Geeks logo

#Books4Babes Book Club

Book 1 Announcement-When Hollywood had a King

By Joe NastaPublished 3 years ago β€’ 4 min read
2
#Books4Babes Book Club
Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

Hi! Welcome to the club. The first selection of BOOKS 4 BABES book club has been made and will be announed later in this post.

BUT FIRST~~~~What is BOOKS 4 BABES? Who are the babes?

A babe is anyone who wants to learn more about the world, have a good time, meet new friends, and engage with some interesting books. Babes can be anyone, anywhere. #bookbabes4lyfe

That cutie reading on the subway? πŸ‘ BABE. Oh, over there in the poetry section of the local indie bookstore, pushing their glasses up? πŸ‘ BABE. So-and-so lounging by the pool with a slender volume, the title obscured by the squint-inducing rays of sun?? You bet they're a πŸ‘ BABE!

And πŸ‘ BABE, if you wonder for even a single second if you're a #bookbabe then.... you are. πŸ‘ BABE. Gals, gays, queerdoes, straight boys, dogs wearing glasses, aliens~~~~join us as we read new books and I share my thoughts each Monday here on Vocal. If you're interested, message me and chime in with your thoughts! You might even be featured in a future post.

πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό

Starting today, we will be reading

When Hollywood had a King: The Reign of Lew Wasserman, Who Leveraged Talent into Power and Influence

by Connie Bruck!

πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό

I chose this book randomly: while I've been in Guadalajara I've been trusting my instinct to select books at my favorite English Bookstore in the city, La Perla Bookstore and Records. Last week, my friend Benni and I stopped by to browse their large used book selection and were not disappointed.

I am always transported into another world by the beautiful books on their shelves. Often, I find an goregeous out of print book I'd never heard of, and would have a hard time finding a copy of if I researched and planned to get one. At La Perla, I trust the magic of their shelves guide me. Benni and I ended up perusing the plays, movie scripts, and movie industry nonfiction.

The title caught my eye: When Hollywood had a King. It brought up so many questions:

  1. Who was this "King" and why was he called that?
  2. Is Hollywood no longer run by a King? Is there a difference between one person being in power and one corporation?
  3. Is it good, bad, or something else that this one individual had so much power? Again, is that not how Hollywood is run today?

My interest was peaked. I took the dust cover-less tome off the shelf, bought the book, and decided to share my thoughts on it with you all! πŸ₯°

I hope to return to my initial questions once I finish the book in order to refelct on my expectations and experience reading it.

If you want to read along, I recommend taking the book out of your school or local library, or seeing if there are any e-copies in the library's collection. It can also be purchased online. Here are links to several purchase options.

Every Monday I will post a #Books4Babes check in here on Vocal!

Each check in will include:

  • A summary of the chapters read
  • #Questions4Babes to reflect on the book, the reading experience, the implications of the information, the author's intent, and how it ties into REAL LIFE
  • My favorite sentences, words, lines and anything else that stuck out to me while I was reading
  • My personal refelction on the book and my answers to the #Questions4Babes

The Reading Schedule

When Hollywood had a King is a long book so I've decided the #bookbabes will read one chapter a week. Manageable, right? One reason why I started this project was my recent distraction from finishing any book. I've been feeling overwhelmed, uninspired, and too daunted to return to even the most interesting book.

But together, we can finish this book! Word by word, chapter by chapter, week by week.

Schedule:

Read Chapter 1 by Monday, May 24, 2021

Read Chapter 2 by Monday, May 31, 2021

Read Chapter 3 by Monday, June 7, 2021

Read Chapter 4 by Monday, June 14, 2021

Read Chapter 5 by Monday, June 21, 2021

Read Chapter 6 by Monday, June 28, 2021

When Hollywood Had a King Final Wrap-up Monday, July 5, 2021

Read the book's Introduction here to see what the book is about. If you like it, join us on our journey!

See you next Monday with Chapter 1 Reflections and Discussion!

πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό πŸ‘Ό

pop culture
2

About the Creator

Joe Nasta

Hi! I'm a queer multimodal artist writing love poems in Seattle, one half of the art and poetry collective Eat Yr Manhood, and head curator of Stone Pacific Zine. Work in The Rumpus, Occulum, Peach Mag, dream boy book club, and others. :P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.