past, not just little pieces. I think it would have been great to see her relationship with her family and exactly how she made it into the air force. The biggest problem I had was wanting to know more about Carol and wishing that they had showed us more about her past, but the reason I feel that way was because the movie made me care about Carol because the movie was so good. Overall, as a woman and a long time MCU fan, Captain Marvel was everything I wanted to see in the fist solo female MCU film and I cannot wait to see her lead the Marvel Cinematic Universe in this next decade.

review
Like

About the Creator

Selena Vazquez

She/Her/Hers-Fandoms-Books-Movies-TV shows-Intersectional Feminist-Slytherin-Aquarius- Just an IB student trying to get CAS hours-

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.