Geeks logo

"Can You Roll up Your Window?" 5 Sayings from the past We All Still Use Today

As time progresses, many sayings we are used to spewing suddenly become obsolete.

By Ghezal AmiriPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

As the immortal Buggles sang in 1979, video killed the radio star. As time progresses, many sayings we are used to spewing suddenly become obsolete and we're left being asked the question "... What is that thing used for the 'save' icon?"

Here are a couple outdated expressions I still find myself saying, despite the fact that they virtually make no logical sense in this day and age.

1. "Can You Roll Up/Down Your Window?"

Whether I'm in a 2001 Honda Civic or the Enterprise, I will always utter the above phrase when there is too much of a breeze or not enough. Granted, I wouldn't recommend opening any windows on a Starship...

2. "Hold Your Horses!"

I love this saying. It applies to so many everyday occurrences like if someone is driving too fast or someone is speaking some bullshit.

3. "You Sound Like A Broken Record"

Either fix yourself or I'll trade you in for a not broken version.

4. "So And So Has Been Caught On Tape!

No they haven't. Nobody has been "caught on tape" since 1998.

5. "Can You Video Me For A Second?"

Now this may actually only pertain to me, but when I click on the video camera button on my phone and want someone to film me, I almost always say "can you video me?"

What Are Some Sayings You Utilise In Everyday Life?

feature
Like

About the Creator

Ghezal Amiri

Afghan-Canadian writer who enjoys witty quips and BTS, proper grammar and Jodie Comer.

I tweet with @MrsBananaPhone because it's the best and beats the rest.

I also have designs: https://www.teepublic.com/user/designingsimple

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.